We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treasure on a Treasure Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
“Treasure on a Treasure Island”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife & I came here for 3 days & ending up spending 11!!!! The place was wonderful!!! Sooooo friendly & relaxed!!! The staff were really helpful, particularly Jum (the receptionist), Siee (waiter) & Ratti & Sin (the wonderful Masseurs). The beach was the best in Thailand & was almost completely empty most of the time and, when most of our fellow guests went to a Full Moon Party, we had the resort & beach pratically to ourselves!!!!

The food was good quality & the black rice pudding amazing!!

Everybody there made sure that our stay was the chilled out dream holiday my wife & I had longed for durring the long days & nights of Excel sponsored Wedding planning & we came back fully recharged, rejuvinated & relaxed!! We miss the staff & the place soooooooo much!!!!

Room Tip: The longer you stay the more you can haggle yourself a bargain rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simsargreenfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    72
    33
    18
    19
See reviews for
33
106
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This place is a complete value for money experience. We went during end of October, beginning November (low season time) and got an amazing deal. we stayed at the beach-front room which had an amazing ocean view. the room was huge with all the amenities you expect to find in a 5 star hotel, the mattress was very comfortable. the only thing that gave a little problem was the shower. the most beautiful part of this property was of course the beach bar. its right on the ocean and during evening they put these pretty little lights on all the trees, and with waves crashing on the rocks, the ambiance is nothing less than magical! the staff are friendly, though the service is a bit slow. food is quite good, although expensive. overall an amazing place!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shagun_sab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2011

beautiful design, nice staff, close to the beach, isolated location - so bring many books with you. Complained about some lights not working at 8 in the evening and it was fixed immediately.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dar n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The most beautiful place in kho phangan where make I have the best vacation. I was spending the time for find the best thing when I was koh phangan.
Those is private beach, peaceful. And the best important, I feel safe.
Thank you to Khun Bum for delicious food and a good information of staff there.
I realy like your resterant. I feel relax too much for sound waves, sea breezes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I was concern about some of the bad reviews that I read before hand, but what a surprise! The best place I've been so far in Thailand! I will definitely go back there one day. Lovely staff, everyone spoke english. There is a private beach and a lovely restaurant right next to the water, with a fantastic pier to relax. I stayed at the bungalows andwe could see the ocean from our room. No TV in the room, but who cares when you have way better other things to do in Thailand other than stay at the hotel room.... The pool area is really nice too. The best hotel I've been so far!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Absolutely lovely resort, location is wonderful right on the beach and near to local bars and restaurants! We stayed here during the full moon and had no problems, are rooms were waiting for our arrival which were clean and welcoming. We had two bungalows high up on the side of the hill with wonderful views over the beach and sea, sunset was amazing to watch! Taxi's to haadrin beach were really cheap, we flagged them down from the main road, and they cost us 150 baht each, absolute bargain for the 35 minute drive over. The staff at the resort work extremely hard, we noticed the same staff were working from 7 in the morning until late at night, doing all the hotel duties! Breakfast is disappointing, we arrived at 9.30am (breakfast finishes at 10am) to find nothing left, we had to wait another 15 minutes for any extra food to brought down. Breakfast is extremely busy, there are very few tables left and the staff are rushed off their feet trying to produce more breakfast for visitors! It made me seriously consider where the 25 pound a night i had paid was actually going to, definitely not to the staff!!! Maybe the hotel company should employ some more staff rather than pocketing huge profits! Give the thai workers a break, they work extremely hard every day holding the hotel together!!!!!!! Nevertheless great hotel, great pool and wonderful views! Would definitely return and tip the hard workers!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Well, first of all we couldn't care less about Full Moon, Half Moon and whatever parties that seem to attract teens and ravers like flies. In fact we spent the Full Moon evening in a very nice cool restaurant called Panee's, right at the opposite side of the island in Chaloklum (tiger prawns and panang curry recommended!). And believe me, we love to party but anyway I guess we aren't exactly the same kind of travelers as those who demolished Haad Son here in the most brutal fashion. The staff was generally nice and efficient, although a bit unconcerned - but I tend to prefer that over the obsequious, knee-crooking kind. As for the place itself, it's a beautiful resort that has a white sand beach as well as a stone platform on the waterfront, with plastic beach chairs and hammocks, that offers access to reasonably deep water - unlike the low tides at most sand beaches in this season.

Haad Son resort is quite isolated compared to the rows of resorts seen pretty much anywhere else in the area. For your stay you can either pick huts on the beachfront and in the tropical gardens, or more comfortable hotel-type rooms which - and that would be my main criticism - are located in a "bunker" type of building. The terraces in the top floor don't offer a proper view to the sea, that's a shame. This grey concrete building doesn't look good and doesn't really fit, next to the wooden huts and bungalows. One last criticism: is (crap) house music really necessary at all time of the day, at the beach bar? I'm sure the staff itself must be fed up with it. Otherwise, we recommend Haad Son resort and we'd certainly return.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ollie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
523 reviews
0.3 mi away
See Through Resort Haad Yao
See Through Resort Haad Yao
#47 of 130 in Ko Pha Ngan
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#12 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Secret Beach Bungalows
Secret Beach Bungalows
#35 of 130 in Ko Pha Ngan
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#72 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
527 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#65 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haad Son Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Son Resort & Restaurant

Property: Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
Address: 85 Moo 8, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 355 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Son Resort & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haad Son Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Son Resort And Restaurant
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing