We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place for food, sun and peacefulness”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful place for food, sun and peacefulness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Don't mind the negative reviews. Unless you're expecting a 5 star resort you will not be disappointed! It's true they clean the rooms every 3 days but they will clean more often if you ask for it. The AC worked well and you can only keep it on when you're in the room, but if you turn it on and sit on your deck for 5 minutes it's very pleasant. Overall a nice bit of paradise. I would definitely stay there again.

I will say that I think the sea view suite is a bit overpriced, and its location means you can be on display at the pool and hear everything going on. I stayed in a suite or deluxe cottage, can't remember which. The one thing I wasn't prepared for were the families with young children--the hotel seems quite family friendly.

It is true that the location isn't great for wandering around a "town" but that's what haad rin places are for (along with 24 hours of techno). The food at Sunset Cove is great and the food and drink prices are the most reasonable I saw in Thailand. We found the staff to be extremely pleasant as well. One last bit of advice--try to book through the hotel directly , not the consolidators that pop up during an internet search.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCglamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    166
    47
    27
    9
See reviews for
79
354
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed here with my Sister for 2 weeks in June and didn't want to leave. If you are looking for a place to relax and recharge this is the place to stay. The staff were excellent and attended to all our needs with a smile. the food was excellent, freshly cooked and prepared with care. The highlight of our time was when we were invited for a seafood dinner on the house. We were absoloutely delighted and it made our stay all the more special.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mzbebol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callian dans le Var
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

A friend told us about this place and after having spend a week in another great spot on the same island we went to this amazing resort. I had booked in advance and the contact I had with Ben, a member of the staff, was so easy and warm that our holydays started from that moment on. Everything was perfect !!! They came to pick us up when we came and accompanied us back to the boat when we left... The rooms were impeccable... The service was WOW, because they allways smile and assist you whereever they can... The beach was clean and quiet... The food was delicious... The view all around was a delight for the eyes... What can I say, it was just perfect and we spend the holyday ever ! So we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGallasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

An excellent few days' stay in May 2009. The island and Sunset Cove were very quiet and empty, so it would be difficult to imagine when busier. All those positive reviews on TripAdviser pretty much cover the ground, so there were no surprises. Overall it is a smaller and more low-key place than we had anticipated, which is good. There were more eating, massage, bar, and shop options in both directions (but mainly to the right) from the resort than most reviews give it credit for. And, yes, the beach is disappointing. Far too shallow to swim, really, even at high tide; and the snorkelling was poor/non-existent - probably in our case because some slightly stormy weather had been stirring up the sand.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Let me be very to-the-point here: some of the most enjoyable and romantic memories we have is from this place. If you look for a romantic gateway and a quiet atmosphere, this place is for you. Our room/suite was in the first row (costs a bit more but worths every cent), with a view to the pool and right above it - the beach. The room is actually a suite and consists of a sleeping room (decorated simpe and nice), a room where you can simly lie on the floor and watch DVDs, restrooms and an outside shower. There are free DVDs that you can simply take from the reception area and watch in your room.

The food is great, just great. And the staff - excellent; one evening my spouse had a severe stomach-ache and the staff were really helpful. If you need something to buy (water, snacks, rent a motor cycle), you just go outside to the street and get anythign you want.

One point, the beach it self isn't so nice - the low-tide causes the ground to be not so enjoyable. But the sunsets are spectacular and there are 2-3 places along the beach with not too many people, which is great! Highy recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JClackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed at the Sunset Cove as part of our round the world trip. It was 5 of the best days we had. We stayed in a poolside bungalow which was huge and had air con, a massive bathroom with amazing views out to the sea. There was a little lounge and a private balcony too with a TV and DVD player. There were plenty of free books, dvds and magazines to borrow and you could also use bikes and helmets to cycle to the local areas. The food in the restaurant was excellent Thai food- the pad thai was amazing! Breakfast was more than you could ever eat and delicious! We also enjoyed the fruit drinks by the pool. Free pick up from the port and travel arrangements made for us when we left and on leaving we were given a packed lunch for our journey. The staff were always helpful and the hotel was spotless. I think the only negatives of Sunset Cove were a lack of things to do in the evening- we felt that some music playing in the bar area or some sort of small entertainment would have livened up the resort but you are able to walk along the beach to other beach bars so this wasnt a major issue. The other thing was that while we were there there was a full moon party and people from the cheaper hotel next door were walking along the beach and coming and using the pool area and facilities of Sunset Cove- whether this was arranged or not we dont know but for us it did spoil the tranquility and as we had paid so much more than them we were slightly annoyed. This didnt dampen our thoughts about SC though and we would definitely recommend and return. The sunsets really are spectacular- with the perfectly placed palm tree hanging off the decking too.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWTrip2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marseille
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

We had a very great stays at the sunset cove.
Bungalows are great but outdoors bathroom during raining season are a mess : full of leaves, dirty and animals.
pool and beach are great, location is lovely and very quiet.
many things are for free : books, DVD, internet not expensive and staff is very quiet and easy.

but it was overpriced copare to other places. we had a very good negociation to cut the price.
it is far from everything and after doing the few bars and restaurants on the beach, we moved to hat rin.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibopMarseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing