We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Stay”
Review of Sunrise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunrise Resort
Ranked #47 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel was absolutely terrible. Stay here at your peril! We were ripped off and it was a disgusting experience. For anyone who stays here make sure u complain about any problems you have with the rom or it will come back to bite you! I noticed there were ink or paint stains on the single sheet on my bed but I didn't bother complaining as we were only there for one night. When it came to checking out I was accused of making the stain and we lost our 1000 baht deposit ($30). I was disgusted and spoke to the manager but he did nothing to help ( not sure if he even wasq the manager!) It was not just me who had a rip off experience. I spoke to a guy there who was told he owed 400 baht for the minibar when he never even took a thing! Apart from that hated the whole vibe of the place. The room felt run down. Minibar not plugged in. The door was awkward to lock and balcony door proved a mission to open as well as there being no obvious way to switch off the fan. Also extremely noisy at night as very close to cactus bar on the beach which plays pumping music until 6-7am.The staff were abnoxious unfriendly and very officious. All in all ruined my last day in Koh Phangan

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dylan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

Location is probably the most attractive thing about this hotel. It is literally right on the beach where full moon parties happen and you can easily walk about Haad Rin. The pool came in very handy as the water at the beach had lots of stingers which made it difficult to swim for very long. The rooms are clean and quite spacious and include a safe. We stayed there for the Half Moon party, so the island was a little less busy than a full moon party, but the music from the beach still blasts through the night. We managed to drown out the beats with our air con to get a semi decent sleep- this was probably the only down part of this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kailyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is right in the center of Had Rin. Perfect location for the full moon party. It is fairly noisy though so it is not the place to go if you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday. The hotel has a nice pool but you will not get a deck chair if you are not up really early. Also the music at the pool blares all day long.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunloverfromcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This resort is right on the beach and is the most convenient place to stay for the full moon party. I stayed in a suite right on the beach. The room was modern with a balcony and ocean view. The one thing you should know is that if want to sleep you should not stay here during the full moon party. The music blasts until the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmb5337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

So - no messing about - this hotel is all about having the perfect location for full moon party. Just off the Haad Rin beach - you are 2 seconds from all the party beach action.
Unfortunately - even if you want to take a night off.... and that would be the main drawback of this place. Turns out banging beats are not conducive to a great nights sleep.
However, rooms are a good size (there were 4 of us in one big room).
THe pool is great with a wet bar. (although not much shade).
Rooms were tidied every day - but not cleaned, and on check in you have to leave a deposit in case you get paint on the towels and bedding... On check out, thorough checks are made - and small things are mentioned including mascara on towels...
We spent a long time in the pool and the chlorine seems to have left a yellow tinge across all swimwear...
BUT - staff are friendly and location is great. Let's face it, if you book this hotel it really should be all about the beach parties anyway...
(Oh and included breakfast - nothing to write home about - but o.k.)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exploring84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

SUNRISE RESORT.Is a good value hotel right on the beach,with senior+junior pools complimented by a bar.Reception and rooms are pretty basic but adequate.The cost of 1000 bts,per nt(sgl,dbl,or twin) was by far the best value around.There is also a multitude of restaurants/shops nearby.The staff were friendly and helpful.WIFI WAS EXPENSIVE@ 300BTS FOR 24 HRS.I would stay here again

Room Tip: No restaurant.@ great value@500 bts per person sharing twin.Wifi 1/3 rd of that price per nt!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We booked 3 rooms and stayed 5 night at this resort for the NYE full moon party. Staff were really friendly and the rooms were very presentable, the resort has a nice pool which is good to relax in as everyone pee's in the ocean at night when partying. The resort was booked full of Australians as well.

We expected little sleep at night as the resort is right in front of the party beach, but we didn't hear much music from the beach, this is not the case if you have a room right in front of the beach. The breakfast provided is really bad, so I suggest going elsewhere.

If you book for the NYE time they charge you an extra 3,000 baht (A$100) for a gala dinner and concert, something to keep in mind as it's compulsory.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob5623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#28 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#29 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#13 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tommy Resort
Tommy Resort
#27 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#31 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort

Address: 136 Moo 6 | Haad Rin Beach, Koh Phangan, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $24 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Resort is conveniently located within 50 meters from Haad Rin, a beach famously known for the Full Moon Party. The resort offers non-smoking modern rooms with air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Equipped with an outdoor pool, the property provides free private parking. The resort is a 5-minute drive to Phangan Pier. Koh Tao and Koh Nang Yuan can be reached within 1 hr. Rooms are furnished with stylish decor and each room at Sunrise Resort comes with a safety deposit box and a minibar. Free toiletries and shower facilities are included in an en suite bathroom. The resort has a 24-hour front desk where staff can assist guests with laundry services and luggage storage. A chargeable shuttle service can be arranged upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing