We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been perfect...”
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Could have been perfect...”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Upon arrival, this place looked stunning with wonderful views and a great pool. We would have liked to have stayed longer but alas, it was not to be. The hut that we were given (C10) was as hot as an oven, even after an hour or more of air conditioning. So much so that we knew that we would be unable to sleep and we reluctantly checked out and found alternative accommodation.

We were a little disappointed by how this was handled as the staff informed us that they would be changing us to a different room. It was not until we asked again 4 hours later that they informed us that they could (or would) not change our room, even though we spotted plenty of other empty huts.

We had to traipse up to the road to hail a cab as the hotel refused to phone one so that we could leave.
A very disappointing experience for what promised to be a very pleasant few days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    168
    47
    27
    9
See reviews for
79
355
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

As far as the accommodation is concerned, the room was comfortable but there were none of the usual "extras" which you might be expecting. (We had the deluxe as opposed to the standard room). The room was only cleaned every other day, there was no kettle and therefore no way of making a hot drink, there were no bedside lights, no complementary bottles of water and no hand towels. In addition, the TV could only be used for viewing free DVDs from the resort library (and some of these were dodgy copies!) so if you like seeing some news you would be disappointed.
That said, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the pool is fantastic and these are very strong pluses. As there isn't much around the resort, we ate there every night (for 5 nights) and the food was very good. It was also great to have our meals looking out to sea and the sunset.
On balance, we would certainly recoomend Sunset Cove as long as you are aware of (and prepared) for the room set up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterWanderer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here in September last year and it was absolutely spectacular. From the moment we arrived, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Not only was the view and the accomodation beautiful but there was so much to do. From boat rips to relaxing with a massage on he beach, this was a fantastic destination. The staff really made our stay towards the end when some of our trips were cancelled and they spent a great deal of time sorting out alternatives. I really couldn't recommend this place more, especially those who run it.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights early March and of all our time in Thailand this was our favourite place and not the most expensive either. On arrival we had decided to upgrade as we had spent much less than we had anticipated so took a suite cottage (we had booked one of the standard rooms at the back of the resort) This room was only a short walk to the pool restaurant and reception.
The pool is absolutely amazing, beautiful outlook and spent most days eating, drinking and lounging by the pool. The beach wasn't very nice but didn't matter to us, we still went exploring a few times.
Food here was amazing, we ate either lunch or dinner here each day! Breakfast was included in room price and was the most amazing breakfast, everything you could want, bacon, eggs, pancakes, fruit and juice and yes you can have all of that! Although they did not offer room service we decided to have a break from the pool for a few hours and watch a movie and they still bought food and drinks to our room for us.
Nice selection of books and dvds free of charge during your stay. They also had snorkling gear kayaks and bikes to borrow, although I think there is a small charge for these we were not charged for borrowing the kayaks.
We stayed during a full moon party and as most resorts they organised transport to haad rin 200b per person one way. We met a great group from our resort we spent the night with at the party and on our return a quick early morning dip in the pool. Even though we got a bit rowdy they were quite lenient.
Above all the service was what really made this place for us such happy and friendly people even when they didn't really understand you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I deliberated quite a bit about writing this review - flipping back and forth between wanting the world to know how wonderful Sunset Cove is, and, on the other hand, selfishly considering keeping it a secret. But in the end, after two visits in 2009 and 2012 respectively, I was compelled to do the former (it was the ethical thing to do, right?).

The executive summary is that this spot is truly incredible.

Set far away from the full moon party revellers, Sunset Cove offers a peaceful retreat with easy access to Ang Thong National Marine Park. The accommodation here is simple, but hardly rudimentary. The cottages are really charming and surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Whisper quiet air conditioners and comfortable king size beds ensure a restful night's sleep. While I was a bit apprehensive when I first learned about the outdoor bathrooms, I was pleasantly surprised by how clean, private and functional the facilities were. All of the staff I had the pleasure of meeting were friendly and helpful, making the whole experience smooth and easy. The resort also offers a taxi service, with hassle free transfers to/from the pier and is a reliable way of acessing more remote areas on the island.

But above all, the feature that makes Sunset Cove stand out is the glorious pool. There is truly no better way to end the day than by taking a relaxing dip during the final moments of a blistering orange sunset and take stock of the breathtaking ocean views before you (preferably while sipping on fresh, chilled young coconut juice).

And all of this for the cheapest room-rate I've ever paid any where in the world...

Room Tip: Any of the cottages are fantastic. While the sea-view suites offer views, they are directly opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atari84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and l only stayed one night as we just came across it, we would have stayed longer but they were booked out. Great breakfast and the deluxe room we stayed in was one of the nicest on our holiday. The outside bathroom was really nice and everything was clean and tidy.
Just down the beach is a really nice bar called the Pirate Bar it is worth having a drink there, it is built into the rock. We were lucky enough as they had a night party on the beach it was so much fun, will be staying there in August cant wait.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

If you're planning on visiting Koh Phangan look no further, this place is simply outstanding.

Rooms: Each guest room is a small cottage, they are simple but clean and well equipped. Ice cold air conditioning, large beds, and all the typical amenities (fridge, tv). There is no cable here however the front desk offers a large selection of Hollywood movies, many of which were quite recent. Washrooms are open at the top to the elements.

Location: The hotel is on a quieter strip of beach north of the main ferry pier. It is definitely not on the party area of the island, it is a quiet paradise. The beach is not the best in Thailand, at low tide it can be quite about 100 yards till deep water. In the area there are many excellent restaurants and small shops, massage parlours, etc.

Common Areas and Amenities: The hotel has a great restaurant, with very good prices. The pool here is simply amazing, an infinity pool looking out over the sea. Everything is very well maintained and the staff was constantly cleaning and maintaining the resort. The included breakfast was great. Extremely large portions and good taste, choice of eggs, meats, waffles, juices and hot drinks. It is à la carte and will not leave you hungry. Lunch and dinner, both Thai and Western selections were quite good.

Staff and Services: The staff here is absolutely beyond a doubt the best I've ever had at a hotel. Every one of them was kind, extremely helpful, and very polite. I believe it is family run. I could rant and rave about the staff for several more paragraphs. Suffice it to say that they are great, simply great. They were so helpful and always smiling.

The hotel offers a car service at very reasonable prices, usually 50-100 baht less than the local taxis. They will help you with anything. Our ferry was changed last minute and they allowed us to stay longer and had no problem helping with any of our requests.

Full moon partygoers: While this hotel is about 40 minutes by car to the Full Moon Party at Haad Rin, it is worth considering if you're on Koh Phangan solely for the party. The hotel offers a drop off service for 200 baht (a bit cheaper than the taxis) and will hold your key so you don't lose it in the fray. The staff also offered tips for partygoers. The morning after the great breakfast helps after a few too many buckets.

Overall: Without a doubt I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The pool is phenomenal, the staff is beyond great, the restaurant is good and the location is idyllic. Perfect for families and partygoers alike with very competitive room prices. The real selling point was how kind and helpful the staff was.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadiantraveler117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
524 reviews
6.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing