We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woow!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Life Bungalow Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Woow!!!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile


As I was searching for a new hotel with my moped, I decided to stop at high life bungalow. I ask to visit the fan bungalow, and i just fall in love. Clean bungalow, and even if I hated taking a shower with cold water, I get use to it. The view is amazing, from my balcony i could see the sea and the beach. Right in front of the bed there is a big window, so when you lay on the bed you can still see the sea. There is also an hammock on the balcony. I had like no neighboor, so I feel intimity when i was relaxing on the balcony. Well for 500 bhat it definetly worth it. Oh and by te way, there is free wi-fi in the room. Its not always working well, but hey, you are on koh phangan. There is also a biggg pool . And you can access the beach in a few minutes. Nice staff.

Im just recomend to rent a moped if you stay there, cause from street to lobby, there is a big mountain, but if you are in good shape and you dont mind...

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sebas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    132
    42
    16
    11
See reviews for
49
195
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It has been almost a year since we stayed 7 nights at the High Life Bungalows. My boyfriend and I got the Honeymoon Suite, A1 - because it was about $70 USD a night and when else would we be able to afford 270 degree view of the ocean - and an outdoor tub & own private balcony - sunsets were spectacular! I highly reccomend this place, the staff, and the food. I dream of breakfast sandwiches, cappucinos, and club sandwiches. Sounds weird right? The food was just amazing - Thai food, too. You'll see when you get there.

Room Tip: Order the club sandwich
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jkdemonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've been staying for six nights in this fabulous resort and we're absolutely satisfied. The view over Haad Yao is wonderful.
This is one of the best medium range resort which I've ever seen with a very good restaurant and the staff is kind and friendly.
The bungalows are clean and well decorated (especially the ones over the cliff)
I'd definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms over the cliff are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco3dv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at another resort on the same beach as we were part of a large wedding party but ate practically all our Thai meals at High Life. We loved the music which was chilled and not ja ja pop. Staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful, more so after they discovered we loved the food. Strongly recommend the Thai food in particular - my favorites Thai pork salad with glass noodles, soup with chicken meatballs, Thai fried rice...mmm its making my drool to remember how good the food was. And I am Asian and a fussy eater so was very pleased to find an inexpensive (they fed my family of 2 adults and 2 20 something sons!) with vast amounts of food for incredibly reasonable price...plus drinks! Must get that recipe for Thai pork salad off them:) enjoy! we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatOrDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We were so desperate to stay here but they were so busy they couldn't offer us the same room for 6 nights, so we actually moved rooms 3 times. So ill review all 3 rooms.

Sea view, 2800Baht room A19.
We stayed here 1 night. The room was really big, had a great bathroom, shower had a mind of its own though! I will admit, I didn't love this room. ALL the soft furnishings looked slightly out of date.

Bungalow, 900Baht.
There are 4 bungalows situated at the back of the main resort. I believe there are cheaper ones but offer no hot water and air con. Our room was pleasant, spacious, 2 double beds. Basically your typical backpacker bungalow.

Mountain view 2000Baht.
This was our favourite room. Even though it was a mountain view it certainly wasn't and had great views over the sea and beach. The bathroom wasn't quite as nice as the first but the shower worked better. Hammock and the balcony was a great touch.

The staff here are super super friendly. Honestly the nicest Thai people ever! It's family run and they are just so nice!
The food is excellent. We ate breakfast and lunch here most days. They do the most amazing shakes EVER!

The pool is great. I wouldn't like to take young children here though. The views were fantastic. We loved high life, and would Definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellehulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic view, nice pool, good restaurant with the best coconut-coffe-shake and springrolls! We had the deluxe bungalow with sea-view and it was a very nice room: clean, and a nice bed(not SO hard...). The service was excellent, the straff was smiley and friendly and helped us with everything we asked for! The beach was quiet and I loved the resort and the Haad Yao:)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Although this place is a bit of a struggle to get to (uphill in both directions), it does provide a great reward. The views are stunning, the staff is friendly, the bungalows/rooms are excellent, the food is fantastic, the drinks are generously poured, and there is a great sense of openness and community among the guests. Note: It is NOT on the beach, as it is on a cliff. People with mobility issues may have some problems. But if you can get there, you may not ever want to leave.

Room Tip: There are some bungalows that are not sea facing, so make sure you don't get stuck with one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.9 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
646 reviews
1.2 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#33 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Life Bungalow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Life Bungalow Resort

Property: High Life Bungalow Resort
Address: 59/2 - M8, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 362 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Life Bungalow Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your High Life Bungalow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Life Bungalow Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing