We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So perfect we stayed 8 nights instead of 2”
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So perfect we stayed 8 nights instead of 2”
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We had booked 2 nights at Sunset Cove with the intention of finding cheaper accommodation in the meantime and moving on after the 2 nights. We were travelling with our 3.5 yo and 8 month old boys and were a little unsure from the photos and description of the resort if it would be suitable or not, so we arrived with no expectations.

We had made the initial booking via the internet and they were aware of our arrival that evening but didn't know that we had 2 children and that we had also requested a baby cot for the room. I don't think the booking agency passed on that information as everything else was in exact order so didn't feel it had anything to do with Sunset Cove. It was no problem and we were in our room within 10 min, cot and all. They also offered to bring us food and drinks to our room as they must have known we'd been on a tough journey to get there with the kids and hadn't eaten since that morning.

The room was larger than we expected and also there was a couch/day bed which we weren't expecting, so suddenly we had a bed for our 3.5 yo rather than him sleeping in the bed with us which was a pleasant relief for the marriage! The next morning we got up and had a wander around and we were nothing but impressed. There is a great pool complete with kids pool toys which was the highlight of our son's trip and the restaurant was lovely with pretty nice food, and the coconut shakes, lets just say i couldn't stop!!! We had privacy as there didn't seem to be too many people there and the staff were soooo lovely! If we needed anything we just had to ask, complete luxury for us having our washing done! After our first 2 days there we decided that we were still unwinding and not quite ready to move on yet so we booked in for another 2 nights to give us some breathing space. It was so relaxed and easy to be there with the kids and we fell into a routine with no problem. On our 3rd day there, we thought we'd better scope out some other accommodation for the following 4 nights and we spent the whole afternoon looking at all the accommodation on the same beach as Sunset Cove and Haad Yao Beach a little further up. I think we looked at 10 to 15 places, some cheaper, some the same price and some more expensive, but none as homely and as lovely as Sunset Cove. Feeling like we'd wasted a day of our holiday not having found anywhere else we were happy with, and after another coconut shake back at the 'Cove', we decided that we were happy where we were and that it had everything we needed and the kids loved it so other than the price there was no reason to move on. My husband then graciously spoke to the Lovely manager Ben and told her we wanted to stay a further 4 nights but would she do some kind of a 'deal' for us and she offered us the room at a discount rate, that then made it affordable to stay.

I'm so glad that we made this decision and would stay there again in a heart beat. On our final night at Sunset Cove my husband and I really wanted to have dinner together with out the kids and there was also a party down the end of the beach at Pirates Bar which looked rather tempting for a boogie. I asked Ben if they offered a baby sitting service and she said that they normally don't and hadn't been asked before but that she would organise someone to stay in the room with the kids for us for 4 hours. I asked her how much and she said nothing!!!!! Of course we paid the lovely lady that did this for us as we had such a lovely time out and it was the highlight of our stay being able to have a few romantic hours on the beach together. We had a bbq on the beach at a little bar called 'Heaven' and it was so delicious and then had a great dance for 3 hours at Pirate Bar.

All in all I can safely say that this was a fantastic place to stay and Sunset Cove made our holiday fun, relaxed and easy with the Kids, which is what every parent travelling with kids wants. The beach wasn't as nice as some of the ones we saw further north, but it wasn't bad either. I found being in the pool nicer anyway as the water in the ocean was like a warm bath and I needed to cool off from the heat.

The only down side to our whole stay was the dog fights which is by no means the Resorts fault and they happen all over the island and also the bath in our room leaked all over the floor so we couldn't use that but there was an outside shower anyway so it was no problem.

Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!
See you again Sunset Cove!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breedownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    170
    47
    27
    9
See reviews for
80
357
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My partner and I stayed here last week for 3 nights and we cannot fault the place! It is not often that somewhere looks better than its web photos but this place really does.

It is set in jungle like gardens right on the beach. We stayed in the best type of accommodation, A2, right on the pool and could see beautiful sunsets over the sea from our bed.

The beach is nice but not amazing as it is quite small and gets seaweed but they keep it in good condition, much better than neighboring hotels. The pool is basically an infinity pool and the pool area is so nice that you do not really want to hit the beach but watch it from your sunbed so you do not ever think the beach is a problem, and it is still lovely with a big palm tree sweeping out to the ocean from the hotel.

The cove it is on is very peaceful and undeveloped but if you want more bars etc... you can hire their kayaks for a pound an hour and head off to the right and after 10 minutes you get to Had Yao beach which is lovely and big, seaweed free and lined with hippy reggae bars and cheap fish and thai restaurants - Reefers Bar was nice for dinner, they are all lit up with candles and you eat on the beach and listen to reggae.
The hotel are happy to drive you here for the evening and although it is a lovey place to go it is really nice returning the the tranquil Sunset cove.

Breakfast is included and is lovely, fresh fruit and yoghurt, coffee, toast, eggs and bacon, waffles etc.... very good. The food is nice, we often had tuna salad for lunch and thai curry in the evening but they do non thai food too.

It was very quiet when we went, just 3 couples but so peaceful and lovely. We spent very little, their prices are very reasonable, beer is about 1.20, coke 50p, curry from about 1.50......

The staff are lovely, the manager speaks great english and the other 3 staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, always rushing to help you, smiling all day and eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

great value... a hidden gem - do not have second thoughts - book up now!
great value, a hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jek50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2009

my wife and i (early 30's) quit our jobs, and have been travelling around the world for 9 months now, south america, africa, india, south east asia, we have tried to keep a standard of 3 to 4 stars hotel around 60 usd per night, avoiding hostels, and this place has been the best value of our trip.

the place is beautiful, well set up and only 3 years old, staff is very very friendly, we always ask for a customization of the dishes they have on the menu, so we didnt get bored of the same food, and they pleased us with everything. the pool is so nice, and close to the beach, the water there is clean and the beach is white sand and vey few other places on the same bay, so you dont get the noise of people offering stuff, or loud music or anything like that. The hotel is kids friendly, so if you dont feel comfortable, about that, thats the only thing to worry about.

we sayed for over 2 weeks, on the standard room, in order to save the extra money, for our long trip budget, but it is perfect, even though not by the beach, it is close enough, and very well kept, clean, quiet, spacious, the dvd and tv work just fine, and the bath is very comfortable.

the breakfast is just the best you can get, plenty of food, they cook it on by the moment you order, so its very nice, and includes everything you need for a full breakfast.

they have bicycles, very well mantained, you pay little money for them and can go out to eat somewhere else if you want or even go to visit different beaches, and dont have to worry about the bicycle, like other places where they hace old ones, very tough to ride.

just book it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susayomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We had eight nights here in late July and had a wonderful time. We missed out on getting a pool side bungalow but they gave us No. 6 which was behind the bungalow facing the pool, nearest to the wall and furthest from the public areas. This was after some discussion and questions as to which would suit us best. It (number 6) is the only one behind the front row which does give a good and partial sea view/sunset so we appreciated the suggestion and help that Ben gave us during our email communications.

We loved the space of the suite and the bathroom set up (the bath does take a while to fill, but we soon got organised with that issue!). The suite was a very romantic setting and design. They had offered to clean our room daily, because, like other TA's we were a little concerned about not having that.........however, in the end we did not bother and it was our decision, as they kept offering. Guests hand them the key when you want it cleaned. At the reception there are plentiful towels, paper and other items.

We appreciated the free fruit available at reception and sweets etc and also the way one was freely allowed to enter items in a book including how much time spent on the internet - the spirit of freedom, trust and generosity they created was a joy to experience and was appreciated by us. As many previous reviews have indicated, the staff are quite awesome and NOTHING was ever any trouble. At breakfast we asked if they had papaya as part of the fruit selection and they said no but would we like some and that they would provide it the next morning........after that they brought it out to us as a special order included in the breakfast. The breakfasts were very filling and it was a nice and relaxing change from the usual buffet fare.

The pool was meticulously maintained and we loved the peaceful gardens. As it happened we were pleased we did not get the pool side bungalow as we preferred the privacy and shade ours gave. ALL the staff were wonderful and were always so helpful and friendly. We loved the time to be able to indulge in a DVD and have a meal brought to us whilst we watched. They also gave us a water heater/kettle to use in our suite after we asked if we could have some hot water for our own tea. Their DVD collection was almost a library and here again they were very trusting. The gym was rather a relic and very airless and the only other issue for us was the lack of shade in the afternoon as we do not worship the sun! We took the bikes out and that was fun and free of charge!

The setting is lovely and although the sea is not the best for swimming it was a very beautiful setting and we had some great walks. We tried the Dolce Vita one night and enjoyed the setting and food. The food at Sunset Cove was good and reasonable and one night they put on a lovely candlelit anniversary dinner for us overlooking the beach. Also gave us flowers and candles in the room/bathroom and organised a cake for us. The staff try very hard to give you the very best service and try hard to understand what you want. We had an issue with dvds in that the sound was too low and we knew from a neighbour's one that it was a problem with ours. They changed the dvd player and as it was still the same then changed the television with amazing results! So if you experience that issue all you need to do is to ask (believe others have commented that the sound was not good)

An interesting point -they are one of the few establishments on the island that provide an English person to regularly teach them language and communication issues with guests - this, we believe, has been a sound investment by Management as the their level of English and desire to look after you reflects this support they have from a foreign teacher.

We would definitely stay there if we returned to the island again and can recommend it with confidence!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at Sunset cove last year for three nights and loved it that much that we decided to bring our family back this year for seven nights.
Again we were not dissapointed, the accomadation, food, service and staff were excellent just as before.
We booked two rooms C3 and C5, very clean and kept tidy and cleaned whenever we asked.
The food in the restuarant was as before excellent, we eat there for most of our meals, breakfast was a great selection, lunch and dinner both excellent.
We would not hesitate to recomend sunset cove to anyone, if you want a nice, friendly, relaxing place to chill out then Sunset cove is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gondolier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This was the first and the cheapest of 4 places* we stayed on our honeymoon and, looking back on it now, probably the one we enjoyed the most. Everything a simple Thai beach holiday should have; simple rooms, great pool, friendly staff, beautiful beaches. We had better food and stayed in more luxurious surroundings but nothing really matched Sunset Cove for charm. If there was anything to crticise the food and drinks are pretty basic. It was also rather quiet when we were there and I can imagine imagine the pool area getting pretty crowded when its full.

*we also stayed at The Waterfront, The Racha and Layana (plus the Bayan Tree in Bangkok)

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My husband and best friend stayed here at the beginning of our two month vacation in S.E. Asia (however we'd been to Thailand the summer before as well). Sunset cove was by far the best place we stayed the entire trip in regards to picturesque beach location and spot to relax. Our room was amazing and was nicely decorated upon arrival as a celebration for our honeymoon. We hung out on our patio/deck quite a few nights and enjoyed the jungle atmosphere that surrounds the bungalows. The view from the infinity pool and restaurant area is by far the best view you could wish for. The food at the resort was great (especially the breakfast which had lots of selection) but we also went to the restaurant next door quite a bit as well. There is not a lot to do in the direct area except relax but you could always take a taxi into the near town area or all the way to Haad Rin if you'd like. Sunset Cove is the perfect place if you are looking to just kick back and relax. If you are looking to party and meet people I'd recommend finding a place in Haad Rin or the nearby Haad Yuan at Big Blue resort.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandLisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
532 reviews
6.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#15 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing