We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent resort,Dieter D.”
Review of Longbay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Longbay Resort
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent resort,Dieter D.”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived there at after 10pm,tired and very hungry.Normaly the kitchen closed at 10pm but they managed to cook us a meal and while we waited the resort manager sorted our check-in so that was realy nice.Overall it was a great experience there with very friendly staff,clean and spacious bungalows.Nice swimming pool and beach and they do a delicious bbq on the beach.
Highly recommended resort!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    68
    37
    15
    20
See reviews for
31
104
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Everyday, there is a barbecue on the beach for dinner. It is not expensive. Twenty per cent discount with the coupons they gave us. Excellent!!

The taxi fares with the hotel are a bit expensive. You can save money by taking a taxi directly on the road. Many taxis all day long.

I recommend you this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azidim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I wouldn't recommend staying here - the rooms were pretty shabby and a bit stinky during the rain (although that is probably to be expected in Thailand) and the staff were a bit odd. The whole vibe was a little intense and to be honest I didn't think much of Haad Yao - nice beach but we didn't find any good restaurants and it had very little character. Avoid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We booked 3 nights and stayed for 7 nights. The manager and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and maintained. The beachfront location was excellent. There were ample padded loungers by the pool and on the beach. The included buffet breakfast was good. Each evening there was a barbecue set up on the beach. The front desk was very willing to arrange tours and to make travel arrangements for us. We would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My friend and i stayed at Long Bay for a week. There was an initial muck up with our booking which was fixed in 10-15 minutes. Room was basic but clean. Staff where very friendly always there to help if you need it. Cocktail bar was great. Amazing views of the beach.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank toni b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We arrived at Long Bay Resort a little after 10 PM, after an incredibly long trip from Chiang Mai which included a flight, a night at the airport, a 20-minute walk with our luggage, a van ride, a taxi, a 7-hour bus ride and a 3-hour boat ride. All we wanted was to grab something to eat and go to sleep. You can imagine our disappointment and disbelief when the lady at the reception told us that there’s been “a problem” with our reservation (which had been made over 2 weeks in advance) and the hotel is full. So they sent us to their sister hotel, Sea Garden 2, and gave us a “special suite” there. From reading other reviews, I see they’ve been doing this trick for a while now. And honestly I don’t care if it’s their fault or not.
Of course we were extremely upset. We told them that we would go and sleep there for the night, but we want them to settle things straight and give us the room we had reserved the next day. The manager, who was nice and polite, told us they would try.
Now, the suite at Sea Garden 2 was nice, but there are a few problems with this whole thing. First of all, the room was absolutely infested with spiders and crawling/flying insects. A 2.5 inch long spider joined our shower that night, and there were many smaller ones inside the room and on the walls.
Second, this resort (Sea Garden 2) was still under construction when we stayed there. So at 7 AM the workers started working and making extremely loud noise right next to our room.
But the worst thing is that you’re not where you want to be. Sea Garden 2, which has only rooms with no other facilities, is a 3-minute drive (or 15-20 minute walk) from Longbay resort, and it doesn’t have a beach. So if you want to go to the beach or pool, you have to go to Longbay resort (you can arrange with them to pick you up and bring you back). Want to get something from your room while you’re at the beach? Forget it, your room’s not here.
On the morning of the second day, we went to the reception hoping they would give us the room we reserved. The lady told us that they tried, and the best thing they could do is offer us a tiny, tiny room at Longbay (it was probably 4 times smaller than the garden cottage we had reserved). If I were the hotel manager, I would be ashamed to even make that offer without a compensation. In the end we stayed at Sea Garden 2 for the 3 nights.
About the hotel and surroundings : The beach is very nice, with soft sand and clear water. The pool is good. Breakfast was okay, but the staff seemed to take a very long time to refill the milk or pancakes whenever they ran out. Aside from breakfast, we ate at the restaurant once and it was awful. The spaghetti Bolognese was disgusting (I swear the sauce was made of ketchup and had little to no meat), and when we asked for parmesan cheese, they gave us an embarrassingly tiny amount that would cover no more than two spoonfuls. Look around the beach for much better options. The restaurant at Sea Garden 2 is highly recommended.
Overall, we had a very bad experience with Longbay Resort. The manager tried to make it up to us by driving us to places we needed, but it’s not enough. I only wanted what I had paid for.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We made reservations through their website. But the person who is behind this website is not managing the hotel. So our room (that was paid for) was gone and we were put in another room ( villa at the pool). The manager at the hotel was very nice and did his utmost to make things right. So the management on site is good but they have problems with the organisation.
The hotelrooms are basic, clean, not too expensive. Breakfast is limited, personnel doesn't speak a lot of english. Lots of clean towels, good for when you go diving. The beach is lovely, nice fine white sand. Dinner (once) was good.
Chaloklum diving school has a small office there (they are great!!).
Pool is clean.
All in all, better make the reservation directly to avoid problems. (frontdesk@longbay-resort.com) or call.

Room Tip: bungolows by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.9 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#68 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#74 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
See Through Resort Haad Yao
See Through Resort Haad Yao
#53 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#33 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbay Resort

Property: Longbay Resort
Address: 58 / 5 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Longbay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longbay resort is peacefully located directly on the beach at Haad Yao beach, on the northwest of Koh Phangan just about 30 minutes to Haad Rin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Longbay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longbay Hotel Koh Phangan
Long Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing