We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcoming staff”
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #21 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here with my partner in 2010 on a recommendation and just loved it. The staff were ever helpful and we had one of the best massages just up on the main road a bit. The rooms were charming nestled in the greenery but there were a few mossies about after dusk. We loved the restaurant and returned there for lunch this year on a day trip to Pangan. The same lady was at reception and remembered us immediately even after 2 years. This is something that amazes us whenever we return to Thailand - they have terrific memories.
Overall I would recommend Sunset Cove as a mid range resort very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemgem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 621 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Upon arrival, this place looked stunning with wonderful views and a great pool. We would have liked to have stayed longer but alas, it was not to be. The hut that we were given (C10) was as hot as an oven, even after an hour or more of air conditioning. So much so that we knew that we would be unable to sleep and we reluctantly checked out and found alternative accommodation.

We were a little disappointed by how this was handled as the staff informed us that they would be changing us to a different room. It was not until we asked again 4 hours later that they informed us that they could (or would) not change our room, even though we spotted plenty of other empty huts.

We had to traipse up to the road to hail a cab as the hotel refused to phone one so that we could leave.
A very disappointing experience for what promised to be a very pleasant few days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank StuEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

As far as the accommodation is concerned, the room was comfortable but there were none of the usual "extras" which you might be expecting. (We had the deluxe as opposed to the standard room). The room was only cleaned every other day, there was no kettle and therefore no way of making a hot drink, there were no bedside lights, no complementary bottles of water and no hand towels. In addition, the TV could only be used for viewing free DVDs from the resort library (and some of these were dodgy copies!) so if you like seeing some news you would be disappointed.
That said, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the pool is fantastic and these are very strong pluses. As there isn't much around the resort, we ate there every night (for 5 nights) and the food was very good. It was also great to have our meals looking out to sea and the sunset.
On balance, we would certainly recoomend Sunset Cove as long as you are aware of (and prepared) for the room set up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcesterWanderer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here in September last year and it was absolutely spectacular. From the moment we arrived, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Not only was the view and the accomodation beautiful but there was so much to do. From boat rips to relaxing with a massage on he beach, this was a fantastic destination. The staff really made our stay towards the end when some of our trips were cancelled and they spent a great deal of time sorting out alternatives. I really couldn't recommend this place more, especially those who run it.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights early March and of all our time in Thailand this was our favourite place and not the most expensive either. On arrival we had decided to upgrade as we had spent much less than we had anticipated so took a suite cottage (we had booked one of the standard rooms at the back of the resort) This room was only a short walk to the pool restaurant and reception.
The pool is absolutely amazing, beautiful outlook and spent most days eating, drinking and lounging by the pool. The beach wasn't very nice but didn't matter to us, we still went exploring a few times.
Food here was amazing, we ate either lunch or dinner here each day! Breakfast was included in room price and was the most amazing breakfast, everything you could want, bacon, eggs, pancakes, fruit and juice and yes you can have all of that! Although they did not offer room service we decided to have a break from the pool for a few hours and watch a movie and they still bought food and drinks to our room for us.
Nice selection of books and dvds free of charge during your stay. They also had snorkling gear kayaks and bikes to borrow, although I think there is a small charge for these we were not charged for borrowing the kayaks.
We stayed during a full moon party and as most resorts they organised transport to haad rin 200b per person one way. We met a great group from our resort we spent the night with at the party and on our return a quick early morning dip in the pool. Even though we got a bit rowdy they were quite lenient.
Above all the service was what really made this place for us such happy and friendly people even when they didn't really understand you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I deliberated quite a bit about writing this review - flipping back and forth between wanting the world to know how wonderful Sunset Cove is, and, on the other hand, selfishly considering keeping it a secret. But in the end, after two visits in 2009 and 2012 respectively, I was compelled to do the former (it was the ethical thing to do, right?).

The executive summary is that this spot is truly incredible.

Set far away from the full moon party revellers, Sunset Cove offers a peaceful retreat with easy access to Ang Thong National Marine Park. The accommodation here is simple, but hardly rudimentary. The cottages are really charming and surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Whisper quiet air conditioners and comfortable king size beds ensure a restful night's sleep. While I was a bit apprehensive when I first learned about the outdoor bathrooms, I was pleasantly surprised by how clean, private and functional the facilities were. All of the staff I had the pleasure of meeting were friendly and helpful, making the whole experience smooth and easy. The resort also offers a taxi service, with hassle free transfers to/from the pier and is a reliable way of acessing more remote areas on the island.

But above all, the feature that makes Sunset Cove stand out is the glorious pool. There is truly no better way to end the day than by taking a relaxing dip during the final moments of a blistering orange sunset and take stock of the breathtaking ocean views before you (preferably while sipping on fresh, chilled young coconut juice).

And all of this for the cheapest room-rate I've ever paid any where in the world...

Room Tip: Any of the cottages are fantastic. While the sea-view suites offer views, they are directly opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atari84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and l only stayed one night as we just came across it, we would have stayed longer but they were booked out. Great breakfast and the deluxe room we stayed in was one of the nicest on our holiday. The outside bathroom was really nice and everything was clean and tidy.
Just down the beach is a really nice bar called the Pirate Bar it is worth having a drink there, it is built into the rock. We were lucky enough as they had a night party on the beach it was so much fun, will be staying there in August cant wait.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#14 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#15 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
548 reviews
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#17 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $41 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing