We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ATROCIOUS - avoid like the plague - gives Thailand a bad reputation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“ATROCIOUS - avoid like the plague - gives Thailand a bad reputation”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Without doubt, this is the worst service I have ever experienced in a hotel and I have travelled a lot! The resort itself is actually nice, but the service and management is so atrocious that I would NOT recommend staying here. There is a place called Sunny Bay down the road – stay here!
We had booked the Full Moon package which was to include three nights accommodation, transfers from the port to the hotel and burgers before heading to the full moon party. On arrival at the port, the hotel taxi was over one hour late in collecting us, despite being told on numerous occasions that it would only take ten minutes. Had we of known the truth, we could have easily spend £2 each taking a private cab but because we were told over and over that it was around the corner.
When we are finally picked up, we are taking on a joy ride over to the other side of the island and down a dirt track. We end up at this family's house. The driver jumps out, the family circle the car, we are in pitch darkness and they are claiming we have to get out as the hotel has been fully booked. This is the first we had heard of this and presumed it was a scam. We had to force the driver to get back into the car and take us to the hotel.
Upon arrival at the hotel, we were met by a sullen faced receptionist. The hotel had completely over-booked all of its reservations. The hotel was not offering any alternatives – we had all paid our money up front and they couldn't even propose alternative accommodation. In the end, our party that should have had 8 rooms ended up with 4 rooms – on the first night we managed (after long debate) to get the hotel to put some of us up in a hotel 5 minutes away and then after that we had to put up with camp beds. We were lucky though – another couple ended up sleeping on mattresses on the floor in a conference room, with the beach shower room to use as their toilet. I understand that the odd mistake happens with bookings at a hotel, however you do not manage to COMPLETELY overbook a hotel.
As mentioned, the staff were unbelievable unpleasant. Despite overbooking the whole hotel, they could offer no alternative. They didn't even offer our money back until we asked! The receptionist looked constantly miserable. There was a huge lack of communication between the day staff and night staff – we ordered a taxi for 7am to take us for our ferry the night before at reception and, of course, the lady at reception when we went to leave had no idea about the booking. There was also a large lack of communication between the manager and the staff.
Even the bar staff were unpleasant and very rude. The service was atrocious, and when I went to the bar to ask for a drink I was ordered to sit down and the waiter would be there in a minute. We had all been very pleasant to the waiting staff (despite all the problems) so it was annoying to be met with such a response.
On the night of the Full Moon party they tried to charge us for all the food and drink that was supposed to be included in our package. We settled the bill the night before (as we knew there would be problems), but one of our rooms was woken up at 6am as they had "found" more items on our bill and wanted it settled before we left (and yet they apparently didn't know we had a taxi ordered for 7am…)
On our last night, we went to the Sunny Bay resort just along the beach front. The staff were unbelievable pleasant, and it was such a welcome surprise after the miserable bunch at the Haad Son. I don't know what the Sunny Bay resort is like, but it cannot get any worse than the Haad Son. We had so many problems that were just so unnecessary, and not things that you want to have to be fighting for when you are on your holiday.
Definitely do not book at this hotel – they are what gives Thailand a bad reputation.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    75
    34
    18
    20
See reviews for
34
112
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

The ONLY redeeming feature of this hotel is it's setting - the beach is lovely and the rooms are for the most part clean.

However, the service was not only disappointing but the worst most of us have ever experienced. The staff were without exception rude, short tempered and aggressive. Taxis to and from the hotel from the pier were either late or never turned up (and on the way took us to a locals house in the woods at night to try and persuade us to stay there instead of the rooms we had booked and paid for), food was average and served by people who did not want to be there themselves, drinks were spilt by the waiters over us and the table but there was no offer of replacement, 'free' full moon party package meals appeared on bill, the hotel was overbooked to such an extent that 50% of our bookings were lost (we were a group of 12) and a number of people slept on the floor of an unused, cobwebbed, mosquito ridden conference room along with other people who had all paid for a private bungalow, no one received an apology/an offer of a discount/ a smile from any staff member for the duration of our stay.

Such a shame because this place has the potential to be paradise...by the time we left it felt more like hell on earth!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunworshipper020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

If you dont mind being shouted at on a daily basis or being served with rolling eyes or completely ignored, this is the place to stay, but the location conviced us to stay 4 nights, as you could hardly find a more idyllic location than this - private beach, shame rough massage place on the beach though, try hotel one, not ratatouille. Food not worth trying, so once we could decide, we def saved 400 baht for breakfast for two and were happy to go somewhere else. It is a bit difficult to get away and to this place, so if you dont want to rent a motorbike or car, it is not easy to get around. It was the first place we did not tip a single baht as the staff was more than rude, impolite, unhelpful and ignorant. We did not feel welcome at this place, more disturbing as staff sleeps in hammocks, which i personally would have liked to use, or block computers, which i also would have liked to use sometimes. They basically sleep everywhere, from sofa on reception, over main restaurant and by the pool. You feel more like a disturbant than a guest.

But enjoying a beautiful sunset from the new hotel rooms (strongly recommended as much better standard than bungalows) overlooking the sea and private beach, the mean and rude receptionist is forgotten for a few moments.

Also dont expect room cleaning to happen unless you insist in a tidy room, we even had to explain why we want to have our rooms cleaned, ruuuuuuuuude!!!

Prices are negotiable, so dont take the price from the catalogue for granted, you can get a better deal. The beach next to it, Haad Yao is more lively and offers more resorts to chose from for similar rates.

The entire resort is one of the most beautiful places i have seen in my life though with lush gardens and lots of hidden romantic places to enjoy a drink or food (if ever served).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princesa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We arrived on Koh Phangan at about 7:30pm with a baby and our young son. The resort refused to pick us up from Thongsala even though we were told that they would. The excuse was that the receptionist was new and didn’t know. We had to pay 400Baht for a taxi to the resort. We were given a room on the beach and it was horrible, outdated garish décor, thin stingy mismatched towels, the bathroom was horrible and the room was at the bottom of many, many stairs, which wasn’t ideal with a baby and pram to cart up and down to even get to reception or the restaurant. We booked this resort because they offered a baby cot – it was an old, broken swinging cot that was held together by tape, we had to make do with it because there was nothing else. The next day we were moved to a room closer to the restaurant and reception but the window was broken, AC was noisy, the beds were old and uncomfortable, the bathroom was old with a broken tap in the basin and very poor water pressure in the shower. The TV was broken and would only stay on if we wedged something into the on button, the website promised cable TV but there were only about 3 English channels to choose from with no cartoons for the kids. Our room was not cleaned for 5 days until we actually asked them to clean it and give us new towels. The pool was so full of chlorine that it was impossible to swim in it and the towels they offer are so old some of them had holes in them. I hesitated to sit on the sun beds for fear of getting splinters. The only plus were that the staff were friendly and the food was OK. I would definitely not recommend this resort to anyone, its nothing like it shows on the website.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DohaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

The Staff we soooo helpful! We arrived at 7am and we were able to check in more or less straight away - check in time isn't meant to be until mid day. The staff were so nice. If we wanted to swim in the pool at night they would put the lights on for us, bring us cocktails in the pool etc. When we checked out we left at 7am and as we left before breakfast they arranged a packed lunch for us. Very kind! They were always there if you needed help, and would go out of their way to help you. The lady at reception, the manager I think was brilliant. The food was lovely, some of the best we ate on our 3 week trip around thailand. We had only planned to stay for 3 nights but stayed a night longer as we loved it. Lovely pool / view / staff .... great

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pongsakorn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlv
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

this is a resort located on a hill top, 10 minuts walk down to haad yao great beach, with bars restaurants and resort. i thing tou better stay there on haad yao!

haad son resort itself is an o.k resort, rooms fair, although we had a major sewer smell in our room the first day, the upgraded us the next day to a beacfront bunglow.

the hotel has a small pool and haad son is a quiet beach, its a pitty than the hotel does not maintain the beach so there are no sun beds, umbrellas etc., just sea and sand.

in conclusion, go to one of the places on haad yao!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uri117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olofström
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Stayed in bungalow 3 m from the water line. I noticed they have made a 2 storey building there now, pity. Paid 500 baht per night.
Great pool and restaurant. Pool closed 10:00 pm wich is unusual and great.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
538 reviews
1.3 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#11 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seaboard Bungalows
Seaboard Bungalows
#63 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bounty Resort
Bounty Resort
#55 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Beach Bungalows
Secret Beach Bungalows
#36 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haad Son Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Son Resort & Restaurant

Property: Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Address: 85 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Son Resort & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haad Son Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant Hotel Koh Phangan
Haad Son Resort And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing