We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely over-rated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harmony Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harmony Beach Resort
Ranked #57 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Completely over-rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

The first night we arrived, our room hadn't been booked by 24/7siam.com so the resort owner Dave gave us a drink and got us a bungalow next door, which had ants running all over them. We weren't given any sort of refund, even though "Nok's Bungalows" was even more basic that Harmony Beach.

When we did get to stay in Harmony Beach it seemed luxury compared to the previous night's accommodation BUT we soon became disappointed. Our towels and bed weren't changed at all during our 5 night stay. The room wasn't cleaned and the toilet roll wasn't replenished, meaning we had to go out and buy our own. Considering that the toilet was flushed with a shower fitting and a sign advised not to put paper down the toilet, I thought at least the bins would be emptied daily! How wrong I was!

The walls are very thin, you can hear people's voices in the room next door. The resort is quite far away from Haad Rin, a hilly taxi ride away, unless you want a long walk. And its a very steep hill to get down to the resort. The beach on which the bungalows sit is nothing special to look at and the water is very shallow. I know accommodation can be basic in Thailand, however, Harmony Beach is not the cheapest place to stay! After exploring further along the coast, we found bungalows and huts which looked much cleaner and well maintained. They were also cheaper!

Also, unless you enjoy getting stoned and listening to dance music I don't think the restaurant is a particularly great place to hang around. The food was good though, the one time we ate there, we really enjoyed it. We saw a couple of nice sunsets there too but apart from that, I have no idea what everyone else is raving about. I booked this acommodation based on the previous reviews and I really wish I'd stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
discorocks, manager at Harmony Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
It brought great sorrow to see someone could have such an unsatisfying time with us. I have deep sympathy for customers that don't enjoy there time here.
i think there first night having to stay next door was a poor start and one which we must strive not to happen again. On check in customers are shown a customer info page explaining the way some of the things work here, room cleaning being one of them. we would naturally clean the rooms every 3rd day and more if the customers request it.Toilet paper is available for free in reception.With the confusion I'm assuming we never showed them the info page.
We are a budget resort which is mainly due to the quality of the rooms. we do not have flushing loos in every room and customers do infact have to use a bucket to flush.Some of the rooms do have noise issues with the next room and we do our best to keep people separated whenever possible.
The sea being shallow at certain times of year is a problem as it is for over half the island(anywhere on the sunset side) .
The restaurant has an eclectic range of music for customers to choose from inc world chillout to chilled house, no trance!
The fact we are not so close to Had Rin is a delight for us.
lastly i am so sorry people might find me/us unapproachable to request a room service, I try to be as helpful and friendly to the guests as I can. Although there is no excuse not to service customers rooms and I am deeply sorry for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
20
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

Myself and my now husband Mick returned to Harmony in January 2010 for our third visit. Once we had decided on Asia for our honeymoon there was no question of not going to visit Koh Phangan, staying in Harmony and hanging out with Dave (owner). We first visited Koh Phangan in 2004 and a rep. for Harmony gave us the details on the boat trip across from Surat Thani. We took a boat to the resort and what can I say we loved it, so much so that we ended up staying for six weeks (possibly driving Dave nuts in the process by continuously telling him when we were leaving only to change our minds and then having to ask him to change our boat tickets).

Only 5 or so minutes from Haad Rinn or Thong Sala piers the small rock bound beach where Harmony is situated is truly an island paradise. The resort is right on the beach and access is either via a track from the main road or via water taxi. Harmony resort has a very relaxed and laid back feel. The restaurant doubles as the resort hang out where the atmosphere and food are both excellent. The staff are always on hand, Dave is an excellent guy making guests feel right at home and he is more than happy to assist with booking tours, flights, boat tickets, diving(cheers Dave!!) etc.

Accommodation is in the budget category with a range of rooms - fan, air con with hot water etc. All the rooms are clean, a decent size and have comfy beds one thing to bear in mind is the walls between adjoining bungalows are very thin! I know Dave is keen to upgrade the accommodation which would be excellent and I most certainly wouldn’t mind paying extra. A slight annoyance is the fact that the pool is out of order (with it and it surrounds feeling like they are close to being reclaimed but the jungle) which is a real shame as having the pool in working order would be a great addition to the resort. If you are looking for a completely chilled out holiday then Harmony is the perfect place to stay.

Linda & Mick

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

We planned on staying for 2 nights and stayed for 5. Would have stayed longer but had more of Thailand to see.

Plus points:

* very chilled out, relaxing and friendly atmosphere
* private beach
* excellent food both Thai and western with an extensive menu
* friendly and helpful staff

The rooms are a little tired but there are plans afoot to upgrade them. Didn't really matter as the bar/restaurant area was so nice that you spend little time in your room. The swimming pool refurb had no impact as it's tucked away and you are right on the beach.

Dave, the owner, and his meanagerie of rescued cats and dogs, is very helpful. We were sad to miss one of his legendary Sunday roasts.

We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun2009_Sun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

well where to start,
first things first i stayed in a few places in thailand quite a lot actually the cliff view koh tao, blue wind koh tao, hillside in kopangan some holiday inns in koh samui and then some other bungalows in all the above mentioned islands and i must say the best place that i stayed in was the harmony beach resort in kopangan not only was the place right on the beach which was absolutely gorgeous to wake up every morning adn walk 1 metre from your porch into the sea, but the service there was absolutely amazing far better than any other i had seen up until i got there, basically it is also not just the place that makes your holiday it is also the people when i got there i was greeted by the owner a very friendly and welcoming guy straight away i felt at home we sat down go ta bite to eat and again the food there was probably the best food i have had in thailand western and thai. the staff there are very very polite welcoming and pleasent to be around they really take an interest in helping people and try to make your stay as pleasent as possible which is great you honestly do get a great warm homey feel there they have bbq's with an all you can eat buffet beautiful views all around a bar on the beach regular poker nights which everyone who wants is included in and again the owner himself was very pleasent i actually went travelling with my friends and started in kopangan and once i had stayed at this resort i ended up going to ko tao then straight back to kopangan with a girl i had met stayed there for another few days then back to ko tao then to koh samui and then back to kopangan for valentines day adn all in all i must say this was the best place and i had so much fun there it is a very relaxed and chilled out place you have there aswell lots of people from all over the world to meet who stay at this resort but at the same time that it is busy i always had peace and quiet there all in all i would have to give this place 1 million out of 10 and again it was not just the accomadation with gorgeous rooms and four posted massive beds it was also the owner and his girl friend who made it possible for me to enjoy my stay there again they are quality people and after having ssuch fun in thailand i know exactly where i am going back to in a few months i hope anyone that goes to thailand/ koh pangan will take my advice and stay there and i am sure like myself you will fall in love with the place and the people.
and p.s. if you have a wife girlfriend or travelling partner (female obviously) it is an amazing place to take them also a very romantic place the whole setting. oh yeah just another thing the place is not right in town which is nice as you can get a great nights sleep with no loud music blaring but is only a 5 minute drive from the main night life in 2 directions to haad rin or to tongsala you can just rent a scooter or an atv to get there and there is parking at the resort

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKLAD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

Harmony beach resort came up as potential accomodation for our stay in koh phangnan among a list of others. Having arrived on the boat from Suratthani we were handed a card at Thong sala for "Harmony Beach resort", The pair of us were pretty over it and it was only through dogged persistance that we ended up stumbling into the cool oasis of calm that is the restaurant at Harmony Beach - Set up with a mixture of eastern charm and western comforts we knew we had hit GOLD. Dave, Harmony's kingpin looked after us with the help of his partner Kwon and their staff so well that we stayed put for three weeks enjoying the food, tunes and countless other travellers passing through. The place seems to attract a great croud and we have stayed in touch with a lot of the crew we were hanging out with - hello to the germans Ralph, micheal and mel, Alex, Matt and friends and Ranko and friends.
As a total bonus we were staying over xmas day and having enjoyed the menu for a couple of weeks at Harmony we knew we were in for a treat - King Prawns the size of your fist, BBQ'd fresh fish, crispy clamari - I could go on, check it out for youself its too good to miss........

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milometro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

My husband and I have been to Koh Phangan a few times before and had never heard about Harmony. Lucky for us we found it mentioned in one of the guide books and thought we'd give it a go. Best decision of our entire trip.
We planned to stay for a few nights around the 6th of December and ended up staying until the 27th!! You couldn't get us off the beach - pure bliss, the staff, food, beach, position were perfect and the new beach bar that was installed around Xmas was a wonderful addition.
We stayed in one of the fan rooms just next to the main bar, it was beautifully presented, with the most amazing 4 post bed and possibly the most comfortable mattresses in Thailand. With it's chilled out atmosphere we made so many amazing friends from all over the word (shout out the the germans, brits, russians, aussies of Xmas 09)
On Xmas Day our wonderful host Dave and fab staff produced the most amazing all you can eat buffet of King Prawns, curries, salads, noodles, springrolls - divine!! I couldn't recommend a more amazing place to stay, great value for money, fab variety of food and wish Dave and the crew ever future success. We'll be back real soon. Give Ambermoo, Golly, Willy and all the crazy dogs a hug from us. big love H & Mxx

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handmadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

We were ment to be here for three days and then move on, however we couldn't make our selves leave and ending up staying on for two weeks.
Harmony is a fantastic place to get away from it all... you have private beaches, a great chilled out restaurant with free WiFi which you can kick back in for hours and the best team of Staff we have come across on our two months in Thailand.
The place is spread out so you dont feel like you are in each others pockets....we stayed in a fan room for 500 Baht a night ...Clean comfy beds and a decent size room... only down side the walls are a bit thin however it wasnt really an issue and there are heaps of other room options for a little more cash.
We would defintly highly recomend Harmony as a great place to stay and really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluearmy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#10 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
0.0 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#43 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#42 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#18 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Beach Resort

Property: Harmony Beach Resort
Address: Ao Hin-Lor | Suratthani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Harmony Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing