We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be carefull with this one...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Weangthai Hotel & Resort
Ranked #83 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed February 18, 2012

the rooms just average. No windows. smells mouldy. This english guy one the reception is not the nicest one and after 2 min talking to him i knew what he was after...

Scooter hire can be very expensive: These guys charge a redicules amount for a minor scratch on a scooter. 4000 Bah but after a "dicount" still 2500??? You can get this part easely for 1000 Baht. And by the way it was just a minor scratch. I am not sure if it will be replaced anyway.

Pick up ok but if you want to get back you have to pay.

It wasn`t the worst palce i have ever stayed but they could do soooooo much better... Just be carefull with these guys!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Weangthai Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 37 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

Actually, this made faulty towers look like the Ritz!

I read the reviews on here before going and I thought "No, lets take the risk, people do love to moan about everything".

I was crap! Firstly, our flight into Koh Samui was delayed and the company we booked with didn't pick us up from the airport....so we missed the ferry to Koh Phangnan. Then the last ferry was another 2.5 hour wait and that was delayed too....so we'd left Krabi at 09.30am and got to the hotel finally at 21.30pm.....so I wasn't in the best of moods already.

Greated by the manager at the taxi with "Hacienda or Weangthai?". Taxi driver replied "Hacienda" and I replied "Weangthai". Manager replied back to me "doesn't matter its the same place". SO WHY ASK??!! So my back was up already.

Then, 45 minutes to check in because he takes his time and then walks everyone (or even drives people) to their room and reads them their rights on how much you'll be charged for breathing his air. On that point, word of warning. I didn't need to use this but my dad who lives in Thailand warned me of this. Hotels like to read you the rights in these places on charges if you break things. Some dodgy hotels will then swap your items (TV, etc) for a broken one when you're out and then claim you've broken it. So...on arrival in your room, take photos of everything!! I did when I arrived here but luckily didn't need to use it. They claimed they would charge for bedsheets with flourescent paint or rips in....mine already had them! So I took photos in case they charged me.

So after 45 minutes of waiting, he asks me for my voucher. I don't have one. He told me I can't stay without one as I'm prepaid. I handed him everything I had from the company I booked. He weren't having any of it. I said take a look at my reservation. No. Finally after me getting quite irate, he looks at my booking, pulls out the paperwork and says "oh sorry I have your voucher". Prat!

So finally I get to the room and its grubby, the door doesn't lock properly, you can't lose your key as the keyring is like a railway sleeper. Shower went from freezing to boiling so you have to keep switching it on and off so stop yourself turning into a teabag.

Had breakfast paid for....didn't use it once!

I think the Americans should swap Guantanamo and move all the prisoners to Weangthai...

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El_Kevino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Rude unprofessional staff, filthy rooms and swimming pool. I spent two hours trying to check in, and was welcomed by screaming angry customers demanding to see management who never appeared. I was "fortunate" enough to bump into the manager (english) at the bar who was off his face on drugs. I met so many unhappy travellers, some who felt conned into situations such as diving and taxis to the full moon party by the hotel which never arrived.
Worst hotel, I can't believe its 71st out of 80. I have stayed in places for £3 a night which are much better and freindlier! Don't stay here.

Room Tip: don't stay in this vile hotel
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahLovesAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

what to start with- the hour wait at reception to check in (at 10am nobody was even there) and even then it was only that short because we went and got someone.
- our over priced room with minibar that had no price list to which we presumed came with the over priced room.
-the massively over priced restuarant where the price of just a sandwich was 210 baht
- the constant push to make you try out scuba diving or buy this or buy that. Including trying to sell you a stupid ticket for 1750 baht for the full moon party which was a load of bull.
- the constant banging out of music which at first was ok but by the 3rd day was just plain annoying (they played the music to a ridiculously high volume that drinks in our room rattled on the side, and this started every single day at 12 midday and didnt stop until 2am the next day to then begin at midday again)
we spoke to other guests who had said they never had towels. One girl who had given her passport over actually went back behind reception and got it bk from an UNLOCKED draw one of the many times nobody was there.
We did find it rather funny that the staff had said they changed the name of the resort because hacienda was a big night club in manchester when infact we found out from a restuarant owner on the main road that it was actually because of all the bad reviews.



  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welltravalled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

After a 7 hour wait in the overpriced, packed restaurant we were given a room which we then had to move out of at 8am the next day. I travelled with my boyfriend and best friend and we were all so disappointed with the service. We also met other people who had to wait even longer than us and a few even had to find other accommodation after being told they had over booked and didn't have enough room. When we tried to complain we were taken to an English man who decided to shout at us, swearing, telling us to find somewhere else however he would not give our money back so we decided to stick it out and stay.

When we got moved to the bungalow we weren't happy as the water stank of metal and there were a shortage of towels so we didn't get towels until the last day... Full Moon made up for this experience but please please please choose another hotel! The beach was also horrible and the pool was unbelivably dirty!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phoebe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here in April, has taken me a while to get round to writing this review but here it is!
Rooms were damp, dark, musty. We had a double air-con room and the air-con leaked, insects and dirt fell out of it onto the bed underneath. Shower room was horrible. Complete lack of natural light anywhere in the room as a whole. Dodgy electric fittings. The whole place smelt.
We kept getting promised we could change rooms but this didnt happen until the last 2 nights of our stay (we were there for 8 nights). The room we were given for the last 2 nights was lovely but it took a lot of complaining to get this. Please see attached photos for evidence of what most of the rooms are like!!
I have travelled a lot in thailand and I dont mind staying in basic accomodation if thats what im paying for, but this place was not cheap, please stay somewhere else!
Our friends were also in a double room and theres was as bad as ours too.

Room Tip: ask to see your room before paying - i cant believe we forgot to do this!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elwinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Dissapointed with the rude and unprofessional service from this hotel.
The manager doesn't deal with problems and decides to avoid them by hiding. The room was average but I met many other travellers who complained with how filthy their rooms were, they had also complained but nothing had been solved. Overpriced and unworth visiting, I agree with the comments below, there are many better hotels on the island and the beach next to the hotel is rubbish in comparison to up north of the island. The pool was also filthy. The full moon was great though! Just wished we stayed elsewhere as did the other residents in the hotel!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneworld k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#78 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#32 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weangthai Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weangthai Hotel & Resort

Address: Ao Ban Tai Bay, Ko Pha Ngan 84240, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Weangthai Hotel Koh Phangan
Weangthai Hotel And Resort
Weang Thai Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing