We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful place in paradise :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Papaya Resort
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful place in paradise :)”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the exact place I was looking for...nice beach, quiet, peaceful, and the hotel is excellent.

Service at the hotel is outstanding and most helpful. The front service person speaks English well and helped us a lot.

Breakfast is not big but certainly delicious. Nice background music overlooking the pool and sea...very relaxing way to wake up.

No complaints about the room, maybe only the TV should be upgraded. Nice and different to take a shower on the outside closed balcony.

There are some nice restaurants on the beach to have dinner or some drinks at the pub. Overall salad beach is very quiet without the crowds so there are only a few restaurants/pubs.

Wifi worked well throughout the hotel area.

I highly recommend this place if you are looking to truly relax and want a quiet stay. Beach is perfect for couples as there were not too many families during the time of my stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuval-IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    85
    36
    20
    25
See reviews for
89
144
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

...which itself is one of the most beautiful beaches on koh panghan. i did not have an amazing impression upon arrival. i had booked the "ocean cottage" which is more expensive. unfortunately it is not really a beach front cottage as they claim on the site. it is the cottage next to the bar and restaurant, you do see the beach but from across the bar. needless to say i panicked and got in a bad mood. fortunately, the bar opens only at lunch time and closes rather early at around 10 30 - 11, and is never really full for that matter. once we got used to the idea i was not too bothered and despite looking over the bar the cottage did not turn out to have less privacy than the rest. which brings to my next point.. the resort is nice and stylish enough. the reason i never really grew fond of it (and that some reviewers speak of it as being soulless) has i guess to do with the design, oversized cottages one next to the other, all looking at the swimming pool. rather unexplicable why a lot of space was eaten up by a two floors common area structured in the shape of a boat where you have breakfast. i can't think of many architechtural choices that are sadder and lamer than shaping buildings as boats - why is it i kept thinking of a club med? i also kept thinking they should have built smaller cottages to space them better and provide more privacy through vegetation and avoid that club med/campsite feeling. the cottage was huge, but just ok really. the bed had a silk upholstery that was marked with the anatomic traces of previous guests, a bit disgusting i am afraid. there was a huge bathroom. it had a jacuzzi. it also had holes in the window above it that had been "repared" with paper tissue. the other french window going to the outdoor shower also did not close well. this is an issue because of the mosquitoes. but you cope with the mosquitoes in thailand. it just looks odd, the luxury item in the run down bathroom. the faux leather pillows on the jacuzzi were mouldy. of course we never dreamt of using it. because of the look of it, but mostly because who cares about a jacuzzi if you are on a coral reef little beach in thailand? i guess my point is, why overdoing it and go all swanky if you are not up to fixing the basics? the worst thing about the cottage though was the smell. most of the time, although thankfully not all the time, there was a very strong sewage stink coming in. i mean very strong, sometimes unbearable. i woke up with a strong headache one morning because of it, which was probably the low point of the stay. it turns out this is not Green Papaya's fault. the sewage stink comes from the resort next door. this is a totally criminal operation (mostly french as well, as i understand, a divers place) where they crammed in i do not know how many bungalows and hotel rooms, another of those quantity over quality cheap operations that will end up destroying the thai tourist industry if they do not start regulating them. the guest numbers in this resort is apparently unsustainable from a sewage point of view. the hordes of french people staying there seemed happy enough to breathe the sewage smell when we walked through that resort. as for ourselves, we survived the smell issue thanks to the high tide coming after a few days which improved things a little and incense sticks we started to burn. Again, i want to stress this is not Green Papaya's fault and they were sorry enough about it, but i could not avoid mentioning it as it did significantly affect our stay. i hope this is mostly for our cottage and not the rest. breakfast in the boat shaped pavilion is so so. annoying elevator muzak (club med! why???), always the same, perhaps a tactic to make you leave fast. all self service, including the coffee, and frankly not a great choice. and i would rather pay more for it, but offering packaged fruit juices in a semi-upscale resort in thailand is just a no no. just squeeze something or give me a coconut for God's sake. the staff is not particularly friendly, very quiet. we found the gardeners hilarious, they just squat behind some plant smoking or texting and are apparently able to do absolutely nothing for hours on end. in the end, the beach is nice, and the stay was pleasant despite all. it has issues but proably remains one of the best choices if you want to stay north in the island. the thai manager kind of tried to be all nice at the end - but he has a hard feat making up for the unpleasantness of his french partner. someone wrote she makes you feel like you are in a home stay, i could not agree more, she sort of affected the mood and atmosphere when she was around, eating alone or something. not a natural in the hospitality industry i guess. brr. one last note, it is very uncommon and not standard practice as far as i know in thai resorts that they would charge your card upon reservation. they generally just keep it for guarantee, and at the perfect (and genuinely upscale) Poppies Samui where we stayed the week before we paid all in the end. here they charged 50% upon reservation and asked to settle the rest when we arrived there. this was obviously unpleasant, and contributed to my initial bad mood considering i had felt duped about hte cottage. mmmh..

Room Tip: i'd avoid the cottages on the left side - they get the sewage smell from the neighboring resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thominhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The resort is overly priced. We had booked a cottage over-looking sea and paid a good amount but the room given to us was not at all over-looking sea. Upon asking we were told that the trees in the front have grown and sea cannot be seen and this is overlooking sea cottage only. Nobody knew about the resort, the driver had to search a lot for it for 30-40 mins, mainlanders also did not know that such resort exists. They barely had any staff and the owner was very rude. When we asked for some information he just handed over the leaflets and asked us to speak at the contact numbers provided. Food at the restaurant was horrible, we ordered for something for which we were served with something else. It is on the beach but you will hardly find anyone here. It’s the last resort on the beach arch. Breakfast had very limited choices, sleep quality was ok, pool was dirty, sun beds were not cleaned. We had high hopes with the resort while booking b’coz we cancelled our booking in other resort and made it here looking at the pictures but it didn’t turn out to be so. They almost ruined our trip to Koh Phangan, luckily we had booked other resort for day 2. We did not enjoy the stay at all. I will certainly not recommend this resort to anyone. I would not want anyone to knowingly toss their money for this depressed and disheartening place.

Room Tip: I will not recommend this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquarian_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Some other reviewer already said this, but he or she is right. This is a beautiful place, but somehow it lacks soul. We think it is because the restaurant is just not nice. It lacks any kind of atmosphere.

Bungalow itself is great. Very nice, spacious, clean. Nice bathtub, but Thai size. My wife could fit in, I definitely could not. Outside shower, very nice. Also there is a TV, but not a big choice of channels. Two english movie channels were nice however.

Breakfast is decent but nothing too special. Do arrive before 9:30 at breakfast, otherwise they are out of food and start cleaning although they state breakfast is between 8-10 am...

Beautiful tropical garden around the nice pool and between the bungalows.

All in all a very nice resort. We didn't try the restaurant, because we didn't like it for atmosphere. We had dinner at Salad Hut which was the best on Koh Phangan so far! Next day we moved to Salad Hut as well for accommodations, see my review there.

Price: quite steep. I think 3200 BHT is a lot in low seasons. In high season it is 5000. In my opinion it is a very nice resort, but for this price you should get more service. For instance, all resorts on Haad Salaad clean their part of the beach every morning. Green Papaya does not.

Beds: rock hard, like almost all beds in Thailand unfortunately :(. Real backkillers.

Room Tip: Go for Salad Hut. Better bang for your buck. About the same prices but just better service and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pim75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

They do everything well here, nice rooms (although Im not sure why they face away from the view and beach)
!?) Nice pool and overall setup. great part of the beach! walk out for great snorkeling. All well managed by french owner HOWEVER, this place holds no soul, its a little challenging to say, by its void of that special something, I think the french have a good term for something with soul, I wonder what is it without it. I felt like I was at a homestay, and slightly privileged to be staying there with the owners (thai and french) , even in their way a little. They seem a little bossy and uptight, thats not french right!? Thai husband doing his best, but snapped a few times and growl at us and our friends.
Not a hotel feel more homestay.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very pretty little hotel at Haad Salad. The bay it self is very quiet as the resort itself is very small. We stayed for just 2 nights in the family room and had a private terrace an jacuzzi. You have to go to meet Mr Wee who is hilarious! He runs a great little hotel and I am not sure why they have the negative comments on here as they don't deserve them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy29linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel/resort has got a chain of bungalows surrounding the pool in the centre, all of the bungalows have the beach closeby (max 50 metres) and the pool in less then 10 metres in front. The breakfast location has a stunning view over the pool and behind that, the beach. It is however located on the first floor so not very well accessable if you cant walk stairs. Breakfast is great and plentyful, eggs freshly made any style, pancakes made on request, toast machine, fresh pineapple and watermelon, good coffee and a diversity of small sweets etc.

The bungalow we stayed in had a open air shower, private jacuzzi and very nice bathroom. It all felt quite luxurious although the beds are a bit hard (as are most Thai beds we have encountered, thats prob why there are so many massage places in Thailand ;-) )

Staff is very helpful and reception will help out whenever they can.

Green Papaya restaurant however has its ups and downs, most dishes are overpriced, cocktails are expensive, very small and lack any inspiration. There are much better places to eat and drink on Haad Salad beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcorsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#33 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#32 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Papaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Papaya Resort

Property: Green Papaya Resort
Address: Salad Beach 64/8 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Papaya Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Green Papaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Papaya Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing