We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveler rating
394
185
70
40
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
185
70
40
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshillside bungalowhaad rinfull moon partycoco hutpool terracemin walkbuffet breakfastlittle piece of paradisesun loungersamazing hotelspent nightssea viewresortbeachislandphanganmassage
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 721 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Cocohut for 3 nights (16-19/11/2012) in the Junior suite viila (501).
We enojyed the Cocohut very much - it is not a pretentious hotel and we liked that.
The Junior suite villa is very spacious and nice with a jacuzzi at the balcony which although very close to the pool still has a lot of privacy, The shower is also spacious and hot water are always available.
The food is good and not expensive and the beach is nice and relaxing.
We also enjoyed the complementary taxi service from the hotel to the main Haad-Rin beach.

All in all, the coco hut is a very nice place to stay when looking for place to stay near the Haad-Rin beach and we won't definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Take the Junior suite rooms - they're worth it !
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our stay at Cocohut Beach Resort and Spa could only be described as amazingly fantastic! This review will be a bit long, but I can’t describe enough how happy I was to have stayed here.
Upon arrival, the staff at reception immediately acknowledged us, and even though the place was a little bit busy, they ushered us to a staff member. They were fast, efficient and friendly, and within minutes we were unloading our gear into our Hillside Bungalow.

The room was exactly like the website pictured, and our only complaint was that the shower head was a bit haywire. It had seen a bit of corrosion, (to be expected in such a humid climate!) so the spray was a tad out of control. All in all though, the AC was perfect and could be adjusted to your liking, and the hot water was always there if we needed it. The bed and pillows were comfy, and DVD rentals were available for free!

The restaurant was awesome, although the loud movies at night were sometimes distracting. There is a section further down though, if you are looking for some quiet conversation. The food throughout the day is great, and the staff members are always attentive and quick. The complimentary buffet breakfast is great, and the cooks continue to fill up empty stations, so there is never a worry of not getting a certain food item if you arrive late. Wi-fi is free in the restaurant area. Hard to complain about that.

We read so many reviews about the resort employees being rude and disinterested, but this was never the case for us. I tend to think that if you show them a little respect, they will do the same in return for you. We were always smiled at as we passed, and whenever we left the “service room” sign on our door, the room was tidied up within a short hour! In fact, we even left a sign up asking not to be disturbed one day, and they left us fresh amenities, towels, water, etc. on our balcony! I was impressed!

Our last morning at Cocohut we had to catch a cab at 6am, which meant that we would miss the buffet breakfast. The staff member organizing our departure was concerned about this, and took time out of his schedule to disappear into the kitchen and bring us out each a toasted cheese sandwich and a bottle of water.

We stayed during the Full Moon Party period, and on the night of the celebration, Cocohut staff organized a cocktail party. I thought they did a fantastic job! The decorations were bright and beautiful, and the DJ was playing upbeat music. There were platters of tasty food, and a cocktail bar was serving up all-you-could-drink alcohol. At the end of the night, we weren’t disturbed by the noise from the Full Moon Party at all.

The beach was pristine, although you’ll want to arrive early if you want a wooden seat/lounger. The volleyball court was well kept and always promised a good time. The beach bar rocks out great tunes all day as well.

On our last night we visited the spa, and lone behold – another wonderful experience. We booked a couples oil massage, and there was even a discount being offered at the time of our stay. Overall, it cost us about $15 each in our own currency for an hour’s massage, while back home it would cost us about $110. Hard to beat. The spa is a work of art, with little paths and staircases leading every which way to different little huts. Our masseuses were professional and friendly, and enjoyed laughing and joking around with us before and after our treatment.

I think any vacation will depend on your mindset, attitude, and how you treat the staff who are already working hard to please a beach full of customers. Even though I can be picky, I’m not the type of person to complain about beach towels that are faded, (who cares?!?) or one staff member who doesn’t bow to your every whim. (We all have bad days.) To us, Cocohut was beyond what we had hoped for, and if I ever visit Thailand again, I’ll be heading directly there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CourtneyTennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked 4 nights in Cocohut to end our amazing Thai islands vacation.
Bottom line - this was our least favorite hotel during our vacation (and defiantly not the least expensive) - very very bad value for money.

When i judge this hotel i compare it to the luxurious resorts we stayed during our vacation at the same price range or even cheaper.

Pros -
1. The hotel (this one shouldn't even be called resort) has its own private beach - which is very nice but far from being quiet (as we imagine) - there is another hotel sharing the beach with Cocohut and it looks much more quiet.
2. The hotels restaurant is nice and the food there was ok.

Cons -
1. The first sign of the horrible service we are about the get was that when we asked by mail to be picked up from the Phanghan pier - we got an answer that they don't offer a pickup service (not even a paid one) from that pier and we should manage by our own.

2. When we checked in we asked to pay a deposit for the room key (500THB) - don't get me wrong this was a standard key - nothing special about it.

3. We looked at the first room we booked (Hillside bungalow) and we were shocked - the room is extremely old, small and doesn't even worth 1/10 of what they charged me for it - we immediately upgraded our room to the Cliff bungalow (which was much better but still didn't worth the money) and paid (in Cocohut the payment is upfront) a lot more than we planned.

4. All the sheets and towels are extremely old and their color is faded.

5. In order to use the Wi-Fi in your room you have to pay (300THB a day) and the password is only good for one login. Free Wi-Fi is available only in the hotel's restaurant.

6. Our room's air-con was extremely weak, when we complained about it they didn't do anything about it.

7. The breakfast is poor - very limited and cheap variety and if you want anything extra like a ginger to put in your tea you have to pay for it (50thb). The breakfast hours is also the worst we have seen (until 10:00), my guess is that their trying to get people to miss the breakfast and to pay for one in the restaurant.

8. Cleaning of the room was also an issue - we left the room every day at 9:00 and hang the "Please clean my room" sign but when we got back to the room at 12:00 the room wasn't cleaned yet. In 14:00 someone knocked on our door for cleaning. - So we had to leave the room once again.

9. I would define the service there as "always no" service. whatever we asked we got the feeling that they just want us to leave them alone - it might seem like no big deal when you read it now, but when you feel it during your vacation it is very frustrating,

10. The manager or the man in charge named Saner was rude on several occasions. He treated very badly to us and to other hotel guest, for example - when we asked a refill for the salad bowl 20 minutes before breakfast ends he yield at us that there will be no refill at this time and other kind of salad is still available.

If u wishes to have a nice quiet vacation while being spoiled - this is not the place for you. There are a lot of other options at the same or cheaper prices that offer so much more

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Hillside bungalow
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TomTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

It's not the 4 seasons, so if you have those expectations certainly don't judge this place by them.

Service was out of this world, the location was fabulous and Fon is a lady of tremendous patience grace and stepped up in every way when asked and not asked. We had planned to stay 3 days and extended for 7.

Even as we attempted to leave after ending up stuck on Haad Yuan, Fon searched high and low for us, held the cab that was waiting to take us to the ferry (At least 35 minutes) and even sent us off with a bite to eat when we rushed though with all the panic mostly seen when bulls arrive in china shops.

Additionally, I've saw adults behave like children at this resort. So disappointing, everything about it was lovely and I feel like I'm seeing these same people in the comments below.

Anyway, I loved it and so did my girlfriend. 32/28

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flundypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

1.Overall, the hotel is very poor. Cocohut hotel is a shabby hotel, even if the island many hotels are full, and no one would like to live in cocohut.
2.Especialy their service attitude is very bad,after they recieve your money,they don't care you anymore,Almost delayed our ship to leave.
3.Cocohut geographical position is not good, general tourists are in front of the hotel area swimming, but cocohut hotel in front of the beach, a lot of coral have died. Visitors have to go next beach(other beach)to play, and you must pay the TAXI charge.
4.Cocohut hotel waiter are locals, no service quality.After accepted money, no matter you. Compared with the next hotel , it is not same level..
5.Cocohut facilities are very old. Hotel rooms even with dozens of years ago old air conditioning let you use, and sheet is dirty, I was wearing clothes to go to bed. Hotel toilet wooden furniture sweat all corrosion off.
6.Cocohut meal is cheaper, but it's dirty. In the evening when we come back to see the waiter in a dirty towel tableware

Room Tip: 1.Overall, the hotel is very poor. Cocohut hotel is a shabby hotel, even if the island many hotels are full, and no one would like to live in cocohut. 2.Especialy their service attitude is very bad,after they recieve your money,they don't care you anymore,Almost delayed our ship to leave. 3.Cocohut geographical position is not good, general tourists are in front of the hotel area swimming, but cocohut hotel in front of the beach, a lot of coral have died. Visitors have to go next beach(other beach)to play, and you must pay the TAXI charge. 4.Cocohut hotel waiter are locals, no service quality.After accepted money, no matter you. Compared with the next hotel , it is not same level.. 5.Cocohut facilities are very old. Hotel rooms even with dozens of years ago old air conditioning let you use, and sheet is dirty, I was wearing clothes to go to bed. Hotel toilet wooden furniture sweat all corrosion off. 6.Cocohut meal is cheaper, but it's dirty. In the evening when we come back to see the waiter in a dirty towel tableware
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews