We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Stay for Full Moon Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarikantang Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay for Full Moon Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We came especially for the full moon party and stayed for 4 nights. You know the hotel has to be great if it rains for 4 days but you still had a great time!

We had a deluxe pool access room, which I think is the best apart from the beach front rooms. The rooms were very clean and modern. The bathrooms were very plain and seemed a bit dirty due to the stained blinds, but it was ok. The beds are super comfortable, like sleeping on a marchmellow. But be careful when requesting an extra beds and those are extemely hard and uncomfortable.

The hotel is close enough to walk to Haad Rin but they also offer a free transfer at certain times. The reviewers are right about the bad road up to the hotel (bare in mind that this is not the hotels fault) - but we found a short cut walking on the new road to Cocohut and walk through Cocohut to the beach, where you can then get to the hotel from a 1min walk on the beach. Problem solved!

The beach is great but unfortunately due to all the rain, it was very murky. The breakfast was good, basic selection but good enough. The food at the restuarant is really good, the Thai food was very reasonably priced but the Western food seemed quite pricey (at least for a South African)

The hotel has a compulsory full moon dinner (quite expensive 500THB) but it was really great. The buffet was really good and I am not a fan of buffets usually. There was a DJ and it was great to have everyone together in their full moon gear before the party!

If you want to stay out of the madness of Haad Rin but not too far, I would definitely recommend here. The hotel is quite and romantic so it would be great for couples.

Room Tip: Pool access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimmyB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    199
    50
    20
    16
See reviews for
63
245
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We choose that hotel as it seemed clean and very decent compare to other hotels on Koh Phangan. It is also close enough to the main beach where the full moon party takes place but still is a good 5 min walk up the hill so no noise from the beach parties up that way.. very quiet and relaxing! Staff was nice, the food was cheap and very good. I would definitely stay there again if I was to holiday in Koh Phanagn HOWEVER we did have to book 5 nights in order to stay the week of the full moon party which in itself is not a great deal... In the future, if I was to go again to the full moon party I would get a speed boat from Samui.. but great hotel all together.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwane2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Sarikantang for 4 nights (12-16/11/2012) at the deluxe pool access rooms.
Pros:
- The hotel is quite close to the main Haad-Rin beach (5 mintes walk) although the walk is a small climb on an unpaved road which could also get muddy if it rained in the last days - also note that most of the taxis would only take you to the entrance of this small road - the rest you'll have to take the hotel's taxi or go by foot.(~200 meters)
- The food is quite good and not expensive.
- The deluxe pool access room are relatively new so they are quite modernly designed.
- The beach is nice and relaxing
- The price is fair.

Cons:
- Compared to other hotels we stayed in in Thailand, this hotel's service is not as good. We also didn't like the fact that they charge you on the whole stay right on the checkin and also add 1% credit charge to the original amount.
- Ants are constant members of the room.
- Since the pool is shared between all the guests of the pool-access rooms you need to choose between staying in the dark with the curtains closed or opening the curtains and have no privacy what so ever.
- We also once left our key by mistake with a friend and at 02:00am when we asked the if the front desk representative could open the door for us so we won't be left outside he acted as if he doesn't know english and said he has no key to open our room (sounds reasonable? not to me)
- Although the Spa of the hotel is not expensive I'd recommend to do your messages elsewhere. I got a Thai message over there which was one of the worst messages I've ever got.

Bottom line - these hotel might be good enough for travelers who wish to upgrade their usual stay at guest houses, but for people who want good hotel with clean rooms and warm staff should look elsewhere.(I believe the Cocohut hotel which is right next to this hotel is a better option which I cover in a separate review)

Room Tip: Use either the pool-access rooms or beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful resort for 4 days, and it was money well spent. Beautiful Island,beautiful beach and really nice rooms!we had the delux room i think,with the pool just outside our terasse!swim in,swim out!service was good,the food at the restaurant was fantastic!we didnt explore the island that much,wasnt much too see and we had all we needed at the resort! So if youre after a few days of relaxation in bautiful conditions,this is totally the place for you!I highly recommend this resort:)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maelandvibz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here Oct 2012 for 3nights and would have stayed longer if we had not already paid for accomdation on the other islands.We were upgraded from standard bungalow to a deluxe which had all we wanted, safe, coffee making, balcony with hammock, great views,clean and well serviced. Good showers hot/cold.Aircon worked well. In all could not find a fault with this bungalow.The beach which is classed as private was beautiful and peacefull with plently of sunbeds scattered around.The restuarant is almost right on the beach with nice views. Breakfast was well served with plenty of choice. The meals were good valve and the price of a bottle of beer was the same as in the nearby town, so if you didnt want to leave the hotel it would not be worth the walk into town.The staff were very good and offered a good service.They arranged our transfer to boat for our next destination. We would definity stay here again if we came back to Koh phangan

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hullbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It is not long ago when Koh Panagan was a cheap destination with great beaches and wild nightlife (if you consider Haadrin beach). this has probably changed for the most part. New real estate constructions, bad infra structure, stink from sewer, and bad food. even the famous Mamas Chicken does not quite taste the same.
But i thought at least the room at Sarikantang (which cost us 2400 Bht + not cheap for this island) will be appropriate. it was not. horrible shower, hard bed, no mousqito net, and bugs all over.
you better off paying bit extra and have a wonderful room at the adjacent resort.
but its not only the room which ruin it for us - the access road to the hotel is pure mud road. some taxi refuse getting there. walking to town is a pain too.
I imagine that some other room were better, which is why we gave it 3 stars and not one!.
The beach itself is nice, bring memories of old times where we were young and naive, like this island was once. Not anymore.

Room Tip: take the villa at the front of the hotel. worth it, if you can pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahirschb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

After a long day of work, this place is exactly what you need for a real vacation. The room is cozy with great view of well-decorated landscape. The beach is clean and serene.

My favorite part is the restaurant by the beach where you will have complimetary breakfast of your choice and fresh seafood anytime. The dogs here are so friendly too making me feel like home.

Phangan island is famous for full moon party but this place is recommended for family and couples. Not far from the party place but still have a space for peaceful privacy.

Cant wait going back there again for my next days off.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeneVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
3.8 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#2 of 92 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buri Beach Resort
Buri Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
0.8 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
0.5 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#14 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarikantang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarikantang Resort & Spa

Property: Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Address: Moo 3 129 6, Seekantang Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarikantang Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarikantang Reosort & Spa, a casual small beach resort in Haad Rin, Koh Phangan, located just 5 minutes walk in to Haad Rin city and the full moon party. The great place with best combination of relaxing beach life and exciting night party in Koh Phangan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sarikantang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarikantang Hotel Koh Phangan
Sarikantang Resort And Spa
Sarikantang Ko Phangan
Sarikantang Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing