We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional wooden bungalows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Papaya Resort
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Traditional wooden bungalows”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Dark wooden floors and decks, with huge full bathrooms makes this a very comfortable resort.Good aircon,plenty of hot water, and outside shower a nice touch.
The most beautiful pool, rimming towards the beach, is a perfect picture.
The gardens, most prolific, need some tendering however.
The beach is good, but broken coral makes wading in the blue water difficult.
Breakfast was adequate, but no other food was served at all, while we were there.[However, there is a very good restaurant ,Cookies Salad,at the south side of the beach.]
The manager, Mr P, very helpful, and almost a one man cabaret, who runs a good resort, however,not the cheapest on the beach by far !
If not for the lack of meal service, a 4 star rating would have been awarded.

Room Tip: All are great, some closer to the beach/pool, but resort is small so take what is available/acceptab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigsouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    85
    36
    20
    25
See reviews for
89
144
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Perfect location in the centre of the small cove. Great for a relaxing break in a beautiful location. The pool villa's were very well designed and the bathroom with is half outside had a bath and powerful rain shower with plenty of hot water. breakfasts were adequate with an eggs to order station and fresh fruit etc and the restaurant served western and Thai dishes overlooking the beach. The beach isn't great for swimming as the tide made it too shallow but snorkelling was ok and the water crystal clear. One of the nicest and most modern resorts on the strip and the pool was just beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonnebDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our 3rd time in Thailand, we've already stayed in many other resorts before the G P, and this is our favorite place. There is all what you need for a perfect holiday. The staff is attentive but not too pushy, the rooms are extremely clean and cosy, the breakfast is more than enough with the most incredible view. There is a particular care on details that is very rare in Thailand.
We tried the restaurant and I recommend thai food, and their vietnamese spring roll. Cocktails are prepared with love from 3 friendly barmen. This is the place to stay on Haad Salad, far the best. I highly recommend Green P.

Room Tip: Tremendous swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurynandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, Utrecht, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the Green Papaya Resort; we had a very very good time. All staff was extremely friendly, service oriented and the overall atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. The pool villa we booked was pretty cool, and perfect for our 4-person family.

The pool is well designed and makes your thoughts slow down. The other bars & restaurants right around the corner offer a wide spectrum of food and drinks. Especially at night it is fun to walk along the beach and enjoy.

Room Tip: We booked the pool villa as we had 4 persons. The smaller houses seem to fit for as well. depending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertjan_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Planned a 1 night Romantic stay with my partner and wanted to do something special. after much deciding I settled on Green Papaya, wish i'd chosen elsewhere now. The ceiling was mouldy, the jacuzzi had ants and leaves in and wasn't filled - (reception said would take 10 mins, took 1 hour to fill!(and that was cold water!)) No view except for the restaurant entrance/reception (no privacy when using the outdoor shower!) very dark and bad lighting. Knew we preferred fan to aircon - ceiling fan was broken and no extra fan put in room. Driveway is so uneven my bike almost slipped on loose rocks, entrance looks like a building site. Weren't told breakfast finishes at 10.30 (this was included so felt a bit robbed!) Overall come away feeling disappointed and ripped-off. I have live here for a while now and stayed at many different places on the island, I could have got better facilities/service for less money elsewhere on the island. I shall just have to learn from a bad error in judgement

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms with Jacuzzi/Plunge Pool - no view at all and incredibly unromantic! Also it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londontraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie280472, Owner at Green Papaya Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Mrs,

We like to hear from our guests so that we can improve in order to make their stay more enjoyable.
We went to check the room you have been staying in and we need to make the following rectifications:
The ceiling fan is working, the switch is located near the switch for the light. The ceiling has been painted last november, under the supervision of one architect and it is white and clean (previously natural color). The tub is very big, we dont pre fill with water to guaranty you take a bath in clean water.
Our housekeeper are working really hard and they would have been cleaning the leaves away if we were advised.
We apologize if you haven't been informed about the breakfast schedule, and for the road access which needs to be repaired.
You are welcome to visit us (as you are staying on the island) if you would like to discuss further, or you can contact me by mail.
Best regards,
Elodie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just had 8 nights at green papaya , it's been great staff fantastic & could not do enough for you - rooms are not the largest but comfortable - shower/ toilet attached , pool area is amazing , breakfast more than enough coffee is great , egg chef plus some Bain Marie noodles/rice/ bacon - resturant by the beach for sunset or go down to haad salad's many beach bars - I feel very chilled right now !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russrusslovemuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the green papaya as part of our travels around Thailand. We researched which beaches we wanted to visit on Koh Phangan and Had Salad was one of them. We booked this resort online where we were told we would pay for 2 nights and get one night free in a superior double room.After a bumpy ride from the port to the resort, we were met by a miserable looking lady who claimed to be the owner.When we confirmed the booking we were told that our room would be by the pool and 50 meters from the beach. The room we got was not exactly as described and when the door opened the stench of mold and damp hit me straight away.In fact the smell was so bad that after one night I asked to be moved to a much nicer deluxe pool room. I told the owner the smell was so bad in there to the point that I could not breath properly. She agreed with me but with no apology or offer of another room. If she knew the room was so bad then why put someone in there?I guess the saving grace was that we had the 2 nights for 3 deal and the deluxe pool room was so much better.I had to pay for the difference in price which was fine, but a "sorry" would have been nice.

The pool was amazing as was the beach itself,in fact I think one of the best beaches on Koh Phangan.
The staff that worked there(not the owner) made the resort a lovely place to stay as they went out of their way to make you comfortable. I hurt my leg snorkling and one of the guys there gave me some medicated rub to make my knee better. He was so sweet.

The breakfast was good and there was a great selection of pastries, toast, pancakes and Thai food. The coconut cakes were to die for!!!

The owner did let down the resort as she had "I cant be bothered to help you " attitude and was only there to squeeze as much money out of you as possible. We asked her where we could hire a car and she looked un-interested and not bothered to help at all(not the usual attitude of Thai people ) and she ended up sending us on a wild goose chase to a tiny village which had no car hire at all.I cannot believe as someone who is in the travel industry and runs a business you would not know where your local car hire place would be.We ended up back at the port and hired a jeep after wasting money and time on this womans recommendation.When we told her she just shrugged and once again no apology!

Over all the resort is beautiful with an amazing beach and pool. The staff here are wonderful and the breakfast was good. I did find the lunch time and evening food was not as good, and the Thai street food is way better than food along the beach resturants in general.

Beware of the owner as she is very miserable and rude . When we checked out she tried to charge us for the free water she said we were allowed to have as part of our room. When I said that to her she ripped the bill up in an angry manner and said "never mind" hence why you have to watch what you are being charged for!

I know I have mentioned her attitude throughout this review but its because she spoilt this wonderful resort with her bad attitude, and I would definatley not stay here again because of that. There are far better and cheaper places where nice Thai people welcome you and help you out with a huge smile on their faces!I have rated this poor because of her!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms around the actual the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disney72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elodie280472, Owner at Green Papaya Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Sir,
Firstly I would like to apologize for the lack of care which you have experienced. I am the owner of the resort, but I must inform you that you haven't met the owner as I was not onsite at the time of your stay, though my partner (a Thai man) was managing the resort at this period, and unfortunately the issue had not been raised to him, which I feel very sorry as he would have surely worked hard to restore this poor situation.
Feel free to contact me directly if you wish.
Sincerely,
Elodie Natakuatong
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#33 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
517 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salad Hut Bungalows
Salad Hut Bungalows
#5 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#68 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Papaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Papaya Resort

Property: Green Papaya Resort
Address: Salad Beach 64/8 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Papaya Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Green Papaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Papaya Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing