We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haad Son Resort & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Resort, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Really nice place to stay. It seems all of the rooms are in a good location with most having ocean and beach views. There is a great spot "hammock island" on the water where you can relax, jump off a ledge into the ocean and do some good snorkeling. There are 2 restaurants (same menu), both with great vibes and decent food (you can find better with a short walk though). This was the first shower on Koh Phangan that had both good pressure and got warm. It is about a 5-10 min walk to Haad Yao beach which is amazing for swimming and checking out restaurants. There is also a 7-11 there for snacks/water. The beds in the "hotel" room we had were the most comfortable and soft we've had in Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caymantiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    71
    31
    18
    19
See reviews for
33
105
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed here several times, and will return again. I would really reccomend that you stay in the very nice hotel room's, as the "villas" have become worn down and need updating. I stayed in them one night and found many mosqutoes entering the room through the cracks in the door. The food and staff were excellent, and the beach bar had great views. The free pickup at the pier when you arrive is a great bonus.

Room Tip: Make sure to book the hotel room's not the standard villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boatingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fornebu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This resort lies on the more quiet side of Koh Phangan, but also where the most beautiful beaches are. The resort itself is very nice, and the beachfront bungalovs (which I had) had a perfect location. It was very clean when I came but unfortunately they dont clean your room. During my 7 nights, they cleaned it only twice, which is no good as you bring sand and dirt into your bed. The people in the reception was not very friendly and helpful when i asked for cleaning. They also say that taxi from the harbour is included in the price, but that is wrong. They charge you 300 baht for both ways.

But nontheless, the place is very nice and the beachbar and restaurant is worth a visit. The food there was very good, and the staff was fantastic. They really saved the whole impression of the hotel and our stay.

Room Tip: Pick a beachfront villa, this is definetly the most recomended...BUT tell the staff that you expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ST1980Fornebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful location - private beach - lovely rooms. 30 min taxi ride from Haad Rin. Very helpful staff and nice breakfast. Great cocktail bar on beach. great for Young and old! Recommend 100%!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in this resort for a few days late October this year and we loved it! Location is brilliant, there`s access to small but pleasant beach. Resort has lovely restaurant and bar located by the beach. Food is brilliant, resort service very good and staff very friendly! Its place You wanna go back to!

Room Tip: We satyed in hotel rooms, not bungalows as seems to be nicer at this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Magdalena84354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

location - depends on ur preference. if ur visiting koh phangan to relax & chill, its really-really good hotel. but if ur visiting to koh phangan for the full moon festival, its quite far. (30-40 minutes away). really dangerous road to drive there with the rent motobike after partying at the full moon festival. trust me. dont. seriously. just dont. pay the truck whatever they charge after the party.

room - above average for the price u pay.

cleanliness - OK. u get for the price u pay

view - amazing. crazy. beautiful. but u need to walk for 5 minutes depending on the location of ur room.

restaurant - a bit expensive. but taste better than all restaurant in koh phangan. (most restaurant provide same food menu & all restaurant charge the same price)

service - really good. but this is normal in thailand. they're naturally friendly.

Room Tip: the best view is located on top of the hill. but.. is quite far from the beach. 10 minutes walk. if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mr_Toke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights in Sept and had a wonderful time. Fantastic value for the money. Lovely Secret beach cleaned every day, great local food, snorkelling round the rocks by the restaurant on the beach. The pool by the main restaurant was always clean but seemed to have a lot of chemicals in it that made our eyes sting. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, if we ever go back to Thailand I would definitely stay there again. A big thank you to the Jummy, Ang, Min, Nuna, the staff who's names I remember made our stay memorable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell--Tina321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Beach Bungalows
Secret Beach Bungalows
#35 of 129 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
See Through Resort Haad Yao
See Through Resort Haad Yao
#49 of 129 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#15 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#66 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#72 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haad Son Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Son Resort & Restaurant

Property: Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Address: 85 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Son Resort & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Haad Son Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Son Resort And Restaurant
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing