We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous resort, fantastic staff made for a great stay”
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We had a fabulous three nights at Milky Bay courtesy of their fabulous staff and fantastic facilities. The resort, located in Baan Tai, is a little further along the coast to the West of Haad Rin, where our friends were staying, however this suited us fine as we were happy to leave the chaos of the Full Moon Party and return home to the quiet serenity! We hired a scooter for a couple of days and didn't find the distance a problem, making it in to Haad Rin in 15 minutes. Taxis are also very cheap 100B per person each way. There is a collected of shops locally on the main road but it is mainly other resorts in this area.

The resort itself is stunning. It is right on the beach and has a fabulous pool and so many activities to keep my partner and I occupied, that included table tennis, pool and volleyball. The hut we stayed in was beautifully decorated, with a large bed, TV, air-con and sofa. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a superior room which was presented well with flowers on the bed and other nice touches. Our room was serviced/cleaned everyday and we had no such problems sleeping or with our blinds. The only noise came from the geckos outside, however that added to the attraction of the place!

The breakfast, included in our hotel room price, was very filling and extremely tasty. We rarely had lunch as we were still so full from our full breakfast, omlettes, pancakes or fruit and museli! One evening we had fabulous pizzas and one lunchtime we had some tasty Thai cuisine. All in all we were very happy with the service, prices and food.

We'd definitely recommend the resort. It is a great place to kick back and relax but don't be put off by its location.. I think this is really a blessing in disguise!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpen_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Milky Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 770 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2011

If it wasn't for the location it would the best place on the island. The beach is very narrow and the sand is quite unpleasant compared to other beaches. Also the neighborhood is not verry interesting - forget the romantic walks under the moonlight.
The pluses are: great resort - clean, with lots of space, lots of plants, ultra professional staff, good pool, great massages, very nice rooms.
The restaurant is very good and the cocktails are probably the best on the island (even in the Library hotel on Ko Samui the cocktails we not as good). If you get bored there is another great restaurant 10min walk.
Milky Bay also takes great care of their customers - they moved us to a better room because of a party, so we could get some sleep.
TIP: 4 people or more its best to reserve the bungalow right near the beach by the pool. It is the closest to the sea although quite expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ral9010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We booked a beach front studio at Milky Bay Resort, which is listed on their website @ 8900baht per night during the period we were there.
After being picked up at the wharf and made to wait nearly 15 minutes in the back of a pick up in the stifling heat, in case other guests arrived, which they didn't, wasn't quite the start we were after but we let that slide even though there was no cold towel or cool drinking water offered (like most resorts in a similar price range would provide)

When we arrived at the resort after a 10 minute drive, we were taken to the lower of the 2 beach front studios. The room was large but it wasn't long before we noticed that every single one of the venetian blinds were broken to the point of not functioning to provide any privacy in your own room. Other guests that were sunbathing directly outside our front door could see right through.
This of course would later become a more significant problem as light streamed through the window meaning even during the night, it almost felt like daytime due to the resorts powerful artificial lighting.

I should also add the beach front studios have an outdoor jacuzi and the downstairs one leaked all the water out each day (puddle outside our front door) and needs to be refilled every day. Not sure why this hasn't been fixed.

Joe from Milky Bay was very understanding regarding our concern re privacy and offered to move us to the upstairs studio, which we did. This provided more privacy but the blinds were in an even worse condition that that of downstairs.
Joe suggested they try and fix/change the blinds but clearly if that were possible, they would have already been replaced as I find it impossible to believe they were not aware of the condition of the window furnishings before our stay.

The room fixtures and fittings in general, could best be described as average and ageing. The bathroom layout is ill conceived and I hope you have a great relationship with whoever you are sharing the room with as they will hear, smell and see everything.

The small air conditioning unit was loud as well as being inadequate for the room size.

Fortunately as there are no other eateries nearby, the resorts own restaurant was quite good with some very tasty food even if the menu is a little limited.

The pool and beach are quite small, which is fine but there were not enough pool beds for the amount of guests and I hate stooping to the typically European, reserve your bed before you go to breakfast, rubbish.

I would choose to stay on the other side of the island next time I'm in Phangan and while the other rooms at the resort may not have had the issues our beach front studios had, I would find it hard to recommend our room type to anyone and struggle to accept the review on 23rd Feb, which was coincidently, the very same day that I complained to the resort about the poor state of the beach front rooms.

If it weren't for the terrific resort staff, I would have provided a lesser rated review of our experience at Milky Bay resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fresh_prince_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

My partner and I booked this resort from reading all the wonderful reviews people had made and it sure lived up to it's reputation. The resort itself amazing. We stayed in the studio size unit and it was absolutely beautiful. Very spacious in size. The staff there were so lovely and friendly and always greeted you with a smile. A very young bunch of people always willing to assist in anyway possible and very welcoming. The menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner outstanding. I definitely recommend the baby snapper and any seafood dishes. The cooks there are amazing. Also their watermelon fruit drink it to die for. I was addicted to the drink. They had a table tennis, sauna and massage room. Thai massage so cheap and good. They also had volleyball on the beach. The beach is also located at the front of the restaurant so it's a perfect setting at night. Overall a fantastic resort with amazaing staff and activities to match. I will definitely stay there again. I had the best holiday ever in Koh Phangan because of this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senorita79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We booked this resort because we wanted to attend the full moon party, but wanted to be far enough away so that when we wanted to sleep, our resort would be quiet. We arrived during a power outage on the island and they welcomed us with a cold drink and a cold face cloth. The staff made us feel welcomed and part of a community. The restaurant had excellent Thai and Italian food with fantastic service. The drinks were outstanding and the "community" feeling on the resort facilitated meeting other travelers and made our time even more fun. The resort arranged transportation to and from the full moon party which helped us feel safer. They also helped us arrange transportation to a Muay Thai boxing match and also an elephant ride. The massage therapists were excellent, whom we visited everyday for a Thai massage. You can charge everything to your room and pay with credit at the end, which was a welcomed convenience. The pool is clean and cool and pool side service is provided by the restaurant staff. We also took a taxi to town, but couldn't wait to return to the resort. By the end of 4 days, we didn't want to leave. When we checked out, we couldn't believe the value that we had received.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firefly207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed at the beachfront studio...easily the best rooms at the resort. We returned to Milky bay after 5 years and got a good discount from their sales person (Joe). The staff were very helpful and enthusiastic. The beach is well maintained and a couple of feet away from the rooms.

Had the best time ever :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapanraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Milky Bay was a really lovely spot on Koh Phangan. It's more of a getaway location, as it is not walking distance to other restaurants. However, the restaurant was very good - though pricey. The ambiance is great as is the pool and the view. Having the beach steps from your room was great. But get there early to reserve a beach or poolside spot - they go fast.

The staff was nice and friendly, but the front desk personnel did have some trouble with English. The restaurant staff were fantastic - outgoing and great personalities!

It's a great place to get away from the parties, but still have access to them. It's not a five star resort, but for the price and what it offered - it was an amazing deal!

One small drawback - there was no wi-fi in the rooms - you can only access it from the front desk office, and you have to pay if you don't have your own computer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CisForCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
246 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
559 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,497 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
3.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $21 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing