We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longbay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Longbay Resort
Ranked #40 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed 7 nights in January and was upgraded twice; once to beach front hotel and second to family bungalow which is very nice also facing the beach.

Resort grounds are excellent and they ensure the weeds are cleared from the beach every morning. The beach Had Yao is a nice beach but once the tide rolls out it's not good for swimming. I rented a motor bike and bombed around the island and found some nice beaches to swim regardless of tide.

The staff were friendly and always smiling and ready to help.

My only complaint was the bathrooms in the bungalows seems to be dated and need to be upgraded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    62
    30
    16
    19
See reviews for
29
93
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

After a previous bad experience we stumbled upon this Heavenly place and couldnt have been happier. All the staff are amazingly friendly and cant do enough to make you feel special and comfortable. We stayed in the most basic accommodation which was perfectly adequate and clean. Lovely gardens and swimming pool. As mentioned by others excellent breakfast and you cant beat the BBQ sat on the waters edge with yummy food and live music. We were even dancing on the beach!
I would recommend this resort to anyone whatever age group. Its great and I wish we'd had more time there.

Room Tip: Our room was most basic so no fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed just for 1 night here after being disappointed by another place we had booked just along the beach. The staff were so obliging, they even fitted mosquito nets for us just for the 1 night as we had been plagued by them in the 'other place'. The resort is very well kept and has beautiful grounds & pool and good breakfast. They have a great barbecue on the beach in the evening with live music. Everything was excellent including the price. I would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: garden rooms have aircon, but no fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherbella-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent resort! Wonderful swimming pool, nice beach.
Very good and extensive breakfast: pancakes, fresh fruit, toasts, different kinds of eggs (bacon, sausage), cornflakes, orange juice, milk, coffee.
We slept in garden hut (€25/night): excellent price!
In the evening you could choose between fish barbecue (barracuda, shark, shrimps,..) or à la carte. The fish was very fresh and tasty. (they have to serve rice and fish at same time!
You can have a cocktail drink between 5pm - 7pm (happy hour) with magnificent sunset view for 100Baht/cocktail. Cool cocktail barkeeper (mate).
We booked this after reading a lot of (disappointing) reviews, but were very happy with our holiday location.
The staff was very friendly (daily 'How do you do?'). The girls at the reception are not as friendly as the rest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thijs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

After a bad storm and stuck in Hadd Yao this place was our saviour! At silly o'clock we had to wake up the manager to check in and he was amazing,. He very kindly gave us a great room which was very comfy and had everything we needed. We woke up to a fantastic view, lovely pool, yummy breakfast and friendly staff who went out of their way to help us. It was more than we could have ever expected. If you want a place that you will enjoy, where you feel looked after, with great facilities then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a very nice stay in this resort right on a beautiful clean beach. The bungalows were clean with good beds, safe, airco and fridge. Beautiful pool with good sunbeds. Every night barbecue on the beach with fresh fish. Very friendly staff and manager. We will definitely come back.
Greetings from the kiwi family.

Room Tip: The seaview bungalow is amazing to watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I booked a couple of nights at the Liongbay resort thinking it would be step up from the sort of places we had been staying in so far in SEA. It wasn't any better than accommodation half the price, the food was average and the staff only okay.

The pool was nice and maybe the larger rooms would have been better, but I was unimpressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phangan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.4 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.8 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#29 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#28 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#71 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#63 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbay Resort

Property: Longbay Resort
Address: Moo 8 58 5 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Longbay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longbay resort is peacefully located directly on the beach at Haad Yao beach, on the northwest of Koh Phangan just about 30 minutes to Haad Rin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Longbay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longbay Hotel Koh Phangan
Long Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing