We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Cove Resort
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Our stay at the Sunset Cove was hands down the best part of our trip to Thailand. We stayed at several great 5 star resorts while in Thailand, but this place was what made the trip truly relaxing. The staff is amazing, really friendly and will do whatever they can to help you. The rooms are simply but clean, great out door showers, and the beach/pool bungalows are the best as the pool and beach are only steps away. The beach isn't huge and parts of it are rocky, but it didn't matter to us because the view is absolutely beautiful and you won't find a better place to watch the sunset, and the infinity pool is such a nice place to just quietly relax. I read other reviews about there being loads of kids at this place, but it must depend on when you go because we were usually the only ones in the pool and the only kids at the place were one or two very cute and well behaved babies.

Another great thing is that they don't rip you off on anything here. The food and drink is really affordable (cheapest beer we paid for anywhere) and the breakfast, which is included, wasn't bad at all. We ate dinner at the resort one night too and the food was great. They also helped us set up a day tour, arranged our transportation every day, and took care of our ferry back to Koh Samui seamlessly.

I can't say enough good things about this place and the people here. If you are looking for a big flashy over the top type of resort, this won't be for you. But if you appreciate excellent service, great sunsets, a really affordable stay, and a relaxing place to unwind, Sunset Cove is definitely the right place.

Room Tip: Go with the deluxe sea view bungalows - definitely worth the slightly higher price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tara60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    168
    47
    27
    9
See reviews for
79
355
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Not much too say , most has been said in other reviews! But our experience was perfect, lots of sunbeds, good pool, nice sunset view and sun all day, free dvd rentals, free sunscreen and bugspray

We have travelled since to ko samui and on our trip we have never eaten as good as on sunset cove, even on 5 star places the food cannot match their home made thai cooking. And it is cheap! Also beer and water is cheap compared to other places!

The staff was the nicest people, trying everything to make the stay perfect

Im writing this from a 5 star resort now, but i just want to go back to sunset cove ;)

The beach is the only drawback its not a good beach, shallow and some sea weed.

Make sure to visit the Pirate bar

Room tip: get the deluxe sea view , less bugs.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesutex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgetown
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Its definitely value for money.! Very nice staff and food is good. Beautiful serene environment.!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmuse9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

It's strange that Sunset Cove is ranked in the top 5 romantic hotels in tripadvisor because when we visited it looked like a kids camp.  There were more kids then adults which made the place not at all suitable for a honeymoon or a romantic vacation.  Our pool side bungalow was nice enough but since it was overlooking the pool it had been hijacked by screaming kids.  

The vibe of the place is very different then the photos lead you to believe.  The place is clean but not as nice as I had expected.   Breakfast was included but it was mediocre aside from the fresh fruits.

Anyone looking for a nice swimmable beach this is not the place.  In the morning at high tide the beach completely dissapears so walking on the beach is not possible.  In the afternoon at low tide the water is so shallow you have to walk several meters and you will still have water to your waist.  There were several fishermen with huge nets in from of Sunset Cove so we had to walk towards another resort to get in the water.  The bay is also quite small, not much to see or do.  Sunset Cove do not have chairs n the beach either and well by the pool it was absolutely not relaxing thanks to high pitch screams from the kids.

I was amazed at the amount of garbage on the beach.  Thailand is loosing it's pride and no one seems to care.

Thankfully the owner refunded us -minus a small penalty- so we left the next day.  The owner is an extremely nice man and was really helpful in helping us find a romantic spot for us to relax.  His English is excellent which is also great and quite useful for patrons.

Do take note that taxis or songteows charge an insane amount of money to get around the island.  A crazy, rude songteow driver charged us 1500 baht (about 45$) to get to the other side of the island.  It took about 20 minutes to get to our new resort.  

I will not go back to Sunset Cove but I would recommend it to a family with kids who are on a budget.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet don't pick a pool or sea view: go for the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yoganista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Not to say much as most of my opinions about this resort are well expressed in previous comments by other travellers. Just to add that location is good enough, if you seek for peace and serenity it’s there, if you look for a crazy party it’s just a taxi ride away. Nice beach, few bars in proximity, restaurants, massage, scooter rental, local shops it’s all there. Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms clean, spacious and bright. I can’t really recall anything to complain about!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We can recommend this hotel to people who value peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. Hotel area is very relaxing and beach is in front of the hotel. Location is perfect and it is easy to move to different places. We recommend to rent scooter from 50-100m from hotel because it is easiest way to move in the island. Traffic looks first horrible but you get used to it fast. Rooms are big and you can take movies from reception for free. Only bad things in resort is that room cleaning service is only every second day but it didn't bother us. Also wifi didn't work in our room. Water bottles are not included to room service but you can get water bottle in breakfast. I also used the gym and it was very small but on the other-hand you can't find gyms from other hotels. The hotel service is not 5 stars but it is still working well.

We recommended this hotel to families, couples and people who appreciate peacefulness. Not for party people. Even the hotel was full in that time when we were there it did not feel like that.

Room Tip: B 7 was good room to couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank re-exlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridderkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed here before and this time during the Full moon Party again. It was great! The people are friendly and the swimming pool is nice. It's great as well to swim in the ocean.
The food isn't that good, and little overpriced, so we had diner in other places.

Room Tip: I took the cheapest which was 1200 B when I stayed there. Book in advance when staying during Full m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NijntjePluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
610 reviews
8.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
9.4 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Resort
Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing