We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Beware if you are booking this resort through their website. Your reservation might not be respected by the owners. We booked this hotel 3 months in advance and got an email confirmation for the villa we wanted. I decided to follow up 2 weeks prior (thank God!) and got an email back basically ignoring our initial reservation, saying there is now 5 nights minimum stay and the resort is fully booked but they can offer us anther room (how does it even make sense??) I was trying to get more info and understand what happened to our original beach front villa, and after emailing multiple times kept getting the same ignorant response and not much detail. Did I mention there was no apology either..

Can you imagine the stress of finding out you don't have your honeymoon accomodations a week before leaving? Especially in the peak season.. We didn't want to compromise on anther room (they didn't even provide any details on it) and were really put off by the terrible service before even arriving there. After going through the search process again we were lucky to find a last minute room at another resort near by. We had to give up on our beach front bungalow dream, but I would rather stay at a reliable place than deal with a rude service.

I was really looking forward to our stay at Haad Son and wish they didn't cause us this stress. Hope the management will improve their booking system and service in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank nycgirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 245 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the full moon party, It was quite far out from the party however it was very sercluded and had beautiful surroundings and the hotel arranged taxis for all guests going to the party for only 200 baht! very cheap!

We planned on staying in the hotel only 2 nights at first however loved it so much we stayed 4 nights! and I dont think this would have happened if it wasnt for the extremely polite and helpful staff! we had a fab time... they even turned the lights on for us to go swimming at 11pm at night when we'd been drinking, complimentary cocktails and alot of beautiful relaxing memories.

I've got to say what made it for me in particular was one particular male staff members - I called him Mr Happy because come rain or shine he was permantly with a smile on his face and a pleasure to chat to.

The food at the hotel was amazing, that good we didnt end up going to the little beach bar/resturant right down the bottom... steak was always a winner and at a bargin price.

The rooms were not amazing but standard rooms and ones you would typically expect in thailand, we had stayed in alot worse but the surroundings and the hotel itself was that beautiful it honestly made it. I would quite happily go back to thailand and spend 2 weeks just in that beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethsieboo0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My dream of the Thai islands came true on Koh Phangan at this resort. For $30 CA we got a lovely villa on the beach - which when we went was basically our own and deserted. The best thing about Haad Son is the pier they have - a picturesque stone walkway over the water with hammocks at the end of it. You can jump off it!
It was quiet when we went (Monsoon season) so the beach bar they have wasn't open too much but we still had a mean pad thai there.

Only complaint I had was the front desk clerk FORGOT to book our taxi on the day of our departure. We almost missed our ferry and a flight and lost a few hundred dollars because she was asleep and made this huge mistake. Quite the ordeal!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Haad Son Resort was GREAT! The resort has it's own private beach and the staff were very lovely and helpful. I was traveling with a group of 10 friends and none of us had one bad thing to say about the resort!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for 8 days and had a great time!

Good food, relaxed atmosphere, great snorkelling and the best ocean-view ever (from room number 408).

One point for improvement (as others have mentioned): Cleaning!
Rooms are cleaned every 2 or 3 days (and cost 2500 baht!). You would expect better for that price. Especially since you are expected to dump the toiletpaper in a bin... Which starts getting smelly after a couple of days...

When complaining about the frequency and quality (we even found somebody else' dirty underwear under the bed and some rodents poo) of cleaning the response was: "Yes we get that complaint a lot".

When asking whether they are thinking about doing something about the complaints the response was: "The cleaners are on a holiday".

When asking whether they should maybe think about hiring more cleaners the response was: "No, we have enough cleaners, but they are on a holiday"...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasper1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The staff are friendly and have service mind although their English is limited. Good location to escape from the crowded community and chaotic beaches like Haad Rin. Bad thing is that we cannot swim in the sea in front of the resort due to plenty of coral reef and stones.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are expensive, but it's worth for panoramic sea view and fresh air from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet-Ratta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed there for 5 nights and found it to be at a good location and the rooms were clean and tidy. Not the easiest place to get around with suitcases but the staff were friendly and helpful. Nice to have a bar next door on Secret beach with sensible drink prices. Transport to and from Ferry terminal a bonus. A scooter allowed us to see cheaper and better hotels further up the Island but would recommend this hotel for short stays only

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Bounty Resort
Bounty Resort
#56 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#14 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaboard Bungalows
Seaboard Bungalows
#68 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Secret Beach Bungalows
Secret Beach Bungalows
#33 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haad Yao Villa
Haad Yao Villa
#146 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
#44 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haad Son Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Son Resort & Restaurant

Address: 85 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 383 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $31 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Son Resort & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haad Son Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Son Resort And Restaurant
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing