We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but over priced”
Review of Longbay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Longbay Resort
Ranked #37 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed in a garden hut. It is modest, but well mantained and clean. Huts dont have refrigirator. The garden is gorgeous and very well mantained. Receptionist ladies are kind, especially Nuna. Restaurant for the breakfast is modest, modest hygiene and low quality of the food. Most staff are man and they are not too much kind and not speaking much english. Beach is nice, but as most places around don't expect crystal clear water. 7/11 is 5 minutes walk behind. As well as scooter rentals. They all want passport deposit. The bungalow is over priced, but this is already common in all tourist spots on all south islands.

Room Tip: Always check the room before taking it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollidaystraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed 7 nights in January and was upgraded twice; once to beach front hotel and second to family bungalow which is very nice also facing the beach.

Resort grounds are excellent and they ensure the weeds are cleared from the beach every morning. The beach Had Yao is a nice beach but once the tide rolls out it's not good for swimming. I rented a motor bike and bombed around the island and found some nice beaches to swim regardless of tide.

The staff were friendly and always smiling and ready to help.

My only complaint was the bathrooms in the bungalows seems to be dated and need to be upgraded.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

After a previous bad experience we stumbled upon this Heavenly place and couldnt have been happier. All the staff are amazingly friendly and cant do enough to make you feel special and comfortable. We stayed in the most basic accommodation which was perfectly adequate and clean. Lovely gardens and swimming pool. As mentioned by others excellent breakfast and you cant beat the BBQ sat on the waters edge with yummy food and live music. We were even dancing on the beach!
I would recommend this resort to anyone whatever age group. Its great and I wish we'd had more time there.

Room Tip: Our room was most basic so no fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed just for 1 night here after being disappointed by another place we had booked just along the beach. The staff were so obliging, they even fitted mosquito nets for us just for the 1 night as we had been plagued by them in the 'other place'. The resort is very well kept and has beautiful grounds & pool and good breakfast. They have a great barbecue on the beach in the evening with live music. Everything was excellent including the price. I would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: garden rooms have aircon, but no fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherbella-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent resort! Wonderful swimming pool, nice beach.
Very good and extensive breakfast: pancakes, fresh fruit, toasts, different kinds of eggs (bacon, sausage), cornflakes, orange juice, milk, coffee.
We slept in garden hut (€25/night): excellent price!
In the evening you could choose between fish barbecue (barracuda, shark, shrimps,..) or à la carte. The fish was very fresh and tasty. (they have to serve rice and fish at same time!
You can have a cocktail drink between 5pm - 7pm (happy hour) with magnificent sunset view for 100Baht/cocktail. Cool cocktail barkeeper (mate).
We booked this after reading a lot of (disappointing) reviews, but were very happy with our holiday location.
The staff was very friendly (daily 'How do you do?'). The girls at the reception are not as friendly as the rest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thijs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

After a bad storm and stuck in Hadd Yao this place was our saviour! At silly o'clock we had to wake up the manager to check in and he was amazing,. He very kindly gave us a great room which was very comfy and had everything we needed. We woke up to a fantastic view, lovely pool, yummy breakfast and friendly staff who went out of their way to help us. It was more than we could have ever expected. If you want a place that you will enjoy, where you feel looked after, with great facilities then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a very nice stay in this resort right on a beautiful clean beach. The bungalows were clean with good beds, safe, airco and fridge. Beautiful pool with good sunbeds. Every night barbecue on the beach with fresh fish. Very friendly staff and manager. We will definitely come back.
Greetings from the kiwi family.

Room Tip: The seaview bungalow is amazing to watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
569 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#38 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
249 reviews
6.0 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#75 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
556 reviews
5.8 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#33 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#21 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbay Resort

Address: 58 / 5 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $25 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Longbay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longbay resort is peacefully located directly on the beach at Haad Yao beach, on the northwest of Koh Phangan just about 30 minutes to Haad Rin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Longbay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longbay Hotel Koh Phangan
Long Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing