We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful staff, rude manager, filthy rooms, rubbish beach. Many unhappy customers”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Weangthai Hotel & Resort
Ranked #83 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unhelpful staff, rude manager, filthy rooms, rubbish beach. Many unhappy customers”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here for the full moon party in July, Our room was filthy and tacky, the shower water was horrendous smelling of metal and the room looked NOTHING like the brochure.
When complaining we were told the manager didn't want to speak to us!!! When we finally saw him(we had to litreally wait outside his office) he was rude and blamed it on anything but himself, (the staff not speaking english, the weather, busy times). He told us to leave if we were unhappy, during full moon this is impossible to do. We were so hurt and annoyed by the service..

The staff were so unhelpful, we met many unhappy people, some had been moved rooms on numerous times due to overbooking. The only good thing was the swimming pool which was filthy itself, the beach we expected to be nice. I would say an english beach is better than that, we had to travel north of the island to find the better beaches.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    1
    3
    22
See reviews for
Families
0
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Fantastic resort, great atmosphere, friendly staff and great food. To all the moaners on here if you expect 5 star book 5 star you muppets!! This place is great maybe your attitude was wrong!? Its Thailand you go with the flow, if your not happy with something say at the time and staff bend over backwards to sort it for you!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyc301973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed at the hotel and with in half a hour of arriving the guys there made us so welcome.

They gave us a trial run at scuba diving, myself and a friend were real scared about the whole idea of scuba diving but always wanted to do it... the guys Mark and James especially made us feel a lot more confident about it, we all signed up and went scuba diving the next day... One of the best experiences of our lives and we all intend to come back to the Weangthai to complete our scuba diving licenses...

The atmosphere at this hotel is relaxed and every1 we met we got on so well with...

Then went out with a James and his crazy tour guide girlfriend Claire who gave us a night we'll never forget.

Want to thank every1 there and i would recomend this hotel to any1.... surrounded by great people, the sea on your doorstep with a view to die for, what more you any1 want.

Weangthai you havent seen the last of us, we'll definatly be back.

Thanks guys...

Portia, Sam, Ryan, Gaz & Jake

Room Tip: As for a room nearest to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDBthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed here for just over a week and found it a very pleasant experience and is defo a hotel I will be going back to when i'm visiting the island again. Steve at reception could not do enough for you if you ask and organised anything for you that you wanted. The food was excellent and good value compare to other places especially the BBQ buffet that they put on where you could eat at much as you could stomach.... Has a pool bar where everyone is friendly and meets and a good place to meet lots of people on their travels. People from other hotels actually come to the the bar due to friendly atmosphere... loved it!!!!

Has a dive school on site which is one of the best on the island if you fancy this type of thing.

I perfect if you want to chill and relax but party at night also.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyMc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2011

A party of ten of us stayed at the villa 5 star accommodation owned and run by Mike from Weangthai Hotels for 18 days and 4 days at Weangthai. On arrival picked up and taken to hotel, very professionally dealt with.

Myself and my family thoroughly enjoyed are stay there and were made very welcome. Constant communication with Mike and his team for trips and excursions,etc.

Went most nights to the Weang for drinks and te atmosphere was thumping and barstaff very helpful and entertaining especially 'Jay Jay' & 'Luke'.

I have travelled many places throughout australia and Indonesia and can't believe some of the reviews i have read about this place. Weangthai Resorts is ideal for backpackers and people on a tight budgets that want a real feel of what Ko Phangan is about and has to offer.

Mike employs alot of the locals which is good for a small place thats probably why the place has such a great feel

My recommendation if you do visit Ko Phangan is visit Weangthai and speak to James Walsh who is number 1 dive master (never dived before) made me feel at ease and was very helpful. (THANKS JAMES) See you again shortly.

Just to recap if over 35 or travelling with young family probably a touch too loud and lively...Full Moon Party Buzzin a must for the party goers.

SEE YOU NEXT YEAR GUYS MISSING YOU ALREADY....CHOW!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I've read some of the negative reviews and have to say that our stay was very different. You do need to stay in the resort and not in the hotel. We did find the hotel to be shabby, but we were upgraded to the one of the superior delux rooms in the resort straight away. Dave who works there was extremely helpful in sorting any issue we had out. The rooms were very nice with air con and fans. The showers were hot as well. The staff were very friendly and we got along with all of them. The pool and pool bar were always lively although not full of young boozy louts which was good. The have an excellent PADI school there where lots of people learnt to dive or did fun dives with very friendly staff. You can find cheaper food and drinks outside the resort, but isnt that always the case? The food wasnt massively over priced, however it was excellent and well worth what you paid for it. The owner Mike also took time to speak to us and we found him great company. You could do alot worse than staying in Weangthai and we met people that came over to Weangthai from their resort as it was much better. One small negative was that we had to ask to get our room cleaned, which was done to a high standard when done.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the hotel, stay in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K1ngeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Without a doubt, the main guy 'Dave' was the most unhelpful hotel staff member I have ever met while seeming really concerned. Upon arrival we were give the WORST room I have ever seen, included with eddy sort of stain and hole you can imagine! There were holds in the floor and the roof and stained bedsteads. When we complained we were told by the lively Dave that he was just 'manning the fort' and had no real power in changing rooms, despite the fact that he told us upon arrival that the hotel was totally empty and we would have the whole place to ourselves. We were forced to stay in the room for tue first and complained to our agent the next morning at which time we were upgraded. We found out later that Dave is actually one of the main men at them hotel!!! The other poster mentioned the 'free' internet - you have to pay a daily rate for it, it ain't free!! They are severely overpriced for everything. Their restaurant is expensive. They seem to also allow a load of stay dogs to sleep on the couches in the common area. My advise is that there is far better and cheaper places close by- stay away from here and shop around!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philipstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
0.0 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#75 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
0.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,416 reviews
0.0 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weangthai Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weangthai Hotel & Resort

Property: Weangthai Hotel & Resort
Address: Ao Ban Tai Bay, Ko Pha Ngan 84240, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Weangthai Hotel Koh Phangan
Weangthai Hotel And Resort
Weang Thai Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing