We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salad Hut Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stunning location, very friendly people, fantastic food and a very very relaxed and charming atmosphere. I never swimmed in warmer water than at the beach here ... fantastic.

Would LOVE to return one day!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank berit b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    70
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
166
100
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I really liked this place. I did not stay here, but walked up and down both haad yao and haad salas beaches checking out accomodation and restaurants. This place is clean, friendly, welcoming, and beautiful. Decided to have dinner here out of every other place on the beach, and glad I did. Nice people, which is kindof a find on this touristy island. Great food, great ambiance, helpful staff - I am pretty sure staying here would be great, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnviroGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed as a couple in the beachfront bungalow and each every day we found it quite hard to leave our balcony and move to the beach! The location is amazing and what we really wanted: get away from the fuss and touristy places (Samui for example). We spent about 10 days just wandering barefoot on the beach, eating very well (and inexpensively) in one of the many (for Haad Salad standards) on-the-sand restaurants and doing… nothing.
The room was very god and spacious. It could get a little warm but it has air-con. The breakfast was tasty and of good quantity. The only drawback for us has been that this is a good hotel for families. Which means that it could get noisy, especially around the pool.
Nevertheless, our balcony must have been the best on the beach and we would surely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu_31775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

With only 10 bungalows this place is intimite and very relaxed. Stayed there with the family - 2 kids of age 2 and 6 and 5 adults. The place is very nicely maintained and the bungalows are very nice with a hammock on the porch. From every room you can walk to the beach in 20-30 seconds. The staff there is also very friendly and show special attention to the little ones. The beach is very quiet with a few low paced bars, all which close at 11 PM. This arrangement is really good and probably saved the place from attracting the partying crowd.

Room Tip: Basically every bungalow is good as they are only meters apart. Only bungalow 7 seems a bit out as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doubleuponthejuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We really can't really fault the Salad Hut Bungalows - for rest and relaxation it was the perfect place.

We stayed in a family air conditioned room which was a good size with 2 double beds - plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children although not much drawer/wardrobe space, but not a problem for us as we tend to live out of suitcases on holiday! Bathroom is basic but functional.

Breakfast is great, as is all the food served there. The restaurant prices are probably a little higher than other places at Salad Beach but definitely worth it. Also plenty of western food for the kids to choose from if they want. We mostly ate in the Salad Hut restaurant but also enjoyed the food at the Pirate Divers restaurant.

All the staff are friendly and can sort out ferry tickets, etc. The pool is small but perfectly adequate and refreshing. There was a family feel to the place, and - as previous reviewers have said - quite a few families with young kids. The beach is sandy but sea shoes would be an advantage - watch out for the sea urchins! We used Tuk's massage which is a few doors down the beach - a daily treat at sunset - heaven!

Just one thing to mention which is more about the beach than the hotel - there are quite a few stray dogs on the beach - not an issue for us, but might be for others.

If we are lucky enough to go back to Koh Phangan, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all bungalows are beachfront but all are within a few steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILoveTheSun2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I travelled with 2 others last year to check out the full moon party, we shared a twin bed room. We are all in our late 20's and wanted to experience the party but also escape it when we'd had enough.

Loved the location, the beach was lovely. Rooms fairly basic but we hardly spent anytime inside and the cost was so cheap it didnt matter anyway. We all fought over the hammock on the balcony which was ultra relaxing. Pool was pretty small but we mostly sat in the shallows on the beach. Just had to make sure we cleared a spot for ourselves as the little hermit crabs would nip your butt if you sat on them!

The highlight of our stay was the restaurant which clearly was the pick of the beach. The prices were ridiculously cheap for the quality and size of meals. We ate Thai mostly and every dish was delicious. They also had a Western menu which was perfect for our hangover after full moon. Breakfast was included which was a la carte, it was a simple menu but all we needed, especially to make sure we left room for the amazing lunches & dinners.

One warning is regarding your transfer to the Salad Hut. I arrived separately to my companions who had already checked in & advised there were several mini vans which operated from the ferry to different locations around the island for a reasonable price. Unfortunately my shuttle service dropped me on the main road and I had to find my own way down a massive hill to the accommodation. Luckily I only had hand luggage with me, and shuddered to think what would've happened if I had a full suitcase. I also didnt really have any idea where I was going. For anyone in the same circumstances it's down the bottom of the street on the left, past the cooking school and mini mart.

We had such a relaxing stay and haven't stopped comparing Thai food to the experiences we had at the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pods83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

I cant mark the hotel down for it, as its not their fault at all. But it would have been a perfect 5* experience if it was adults only!

There are a lot of kids here. And they run up and down the wooden boardwalks outside the rooms, they monopolise the pool, they scream from 7am til late and run round the restaurant while you are eating. It wasnt as much of a relaxing couples holiday as I would have liked. BUT!

The hotel is brilliant. They had the room ready for us early, it was spotlessly clean, the furniture was quality and it had the best bed I have ever slept in.

There was a lovely terrace outside the room with a hammock and space to relax. The cleaner is like some kind of ninja, by the time i had left the room, eaten some museli and juice at breakfast and returned the room was cleaned. Loved that service, as then you can relax all day without waiting for a knock on the door.

The beach was one of the best we saw in thailand. Clean and soft and perfect.

The food was FANTASTIC. From breakfast (included) to lunch to dinner, we kept eating here day after day. The service is also great. Everyone is smiling and welcoming but not overbearing.

We ended up staying another night as we liked it so much, and they kindly rearranged the bookings so we didnt have to move from our room.

We also ate at Cookies one night, which wasnt as good as the Salad Hut. It was quite a small area, so there wasnt a huge amount of nightlife. Good for a few days but more you might end up a little bored.

Dont use the local mart which is signed just past the restaurant, we were overcharged so much for water and snacks it was embarrassing. Keep going down past the massage people and the Pirate Divers, through the larger resort to the main part of the 'town'. It will take about 5 minutes to get there. The laundry and shops are cheaper here (half the price). Also we hired some bikes for 200baht per day from there. The man was very honest with us, no overcharging, no trying to rip you off for scratches etc. Very good service.

The bar and restaurant at the Pirate Divers shop was excellent.

Back to the Salad Hut though, it really is worth it. If you dont mind the children. Its no reflection on the hotel at all (infact some people reading this might love the idea of a family place!) so while I might not stay here again, we still have some fantastic memories.

Room Tip: The end room, furthest away from the restaurant had a balcony with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shininglight151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#33 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#28 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
5.7 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#32 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salad Hut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salad Hut Bungalows

Property: Salad Hut Bungalows
Address: 61 / 3 m.8, Haad Salad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salad Hut Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salad Hut is located on the tranquil Northwest coast of Koh Phangan island on beautiful Haad Salad , an ideal beach for family with children or honeymooners. Its white , soft sand and crystal clear blue sea at Haad Salad will make your holidays just perfect! You can lay down on the beach , snorkeling around or reading all day long. Haad Salad is quiet but not isolated , as there are shops , restaurants , yoga studios , diving schools and other activities offer enough to explore. Salad Hut features 10 exclusive traditional Thai cottages with timbered floor. All cottages have stunning views of beautiful Haad Salad Beach from big veranda and decorated with handmade wooded furniture with a hammock , the great sea view and lushly tropical garden surroundings. Just a few steps to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salad Hut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salad Hut Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing