We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is just sensational.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The food was delicious and reasonably priced.
It isn't right next door to the local shops but if you hire scooters everything is within less than 5 minutes.
The peace and quite is worth it.
15 mins to Thom Sala and 40 mins to Had Rin on scooters so you can easily go shopping or party if you desire.
There is lots of little bars and restaurants within walking distance along the beach if you want a bit of variety.

I will definately visit this place again.
Ideal for a relaxing break

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSuburbanCommandos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    149
    40
    24
    7
See reviews for
71
326
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was one of 5 resorts that we stayed in whilst in Thailand and was my favourite. The setting is excellent with a spectacular pool that offers some of the best sunset viewing around. The staff are helpful and friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. If you want to relax and get away from the madness of Haad Rin...this is the answer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Second stay on koh phangan and third hotel there. Without a doubt the best of the bunch. This hotel had great food at very fair prices, a location right on the beach, amazing service from all the staff and very comfortable rooms (as well as a selection of free dvds and books). Staff happily assisted our group with preparation for the full moon party (including assisting with body painting and transport). Has a pretty average fitness centre. But this isn't even an amenity we were aware of and, in realit, should be considered a bonus!

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathrooms which are somewhat outside. Might pay to avoid these as bugs can get in q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed here 6 times and love it so much! Rooms are perfect with a nice private outdoor section (we usually book at B room). Pool is stunning and food is delicious! Staff are always friendly. If you are looking for rest and relaxation this is the place, 45 minutes from the craziness of Haad Rin (which is a good thing). There are a few cute restaurants nearby but I would recommend hiring a motorbike or car to get around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gweimoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I highly recommend Sunset Cove. We stayed in a pool-side bungalow--clean, cool, comfortable. Food on site was excellent; beach was beautiful; and the sunsets were beyond amazing! Great snorkeling out beyond the rocks, about 100 yards offshore. Easy walk to more food, massages, shopping. November is said to be the rainiest month, but don't be deterred--the rain blows in, then blows out leaving gorgeous sun. Management couldn't have been nicer. We travel a lot, and this was a high point.

Room Tip: Seaview Cottages are a real bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MplsFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place to relax. Awesome kitchen, polite staff and not crowded at all! Plan was to stay 3 nights...after having a great first day we have booked 4 more nights. I would recommend Sea view bungalow as it offers great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThailandMannu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Nice location, quiet, but not isolated. Rooms are nice, staff very friendly, meals are excellent. Nice sunset views, lovely pool, Nice sunbeds. Would defenitly recommend this place! There are lots of places nearby for a drink or meal, at the beach. Shops (7/11) is also close. No tv, but dvd's, really nice. Wifi sometimes is not to good in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinenilona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#2 of 92 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#10 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
6.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing