We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #17 of 91 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Nice location, quiet, but not isolated. Rooms are nice, staff very friendly, meals are excellent. Nice sunset views, lovely pool, Nice sunbeds. Would defenitly recommend this place! There are lots of places nearby for a drink or meal, at the beach. Shops (7/11) is also close. No tv, but dvd's, really nice. Wifi sometimes is not to good in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinenilona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    146
    38
    24
    7
See reviews for
71
321
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After 14 days backpacking from north to south Thailand we were looking for a place to chill and relax a few days. Sunset Cove resort was the perfect place,
it has a great atmosphere, the view, beach and pool are awesome, the food is really nice, the bungalows fit the price. We were thinking abou staying for two nights but the Cove magic made it a easy decision and we stayed one more night.
We had great time at Cove Resort!!
P.S. Rent a motorbike, best way to travel around Koh Phagnan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filipemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here in July for 3 nights based on all the good reviews. We were in a deluxe cottage which were good value and very nice rooms. The outdoor bathroom was strange but not really a problem, other than when I got bitten by something whilst minding my own business in the shower! The pool is lovely and there weren't too many people in it, there was also a lack of shade and the beds under the trees seemed to be reserved all day (although we did later realise you could get an umberella from reception!). Unfortunately we missed the famous sunsets due to poor weather in the evenings however we enjoyed playing in the pool as it went dark. The breakfast was great and you could have all the options so could probably avoid lunch if you wanted! The service was great and there were some really friendly waiters. We had lunch there twice which was fine but there were nicer places to go for dinner along the beach. Free pickup from the ferry and very easy to organise on the way back. Nice location of Ao Chao Pao beach, certainly suited a few days relaxing by the pool. My only real problem was that this was the only one of 9 hotels we stayed in in Thailand that did not provide free bottled water in the rooms and this simple touch would have made a difference. Would highly recommend staying here if you want to go to Koh Phangan.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms were great, and much cheaper than the seaview ones in front of the pool. As there can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
410 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We loved our stay at this resort especially spending the day around the beach front swimming pool and restaurant area - it was very relaxing - plenty of loungers and seats. Visiting during the low tide season we did not swim in the beach but watched people sit in the low warm water during the day. We watched beautiful sunsets sipping beer and bicardi breezers (only available alcohol). The restaurant puts on a fabulous breakfast with a huge choice, meals were tasty but they did not put on any ambiance in the restaurant at night and it was windy at night when we stayed. We took a standard room which was very nice, had all the comforts like fridge and TV to watch DVDs, my only complaint about the room was the bathroom, it needed updating and the wall between the adjoining room bathroom and ours was open, so you could hear every noise when in bathroom. We paid NZ$67 but it was high season and it goes down to NZ$48 past the 1 Sept. Agoda did show no available rooms but we contacted the resort directly and they had plenty of rooms, so dont miss out as they may not have listed any rooms. The staff were lovely and the little extras like free biscuits and bananas available all day added a nice touch, plus they picked us up free from a nearby resort and also provided a free ride to the pier in Thong Sala. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: don't pick standard if you want bathroom privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temse, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Red the review of Londonjimmy from the 8th off september! And i totally agree with him! Basic rooms, but what a service! There was even sun cream and mosquito repellent available! The girl on the reception booked our transport to Samui also and even mentioned to take the transfer from Lompraya! Much cheaper than a taxi! Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrajacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My partner and I (early 30s) recently returned from a great 5 night stay at Sunset Cove. The idea had been to "get away from it all" and this place delivers. Here is a brief review of my stay:

Arrival: We called ahead to arrange the transfer with the hotel from arrival at Thong Sala ferry terminal at 6:30pm. The driver was waiting when we got there and we promptly headed to the resort. The transfer took about 25 mins. Upon arrival, it was like descending into a jungle via the wooden walkway, it felt very tropical. Check in was easy and the girl at the reception desk was very polite and helpful.

The (standard) room: As other reviewers have stated, rooms are indeed pretty basic. And the bathrooms are outdoors. But once you get used to the idea, you realise you have everything you need. Ice cold air con, a fridge, towels, a (firm) bed, tv/dvd and the bathroom is sheltered so the exposure to the outdoors is minimal. It's fine, but don't expect luxury!


The pool/beach area: Pool was very nice and cooling from the hot sun. Lovely views out towards the beach. Situated next to the main reception/eating area so you can obtain refreshments, or a complimentary banana. The beach was nice, although there were quite a few rocks, so not the powder white soft sand you get in Samui. The water is very shallow and doesnt get above your knees until a fair way out.

Location: As others have mentioned, this is a very quiet area consisting mainly of beach hut accomodations or hotels. There are a few bars and restaurants attached to the accomodations. There is plenty more if you grab a songthaew to Haad Yao which is 5 mins away and about 100 baht - there is a great selection of beachfront restaurants there, just be careful no to head back too late otherwise you might have to walk home as transportation options dry up. There's a few great bars near Sunset though, don't miss out on Sunset cocktails at Seaview hotel, some live music at Charlie bar or the superb Pirate bar at the end of the beach (holiday highlight). There are some great lunch spots we found, the best one being 'Big Mountain' if you do a left out of Sunset up the hill. Super cheap and tasty.

Side note - you are staying in a bit of jungle/forest, so expect to see the odd exotic insect!


Staff: Excellent. Language was a slight barrier with some staff, but out of all the places I've stayed in Thailand, I felt as if the smiles here were most genuine. Best part of the stay there.


Facilities: There is a gym, it is pretty basic and outdoors. There is a bench press, a few bikes and an EZ bar. Sweltering hot in the day time! Not everyone wants to work out on holiday, so it's not such a big deal.

Breakfast: We stayed in some expensive hotels during this Thailand trip, but the breakfast here was the BEST. You get a paper menu with options to tick, and 5mins later it arives. The cooked eggs are proper eggs and not the liquid stuff in the big hotels. The muesli and yoghurt was superb. I would get the mixed fruits also.

Departure: Made very easy by the girl at reception, she arranged our ferry and transfers to the ferry terminal and transfers to our next hotel in Koh Samui. Tip: the ferry provider 'Lomprayah' is much more comfortable than the other option.

Overall: This was my favourite time in Thailand for this trip, super relaxing and such good value for money. Don't miss out!

Room Tip: the beach front rooms by the pool look to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

we, a couple with a 5 years old girl and a 2 years old son stayed for 6 nights in the seaview villa. the place is very quiet, there are a few restaurants and grocery stores in the area, but you have to take a taxi to thongsala (200 bahts) if you want to go to a busier place with shops and other travellers.
we paid 4000 bahts which is a little bit expansive for what you get.
the staff were great and helped us several times, especially when we needed a doctor.
our villa had a big bedroom with a double bed, a single bed and a baby crib, a big bathroom with toilet and a bathtub (no AC or fan), an outside shower with privacy (but many ants), a medium sized TV room with fan (no satelite but there's a DVD and there's a wide variety of movies to take from the restaurant) and a balcony facing the pool and the beach. the rooms are a little bit tired, but not too much.
the view from the balcony is spectacular, postcard like, and we really enjoyed sitting there for lunch or at sunset time. the location of the room is great for families because you can sit in the balcony and still be able to watch over your children in the pool.
the infinity pool is excellent and is not too crowded, it has enough sunbeds, got one 50 cm baby pool and a part for young children (80-90 cm would be my guess).
the beach is ok, sandy and very beautiful but a little bit too shallow.
the breakfast is good, consisting of eggs, toasts, bacon, corn flakes, yoghurt, fresh fruits, pancakes/waffers and drinks.
the restaurant is reasonably priced and the food is fine.
all in all, we enjoyed the place and we recommend it for s quiet beach vacations.

Room Tip: the seaview villas are good for families because it's next to the pools so you can sit in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amir b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#1 of 91 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#32 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
6.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#2 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#11 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing