We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good choice for beach/pool/garden, basic room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Longbay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Longbay Resort
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good choice for beach/pool/garden, basic room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in a standard room ,which is actually a standalone bungalow. I can't speak about the superior or deluxe rooms, but the standard one's are in need of a refresh. We had to switch off the airco at night due to too much decibels. Old furniture and very basic bathroom with shower.
I assume we got what we paid for and that the more expensive rooms are better.
The bed and as such quality of sleep was bad. A typical Asian rock hard matrass that made me wake up a couple of times each night and gave me a sore back each morning.
Breakfast has a limited choice of an Asian dish, some toasting bread and fruit.
What saves the place is the location and the garden with pool. The resort is ideally located at one of the nicest bays of the island. Beautiful sunset if the weather is ok. And all bungalows are on or seconds from the beach. Next to that Long Bay has one of the nicest pools in size and quality at the bay. Free towel, long chairs and umbrellas. And surrounded by a nice and well maintained garden.
Also hotel offers free pickup from the ferry pier.
Conclusion -3 stars for the room +2 stars for location and pool. If we come back to this resort it would be in a better room.
PS: not a location for whatever moon party animals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    63
    32
    16
    20
See reviews for
29
96
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for the full moon party. When we arrived we were shocked at how basic our room actually was! After a while though, we ended up falling in love with this lovely little set up. The room was just somewhere to sleep and shower and so it's simplicity didn't matter to us! The location is bang on the beach and is beautiful. The pool is a good size and you can always find a sun lounger. Random but worth mentioning: you have to pay to hire a sun lounger on the beach which are plastic yet you get to use the comfy cushioned ones by the poo next to the beach for free! Strange! Anyway, the breakfast was basic but the bbq at night was pretty good! Ramel the afternoon/evening manager is always rushed off his feet but still smiles and is very friendly. The bar man is also beyond friendly and will go the extra mile to make you happy. Overall for the £60 it cost me for 3 nights B&B I cannot complain one little bit! Lovely pool, beautiful location, lovely staff and decent food. Only one little niggle: The service is pretty slow at night time but you can forgive that since the price is so reasonable and the staff are so damn smiley!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rankias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I LOVED this place. We stayed in the cheapest bungalows but it was fab- with our own hammock and we were a 2 second walk to the lovely beach. Jack at reception was very welcoming on arrival and the whole long bay team were so friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. The setting is perfect for relaxing. The beachside restaurant and BBQ had top class food with top class service- very friendly burmese waiters and a lovely Italian manager. The bar was just by the restaurant and both were right on the beach so it had a very luxurious feel for a very very reasonable price. The manager helped us arrange to rent a motorbike and we felt very much at home for our all too short stay. I was sad to leave and I plan a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We didn't stay here but ate here a few times so our review is solely on this experience.

We ate here twice and although the BBQ food we had was nice the service was very hit & miss. You'd either be totally ignored by the waiters (we had to go and get our own drinks from the bar) or all of them would come over asking the same thing on each occasion. I am not sure how they train their staff but it needs a little work!

We tried to eat here one final time and once again went for the BBQ. On the previous 2 occasions we had had a kebab each which is served with a salad and rice as part of the meal. On this final time we ordered the same, minutes later a waiter came over to confirm we wanted 2 rices and 2 salads. Then he returned to say we could only have one rice and 2 salads which we were ok with. Yet again he came over to tell us that it was now only possible to have one rice and one salad to share. In his words "the chef has gone mad and won't make another salad". This pushed our patience a bit too far and we told them to forget it, we'd drink our drinks & go.

After cancelling our order they then proceeded to bring over our one rice and one salad which we sent back, then they turned up with the cooked kebabs which we also sent back.

What sort of crazy place is this that they'd rather waste food than make up one more salad??!

I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofe1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights recently in one of the garden huts. They were clean and secure and footsteps from the beautiful beach. They are a few years old I think and could do with a bit of a revamp at this stage. There is no fridge or coffee pot which is a pity. There are more modern bungalows with all mod cons for a dearer price. We originally booked for 3 nights a number of weeks in advance through Bookings.com for 2700 we then extended for an extra 2 nights at short notice and were charged B3000 even though there were plenty of vacancies so book well in advance. The breakfast and pool are excellent. You can book your ferry / bus tickets etc at reception where the staff are excellent particularly Nina.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed in a garden hut. It is modest, but well mantained and clean. Huts dont have refrigirator. The garden is gorgeous and very well mantained. Receptionist ladies are kind, especially Nuna. Restaurant for the breakfast is modest, modest hygiene and low quality of the food. Most staff are man and they are not too much kind and not speaking much english. Beach is nice, but as most places around don't expect crystal clear water. 7/11 is 5 minutes walk behind. As well as scooter rentals. They all want passport deposit. The bungalow is over priced, but this is already common in all tourist spots on all south islands.

Room Tip: Always check the room before taking it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollidaystraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed 7 nights in January and was upgraded twice; once to beach front hotel and second to family bungalow which is very nice also facing the beach.

Resort grounds are excellent and they ensure the weeds are cleared from the beach every morning. The beach Had Yao is a nice beach but once the tide rolls out it's not good for swimming. I rented a motor bike and bombed around the island and found some nice beaches to swim regardless of tide.

The staff were friendly and always smiling and ready to help.

My only complaint was the bathrooms in the bungalows seems to be dated and need to be upgraded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.8 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#29 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#71 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#62 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbay Resort

Property: Longbay Resort
Address: Moo 8 58 5 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Longbay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longbay resort is peacefully located directly on the beach at Haad Yao beach, on the northwest of Koh Phangan just about 30 minutes to Haad Rin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Longbay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longbay Hotel Koh Phangan
Long Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing