We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“most relaxing place i've stayed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Milky Bay Resort
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“most relaxing place i've stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

this place, snuggled in a bamboo forrest, is simply beautiful. kudos to the ever present owner.
i went a little hardcore and gor a villa. while having the room was nice, it may be seen as a little over kill for someone only wanting to party and explore.
the bungalo's seemed good value, despite much less floor space.
my first night was a down side, as at some point the aircon gave out, and it got so hot to the point i couldnt sleep, so i had to crash on the uncomfotable couch under the fan. no further problems beyond that. EXCEPT>>>>>> on the last day, i discovered 8000 baht had been taken from my suitcase.. yes it was my fault for leaving it open, but still, the only person beyond myself in there was the cleaning lady. not happy about that. the receptionist couldnt even get the police to come out, and i couldnt go there as i had a ferry to catch :(
getting past those sad points, this place is amazing. whether you spend your days lazing on the sand bank 50 meters out reading a book sipping a juice, or gorging yourself in the great dining area, or lounging by the (very deep) pool.
play a free game of pool, ping pong or volley ball, get a massage or just sunbake, this place is a great relaxing base, especially for going to the half moon party.
pizza's here are great, as is the fish, the nightly bbq is a great idea. they even took special orders... i got a margarita pizza, and got them to put one of the special sausages on it... OMG to die for.
eat and drink your heart out here, as we did, and charged it to the room (cringe)... but at the end of a 4 day stint, eating 3 course meals, drinking to the point of silly each night, and doing all kinds, we were pleasantly surpised at the end when we got told it all only came to a total of AUD$100.
the scooters from this place were cheap to hire, but werent the best scooters we had been on, but at least 90% reliable :)
we had a small party outside our room on a set of tables that ended up with about 10 people or so (crazy drunken japanese), and the staff even joined in... we managed to get fluro paint all over the table (i imagine its still there)... sorry to the owner!
the place is a little hard to find, but thats what makes it secluded i suppose.
all the staff had good english.
the idea of fishponds all around the villas is a great one!
all in all, a great choice, its just sad about the two let downs :(
but i will be back.

Room Tip: if its just a base, get a bungalo, but if your gonna spend time in the room, get a villa, very spacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanton-chaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    202
    69
    40
    30
See reviews for
64
329
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Ahhhhhhhhhh. Milky Bay. We are here right now. I am writing this review as I drink an icy magners, looking out over the water. We love it here, so much, that we see no need to leave the compound.

If you are looking for a comfortable place to unplug, this's it. I booked a standard double on agoda, for 77$usd per night. I don't think it gets better for that price.

We have a king sized bed, western toilet, hot water, killer aircon, and a tv/DVD player. Minibar is stocked. Towels smell good. Our villa is small, but it's private, and has the besttttttt view. Our sunsets from the deck are outstanding.

The property is cozy, but not fancy. Fancy and pristine costs a lot on koh phangan. So don't come here expecting the 4 seasons. This is a chilled out place, and is perfect if you are willing to chill out as well.

The food is sooooo good. Breakfast is included in our rate. The bruschetta is so fresh and delicious. I think it's the best I've ever had. The wood fired pizzas and seafood BBQ are perfect. You don't need to leave at all. In fact, we've been here since 3am on full moon party night. Haven't left a 20m radius!

Massage is very good and affordable. It's about 30 steps from the beach. There are also ping pong and pool tables, a comfy lounge area and a separate beach restaurant. Staff are friendly and happy. Great choice for koh phangan. We will be back.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasFlysolofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was grand and the staff and restaurant were lovely. But for us it doesn't make up for the way we were treated by the hotels motorbike rental company. We rented 2 bikes from the hotel in good faith and returned them the next day in the same condition we got them. We even had pics to prove it. The lady from the rental place though made out there were loads of scratches on the bikes and said we had to pay. We showed her the pics and said they were there when we got them, but she persisted. She said she was gonna call the manager who we hoped would have some sense but he was worse. He roared and shouted at us and then went on to say he has Buddha in his heart and he prays we die on our way home! My fiancee was in tears and i was fed up so I said I would call the police and they then backed down. This is the worst experience I have ever had with a hotel and ruined our trip. I understand that the hotel uses an outside company to rent bikes but we rented the bikes from the hotel and this all went down in reception and they just let their bike company treat us like criminals. Because of this I would not recommend the hotel even though the restaurant, rooms and most of the staff were nice!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank anilchavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

So decided to stay at milky bay resort after reading a lot of good reviews on tripadvisor . We opted to stay in a garden villa . Upon arrival there was no gardens just mulch spread everywhere and the villas were surrounded by mossy infested fish ponds . Inside the villas were average for what we paid .
We decided to check out the restaurant after hearing many good things .I ordered some mussels off the menu , they looked terrible but I ate a few of them anyway - stupid move , within a few hours I'm spewing up everywhere ...
We went back to the villa and my girlfriend got electrocuted 3 times trying to charge her phone and putting the kettle on... We complained and got upgraded to a nicer villa..
The next day my girlfriends iPhone got stolen from the restaurant , there was no one but staff around at the time .
Anyway enough complaining ( I never complain ) but if you tossing up about staying at this resort go somewhere else ...It's rubbish

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetasbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is by far the best place we stayed in Thailand!
Amazing food, awesome staff and wow what an island!!
We had an issue with our room that we couldnt fix ourselves, went to the front desk and no questions asked gave us a brand new room.
For couples and famalies alike this place is the best! And for the price there is NO BETTER deal then MILKY BAY!
Lots to do, wonderful massages (the best one I had in Thailand.... and we had at least one a day!)
and I cant say enough about the food! wood burning pizza oven, fresh fish, pancake stacks.... UNREAL!!!!
Even though it takes 24 hours to get there from where we are.... we will be going back! Such an amazing time!

Room Tip: If you dont mind a little bit of bugs then the cabins are your best bet! We loved every minute of it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunterduggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed in 2 Villas at Milky Bay. The Villas were awesome with a sitting room and huge fridge to add our own stocks. Beds were comfortable and we always had a hot shower. The Hotel is close enough to the full moon and jungle party to be convenient, but far enough to get away if you wanted to relax.The food was amazing, so much so that my friend refused to eat anywhere else. The staff are very friendly, it really has a family atmosphere. We went to the gala dinner on new years and it was worth every cent! For the full moon party they offered a drop of and a pick up service that was awesome and efficient even though it was new years. When I think the good times of my Thailand holiday, most of these memories are from Milky Bay. I will be back to have a drink with "Pocahontas" and party with the staff

Room Tip: Go for the Villas, the rooms at the beach seem nice but there is more chance of mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieTimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Incredible reasonable accommodations, from modest bungalows to beachfront family getaways, set in a lush tropical garden. Staff always friendly, the food excellent. Even reasonable motorbike rentals, if you want to tour the island. Pickup or delivery to pier is no problem and free. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.2 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#10 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Property: Milky Bay Resort
Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing