We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and friendly Hotel”
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Lovely Hotel with very friendly staff and great cocktails! Ideally placed for the full moon party as you are away from Haad rin, but it is easily and cheaply accessable. great pool, and right on the beach with good wifi connections and a very high level of cleanliness. Good package deals available from the resorts own website including transfers and meal / massages included.

Room Tip: we had a villa room which was fantastic. Loads of room and good toiletries! Beach towels provided an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitworther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 771 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Exactly what you need for Koh Phangan, cheap, beach front, air con, very helpful staff, reasonably priced alcohol at the bar, smallish swimming pool but beach front location means it doesn't matter. Rooms are fairly basic, but have enough for what you need. Small and cosy, funky bathroom with quite basic shower facilities, but it has hot water and a flushing loo, don't need much else.
Restaurant does really good value food, staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough. They'll even play table tennis with you in the middle of the day if your mate is rubbish...they also have a pool table.
Free transfers to and from the ferry terminal, but only one of them so make sure it's the right one, although taxi's are dirt cheap anyway. They can book the boat for you which makes it simpler.
I would definitely stay here again if it was for up to 3 nights, for what you pay, you can't ask for much more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Byron_DAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We are so happy that we could make your stay an enjoyable one and that you have wonderful lasting memories of Thailand.You generously gave us a 5 out of 5 thank you again but there is always room for improvement and hope you will one day return to an even better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ReiseTanteBea
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Our bungalow was right on the beach so it was perfect view not only from our porch but also our room windows. The room was pretty small but the bed was big. There was nowhere for us to put our suitcases nor even a cupboard to hang clothes etc so we had to leave our bags on the ground & continually step over them. The bathroom was very basic too, I'm not a fan of when the shower is not seperated as all the water gets over the basin & toilet & the ground is constantly wet. We were told wifi was only available in public areas but it worked in our room & funnily enough had better reception than the restaurant. We stayed for 3 nights & on the last night got upgraded. This was because our porch light did not work, we had no hot water & our shower head broke so we had to shower by using it like a garden hose. I wasn't expecting an upgrade so I was pleasantly surprised. The room we were upgraded to next door was much more spacious as it had a couch, wardrobe, desk, vanity, & space for our bags. If you're staying for longer than 2 nights I recommend paying extra to get a bigger room as you'll be much more comfortable. The breakfast is good & the food is reasonably priced but if you venture outside of the hotel you can find better value. After reading other reviews I instantly knew the waiter that others had wrote about. He's not that bad, he just makes the same bad jokes every time you see him, but he means well. Reception are really helpful with booking tours & transport too. Finally, bring some insect repellant, when we had dinner we were getting bitten so much!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristyrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for sending in a review.We value all comments good or bad.It really gives us insight into our guests and where we can improve our services.I am sorry for the late response but just wanted to let you know that we are sorry for the shower head and have since thoroughly reinspected all rooms and upped the maintenance procedures.Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I am now staying for 10 days at MB. It is a great place with fantastic staff and food. Great sunset and so forth. I can gladly recommend this place if it were not for the music they play constantly. The same Cd's the whole day. In and out. The people who own's it clearly puts the value of the customer in the front room, but really, I have counted one song 18 times and that is just in 3 days. Buy new music pronto please:-)
Best regards (day 1-4)

I am now coming to the end of my stay at Milky Bay. Still the great place I wrote previously. They still keep playing the same Music which is really getting on my nerves. Stay 2-3 days. That is all I can recommend. (Day 4-8)

:-)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoshikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous beach front location, perfect for watching the sunset with a nice cold beer. The staff are super friendly and polite.
Breakfast was small but tasty.
The Thai massage was great and at only 300 baht/hour very well priced.
The room was clean but basic, it lacked somewhere to hang clothes but as we only stayed for a short while this didn't bother us but would imagine for a longer stay it may be a little frustrating.

The only negative, which is beyond the scope of the hotel but I feel worthy of a mention is the loud music which can be heard from nearby parties. We were kept awake until around 4am, I'm aware it's a party island but hoped Milky Bay was a sufficient distance away that a quiet night sleep could be enjoyed.
There also happened to be a group of twenty something's who decided to jump in the pool and start screeching and making a noise around 01:30. Again not the fault of the hotel, my husband rather promptly told them to 'shut it!' And in all fairness they did quieten down.

Despite the unfortunate noisy night we would return and would recommend, but would request a room away from the pool area (or ear plugs!)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I am now staying for 10 days at MB. It is a great place with fantastic staff and food. Great sunset and so forth. I can gladly recommend this place if it were not for the music they play constantly. The same Cd's the whole day. In and out. The people who own's it clearly puts the value of the customer in the front room, but really, I have counted one song 18 times and that is just in 3 days. Buy new music pronto please:-) Best regards

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoshikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
561 reviews
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
248 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#14 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,515 reviews
3.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
5.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $19 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing