We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started great....finished bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived at Sarikantang in pretty bad weather, but the location...right on the beach, lifted our moods right away. The beach is one of the best I've seen in Thailand! Location is great - only 10 minutes walk over a small hill and then we were at Had Rin.
We went to the Full Moon party, and that's when the issues related to the resort started. The resort encorage you to ensure you have 'special' sheets to cover bed linen if you cover yourself with floresent paint - which we did. And we had a shower when we came back from the full moon party, so we were 100% sure that we didn't cover any of our bed linen in paint. In spite of this, they still wanted to charge us for towels, pillow covers, sheets, etc. on the day of departure - even insisted that the housekeeping had found paint on one of the pillows days before we even bought the paint. This was a big let down on an otherwise brilliant stay at the Sarikantang, as we felt they wanted to squeeze a few more Bahts out of us before leaving. We were in a hurry to catch the ferry back to Koh Samui, just ended up giving in.
The day before we had noticed a row between reception staff and a British couple - again over some of the charges related to stained bed linen from the full moon party.
So some advice if you do go during the full moon period. Make sure you check your bed linen if you are using floresent paint, before and after, so you don't end up being charged for something you didn't do!

Room Tip: All bungalows seem to be in great locations. We had a bungalow on the hill, with the hammock on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGreatDane13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 674 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and were slightly underwhelmed. Lonely Planet had described the place as 'heaven'. Although the beach and spa were definitely 'heavenly' (remote, clean and beautiful), the rooms were a bit boring and lacked character.

We stayed in a basic bungalow. It was clean and contained everything that you needed (well stocked mini-bar, clean towels, lovely beach bag, and smellies). However, it was not in a great location (up a steep hill) and because their was no view, the balcony was a bit pointless.

Overall, it is a well kept resort- I would definitely recommend it for families, but it is not quite romantic enough if you are staying as a couple.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems- don't choose a standard bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemmagrdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in August.

Originally booked a standard bungalow but that was horrific so paid to get moved to the pool side room instead.

Rooms on this side are new and much nicer. Pool is very very cold though.

Food and service in the restuarant is very good and the staff are nice and friendly also

The hotel is a lot closer to the center of the village than you think , it really is only a short walk and its almost quicker to walk then go by van because the road is so bad.

The hotel and whole island is full of bugs, thats just the way it is in Koh Phangan. There are ants everywhere im afraid so if this is a problem then you wont like the hotel or the island.

The hotel is clean - ish but there were several stains in the room which were easy to clean and werent.

Beach is nice and pretty , lovely palm trees around

I didnt like the island mainly because it offers nothing that samui doesnt offer except for the full moon party, everything that goes on here is influence by the full moon party. There are flyers everywhere and its all people seem to go there for. If you are not into the drinking and nonsense then there isnt anything there for you .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I had to write this review to worn everyone.
If you dont like living with ants dont stay here they are everywhere!!!
Its a beautiful resort with an ok beach and a very rocky sea.
The service is average and after ten pm the entire place gets dark and theres only a security guard at reception!!
Also no phone in the room and no easy access out
Sorry but i was really dissapointed of our ants infested room.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Djunique69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in early August after being unable to get seats on a ferry to Koh Tao (book this in advance people!). Doing so changed our view of Koh Phangan for the better.

The beach it is located on isn't the best nor the cleanest on the island, but the resort itself is well kept and efficiently run. The staff were very friendly and the food is very nice and reasonably priced. The breakfast included as part of the room rate was varied and tasty.

The bungalow we were staying in, the superior deluxe, was clean, well laid out and in good condition and we thought it was worth the 2,200 baht a night.

Given the option, we would happily stay at Sarikantang again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Quiet resort with lovely small restaurant and bungalows in many different styles. Not a good idea to expect the 5 star luxury of Samui as this resort is clearly unique in offerering something different. The beach is stunning and every one seems to find their own private space in it, trees align the sand and the views are spectacular. It is true that the water tends to get a little tricky as the ground can have weeds or rocks at the bottom. This did not stop us from swimming.

Our room was a deluxe lanai with bath. The bathroom is beautiful with a very nice stone built bath and great shower. The room itself good size, nice decor and efficient with comfortable mattress. Lovely balcony with hammock.

If you are travelling with small children, it would be a good idea to request a bungalow at a ground floor. There are also nice bungalows overlooking one of the pools which gives a feeling of private access to the pool. During our stay there were many families here with young children. The atmosphere was very nice.

Haadrin centre is a 5 mins walk from the resort although we understood after 2 days that there was no reason whatsoever to leave the place.

Words of warning; the pace at this resort is on the relaxed side so it's better to expect it as you come in. Also the toilets near reception are terrible so if you are unfortunate enough to visit these upon arrival...don't worry it's uphill after that.

I found it hard to leave this place...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayeletl577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Sarikantang is an ok resort if you're in koh Phangan with friends or full moon party...we went for our honeymoon and it didn't exactly feel romantic like our resort in koh Samui did.

Our room and breakfast were fine but the overall appearance of the facility is a little run down. A little landscaping could go a long way there! The beach is just ok too. The sand is a little rough with a lot of rocks and the water wasn't too clean here.

For a honeymoon in Thailand, I would stay on koh Samui...maybe go to koh Phangan for a day trip...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
7.3 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
3.7 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Hat Rin
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,569 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Coast Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarikantang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarikantang Resort & Spa

Address: 129 / 3 Moo 6, Seekantang Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $56 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarikantang Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarikantang Reosort & Spa, a casual small beach resort in Haad Rin, Koh Phangan, located just 5 minutes walk in to Haad Rin city and the full moon party. The great place with best combination of relaxing beach life and exciting night party in Koh Phangan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarikantang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarikantang Hotel Koh Phangan
Sarikantang Resort And Spa
Sarikantang Ko Phangan
Sarikantang Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing