We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$63
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan(Ko Pha Ngan)
$136
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Hill Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$64
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phangan Bayshore Resort(Ban Hat Rin)(Great Value!)
$97
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
95
81
38
19
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
81
38
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecret beachbeach frontcool restauranthaad yaobeach barbeautiful private beachlate at nightamazing sunsetbeachfront villaduring low seasonawesome placefantastic locationstayed here for nightsrent a scooteramazing foodbalconypier
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 256 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked our rooms 3 months in advance and when we arrived they had double booked and were full due to the full moom party. They did move us to another hotel but waited for us to arrive to sort it, as it was there stuff up we felt they should have sorted it well before we arrived to stop us having to wait. Not good!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Samantha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The location of this resort is absolutely fabulous. Beach right outside your cottage.There is a beach side restaurant. But the best thing about this resort is this great "spot" where you can relax on the hammocks, dive into the sea and snorkel!! Yes, you dont need to go anywhere else for snorkeling if you are staying here. Rooms are decent. When we arrived the door lock was not working, phone was out of order. Barring one receptionist, rest of the staff is not at all friendly. But I think you cant complain much as its everywhere the same in Thailand. All in all a very good place to relax and enjoy the beautiful koh phangan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauravVarshikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

As the title of this review states, this hotel did not have a safe in the room, did not provide us with clean bath towels (or clean our room at all, for that matter), runs out of pool towels half way through the day (which leaves you in a bit of a bind considering they ask you not to use bath towels at the pool or beach), and did not have any type of beach chairs. There are 15 (I counted) wooden sun-loungers situated around the pool but they are always taken. The bathrooms are a bit awkward as the "shower" is simply hanging off a wall between the sink and the toilet.

Although it is true that the hotel has a nice view, and the staff are nice enough, this hotel certainly is not worth $65 Canadian/night. The only real positives about this hotel are that it offers free wi-fi in the lobby, and it has a nice ocean view. However, the nice view comes with a downside... The hotel is situated on a hill-side and as such you must pull your luggage along very steep hills to get to/from the main road.

You should also be warned that room request types are obviously not a guarantee at this hotel... We had requested 2 single beds and instead ended up with 1 king (not an ideal situation when you're traveling with your dad). I asked if there was a cot available which the hotel agreed to supply free of charge.

Overall this hotel was a disappointment. By no means did I go in with high expectations. I knew that the rooms would not be that nice for 65 dollars a night. But the issue was not the room. The issues were the lack of beach chairs, lack of clean towels, and lack of safe in the room. This hotel is not worth $65/night.

I recommend staying around the corner at haad Yao beach. The water/beach there is much nicer than the beach at haad son, and there appeared to be many hotels to choose from. I will not be returning to haad son and I do not recommend staying there. Of all of the hotels I stayed in throughout Asia, this one was my least favourite.

Room Tip: Book a room at a different hotel!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAsia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Really nice place to stay. It seems all of the rooms are in a good location with most having ocean and beach views. There is a great spot "hammock island" on the water where you can relax, jump off a ledge into the ocean and do some good snorkeling. There are 2 restaurants (same menu), both with great vibes and decent food (you can find better with a short walk though). This was the first shower on Koh Phangan that had both good pressure and got warm. It is about a 5-10 min walk to Haad Yao beach which is amazing for swimming and checking out restaurants. There is also a 7-11 there for snacks/water. The beds in the "hotel" room we had were the most comfortable and soft we've had in Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caymantiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed here several times, and will return again. I would really reccomend that you stay in the very nice hotel room's, as the "villas" have become worn down and need updating. I stayed in them one night and found many mosqutoes entering the room through the cracks in the door. The food and staff were excellent, and the beach bar had great views. The free pickup at the pier when you arrive is a great bonus.

Room Tip: Make sure to book the hotel room's not the standard villas.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boatingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews