We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and beautiful resort”
Review of Longbay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Longbay Resort
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly and beautiful resort”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had an amazing time in this resort. Prices were very good for the high quality of the place. The receptionist girls were very friendly and helped us booking everything in our trip.
The room was small but very tidy, and let's face it, for the affordable price, we couldn't complaint. Bathroom was very small but cute. We stayed in a Bangalow what Made all the experience very typical.
The breakfast was excellent.
The beach is nice, but not the most beautiful in the island, due to the amount of coral in the water, but in the evening, the atmosphere changes completely and turn into a beautiful place full of restaurants on the sand serving amazing food.
I highly recommend this place. Wish I was going back today

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boyboytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    68
    37
    15
    20
See reviews for
31
104
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just stayed here for 5 nights during a 3 week visit to Thailand. We stayed in a deluxe cottage - H12. The cottages are situated in beautiful lush green surroundings, and are very well maintained. The room was very clean and spacious, with a huge king sized bed. Room also had a tv and a minibar. We had problems with wi fi though, we had to go over to the restaurant on the seafront as in our cottage which had a side view of the sea, couldn't pick up any signal. Breakfast was ok,and we ate at the BBQ one night which was good value. Despite it being quiet season and the resort fairly empty, the staff often seemed unhelpful and not bothered. The shack at the pool where the towels were, every day 3 or 4 of the staff would hang around in there, not even acknowledging you. Also, when going to order a drink or some food, the staff, of which there were a lot seemed to mull around, either not noticing you, or even speaking when you placed your order.
A concern I noted, was that there was no staff there after 8pm in reception, or as security on the entrance. If in an emergency, I'm not quite sure what would happen. The reception were not helpful in the day either, refusing to keep your door cards safe, We did query booking a taxi to a nearby resort but the receptionists seemed that we were an inconvienience, and it seemed that they were not keen to take us.
There are 4/5 dogs within the resort, this is common a lot in Thailand but they did not bother anyone. Often they would be asleep under the sun loungers.

I would not stay here again - Haad Yao seemed to far out from any nightlife or shopping so we had to travel loads. Also, I wasn't really impressed with this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jugz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Firstly, if you look at my other reviews you will see I don't complain about much unnecessarily. The resort itself is nice enough but the way it is Managed is atrocious! We booked 7 nights in a beachfront bungalow and like others here who complained and indeed other guests during our stay, the hotel double books these rooms and tries to palm off seaview rooms once you get there. The receptionist tried to pretend she didn't understand me when I kept asking for confirmation upon arrival that we had beachfront. She said yes we had seaview. It was only when i said we would be cancelling and going elsewhere that she understood me well. So we were upgraded to the V1 villa for two nights with the understanding we move when our original bungalow booked became available. After the two nights, naturally we didn't want to move so I went back and told the receptionist that we would pay extra for our remaining 5 nights to stay in V1. Suddenly even though that room was not booked for the following week, due to it being full moon period (we booked and paid in full last November with no interest in full moon parties) we had to make up the price to 5000baht a night which is a very high room rate for off peak season in Phangan. To cut a long story short and after I had to walk back and forth to receive updates from her whilst she was confirming costs etc, we agreed to pay 5000baht per night and stay put.
That night we fortunately returned early to find ourselves locked out! The lady hadn't programmed our card to open the door past the first two nights. If we had come back much later as we did other nights, we would have been sleeping in our car. The office closes at 8.30pm. When I pointed this out to the receptionist she just shrugged and looked like she couldn't care less. Very poor considering how much communication had gone on over our extending that particular room.

Of the 5 breakfast we had, 2 were delivered with missing choices. The BBQ on the beach is expensive and comes with only potato. No salad or other sides. The staff swim in the pool. Plates left beside lounges from one day to the next. The only maintenance we witnessed was on the deck we were eating breakfast with loud banging going on 2 feet away. Why then when they had the rest of the day to make the hole bigger for the tree? Also it was ironic that they found that an urgent issue, when the decked pathway was literally breaking up all over the place.

In our 6 days (we checked out a day early) we were never quite sure who the Manager was. We suspected it was the only Westerner wondering around who grunted to us on our first night whilst we sat at the beach bar having a drink. We were the only ones sitting there... So he chose right in front of us on the direct other side of the massive bar to do all his paperwork. We felt we couldn't talk to each other without him hearing everything so we moved to the cute little swing not far away. note, the cocktails are cheap at 100baht but you can also taste they are not genuine spirits used, but rather the cheap homemade Thai version. When we checked out a day early, this same Westerner was standing in reception and he asked quietly to the receptionist if they had an early checkout? He didn't look at me, even when I answered him that yes we were checking out early. He completely ignored me and indicated to one of the other ladies behind the counter to go out the back to obviously discuss our early departure. I was amazed that he didn't ask me directly why we were leaving or if everything was ok. They had our money so it wasn't important to him, I can only assume.
I know a lot of these complaints may seem petty but when a few things go wrong you seem to be more aware of other faults. As I said earlier, we don't complain easily. The beach at Haad Yao when we were there, due to unusual tides apparently, was out so far it was impossible to swim. This is not the fault of the hotel so I only mention it now so that others are aware. Surprisingly around in the next bay at Haad Salad, the water was much closer to the shore for most of the day. Also we hired a jeep and visited Thong Nai Pan Noi twice and the water there was beautiful!

Summing up, this is my 5th stay on this beautiful island and I look forward to going there again as soon as possible. But I would never! stay in Longbay Resort again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The bungalows are quite small, if you choose the normal ones. We went there in May so it was quite quiet and relaxed. They have a good restaurant on the beach with lots of seafood and fish. The greatest thing for us was that the resort is near Haad Yao Divers and we took a 3 days Open Water course. We did scuba diving from the boat, far away from the shore because the beach isn't great at all. One has to walk for 100 meters in order to be able to swim in a deeper water. All in all, if you don't expect it to be heaven on earth then you'll have a good experience there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked for two nights here. the room has every thing you need. I had one deluxe room for my family and one extra bed. Breakfast is included. my unit was on the side of the beach. It was very fantastic when u wake up, open the door and see the beach right in front of you. The beach in this island is calmer than the beach in Samui island where is beside Pha-ngan island. It is so peaceful here. the reception was very friendly. Don't miss their BBQ at night.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TaiTai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We used booking.com and got a decent deal on a garden cottage (1500 baht). The resort has about ten cottages, small detached with nice sit out wooden terraces around spacious gardens. the other bungalows are more expensive and looked nice. Housekeeping very good with cleaning and new sheets etc every day.
The hotel has a nice feel about it, spread out with the pool looking directly on to the Haad Yao beach. Although it was full there was plenty of space and loungers free. The gardeners were constantly tidying up, collecting leaves, strimming the sand, dragging dogs around etc.
The staff were mostly Burmese, receptionists friendly, cocktail bar lads Choo Choo (?) and Charlie really friendly and enthusiastic (happy hour cocktails good and only 100 baht), breakfast staff and other waiters pretty gormless but a little happier than most we encountered on the islands...
No daytime bar so you had to trek down the beach to buy drinks from the neighbouring hotel's supermarket. One day though they did find the key to the fridges and sold cans from an ice box. Strange, especially when there were so many staff wandering about.
There a couple of (nice placid) resident dogs, in fact I think perhaps the old husky dog thought he was the managers. Unfortunately they attracted a lot of their pals to the resort and they sort of rampaged around as a pack. The afore mentioned wandering staff just seemed to ignore them, even when they were howling, jumping on sunbeds and making love.
We felt very comfortable here but if you have children or are nervous around dogs, perhaps avoid Long Bay!

Room Tip: The garden cottage rooms are cheaper and you still get the facilities of the resort including the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeywhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is literally right on Haad Yao, a beautiful white sandy beach. At night the resort puts tables on the sand and you can eat dinner there, although the wait staff is really hit or miss.
For an incredibly low price we got a garden hut, basically our own stand alone hotel room. Plain, but has everything you need.

They also will give you a free cab ride to the Thong Sala port, which is great for when you leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.9 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#68 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#74 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
See Through Resort Haad Yao
See Through Resort Haad Yao
#53 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#33 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbay Resort

Property: Longbay Resort
Address: 58 / 5 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Longbay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longbay resort is peacefully located directly on the beach at Haad Yao beach, on the northwest of Koh Phangan just about 30 minutes to Haad Rin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Longbay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longbay Hotel Koh Phangan
Long Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing