We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longbay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Longbay Resort
Ranked #40 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Awesome stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My friend and i stayed at Long Bay for a week. There was an initial muck up with our booking which was fixed in 10-15 minutes. Room was basic but clean. Staff where very friendly always there to help if you need it. Cocktail bar was great. Amazing views of the beach.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank toni b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    62
    30
    16
    19
See reviews for
29
92
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We arrived at Long Bay Resort a little after 10 PM, after an incredibly long trip from Chiang Mai which included a flight, a night at the airport, a 20-minute walk with our luggage, a van ride, a taxi, a 7-hour bus ride and a 3-hour boat ride. All we wanted was to grab something to eat and go to sleep. You can imagine our disappointment and disbelief when the lady at the reception told us that there’s been “a problem” with our reservation (which had been made over 2 weeks in advance) and the hotel is full. So they sent us to their sister hotel, Sea Garden 2, and gave us a “special suite” there. From reading other reviews, I see they’ve been doing this trick for a while now. And honestly I don’t care if it’s their fault or not.
Of course we were extremely upset. We told them that we would go and sleep there for the night, but we want them to settle things straight and give us the room we had reserved the next day. The manager, who was nice and polite, told us they would try.
Now, the suite at Sea Garden 2 was nice, but there are a few problems with this whole thing. First of all, the room was absolutely infested with spiders and crawling/flying insects. A 2.5 inch long spider joined our shower that night, and there were many smaller ones inside the room and on the walls.
Second, this resort (Sea Garden 2) was still under construction when we stayed there. So at 7 AM the workers started working and making extremely loud noise right next to our room.
But the worst thing is that you’re not where you want to be. Sea Garden 2, which has only rooms with no other facilities, is a 3-minute drive (or 15-20 minute walk) from Longbay resort, and it doesn’t have a beach. So if you want to go to the beach or pool, you have to go to Longbay resort (you can arrange with them to pick you up and bring you back). Want to get something from your room while you’re at the beach? Forget it, your room’s not here.
On the morning of the second day, we went to the reception hoping they would give us the room we reserved. The lady told us that they tried, and the best thing they could do is offer us a tiny, tiny room at Longbay (it was probably 4 times smaller than the garden cottage we had reserved). If I were the hotel manager, I would be ashamed to even make that offer without a compensation. In the end we stayed at Sea Garden 2 for the 3 nights.
About the hotel and surroundings : The beach is very nice, with soft sand and clear water. The pool is good. Breakfast was okay, but the staff seemed to take a very long time to refill the milk or pancakes whenever they ran out. Aside from breakfast, we ate at the restaurant once and it was awful. The spaghetti Bolognese was disgusting (I swear the sauce was made of ketchup and had little to no meat), and when we asked for parmesan cheese, they gave us an embarrassingly tiny amount that would cover no more than two spoonfuls. Look around the beach for much better options. The restaurant at Sea Garden 2 is highly recommended.
Overall, we had a very bad experience with Longbay Resort. The manager tried to make it up to us by driving us to places we needed, but it’s not enough. I only wanted what I had paid for.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phangan hotels

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We made reservations through their website. But the person who is behind this website is not managing the hotel. So our room (that was paid for) was gone and we were put in another room ( villa at the pool). The manager at the hotel was very nice and did his utmost to make things right. So the management on site is good but they have problems with the organisation.
The hotelrooms are basic, clean, not too expensive. Breakfast is limited, personnel doesn't speak a lot of english. Lots of clean towels, good for when you go diving. The beach is lovely, nice fine white sand. Dinner (once) was good.
Chaloklum diving school has a small office there (they are great!!).
Pool is clean.
All in all, better make the reservation directly to avoid problems. (frontdesk@longbay-resort.com) or call.

Room Tip: bungolows by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Lovely location of a beautifully spread out resort on a nice part of Koh Phangan. The gardens were beautiful and the room/bungalow was simple but clean and large with a nice verandah to relax on. Swimming pool area was also nice and the breakfast was great and dinner was nice too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I are backpacking and we stayed at Long Bay for a couple of nights to treat ouselves to something a bit nicer than our usual basic accomodation. Our bungalow was nice enough for the price and had fresh towels everyday and a nice buffet breakfast included so we could fill ourselves up on that in the morning!

BUT when we checked out we told the receptionist that we were going to Koh Tao and asked her if she knew how much the taxi to the ferry port was. To our suprise she said the boat was full and something about a big festival on Koh Tao so all the accomodation there would be full too - funny you'd think we'd of heard about it...
We knew there was another ferry at 2pm so we asked about it and she said it would be full but she'd phone and check for us anyway. She was talking in Thai on the phone so we couldn't understand her but when she put the phone she said sorry that boat is full as well and then said why not stay another night here?! I had a gut instinct that she was lying so we asked for a taxi to the port. She then tried to direct us to a hotel near the port so we said no thanks we'd sort ourselves out. The taxi dropped us off at the port - we walked straight to the ticket office and bought 2 tickets for Koh Tao for the 2pm boat! When we left the boat was far from full!

Furious that she'd been so smiley and yet lied to us so easily and I wonder if she's done the same to others and it's worked!

I wouldn't say don't stay here but don't try and organise anything through the reception as they aren't honest in the slightest!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rachh121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longbayresort_58, Frontdesk at Longbay Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Hello..There..
We would love to say thank you for your review even it was a bad side but all it will push us to do better job in a future but in the same time we are very sorry to hear too.That about your problem..I think it was a misunderstaning about information that you had.
First If you were to koh tao by that period you have seen a busy time there which we inform you that we would like you to have plan a or b if something will happens.
Second The boat company that we booking for all guest here is Lomprayah which have only 8.30 and 13.00 to go to koh Tao that what we tried to book for you and it was full so we inform you to try by yourself at the pier for another company called seatran express which have only 8.30 and 14.00 to go to koh Tao [ that you got it by walk ]
The last we never try to convince a guest to do anything by a commercial trick .Only we just try to do our best to serve you all And we hope you will come back next time and we will do it better
Thank you
Longbay Frontdesk / KC -Air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and ran !!! No complaints about the basic bungalows or the resort but the resort manager on duty who seemed really nice in the beginning turned out to be a complete fruitcake after 3 days. Do NOT rent scooter via the reception.

Have things very clear with the reception staff as they will screw you and tell you all sorts of rules that will cost you money.
The day we left the resort the new manager started who seemed a complete weirdo. He looked off his head stoned and he was just too loud. We overheard him saying that he had personal problems. We were not surprised.

Breakfastarea is very unwelcoming. Very limited choice. If you order food from the menu during the day it takes ages before they have the bill. Took up to 10 minutes several times and there were no other guest and it was a bill for 2 drinks and a salad. Everything just seemed very complicated and it really wasn't. Maybe it's a good idea to reduce the number of (15?) gardeners working there every day for a few extra bar/restaurant staff.

Too bad about this resort. It looks nice, the beach is great, the dogs are loving, but the complete mismanagement just ruins it.

If you already have a booking, stay there, but enjoy breakfast/meals and great staff at the end of the bay at Happy Restaurant and Bungalows (next to the large Bayview Resort and walk across the wooden bridge)... The Happy place has very basic bungalows with a 5 star view, fantastic food and lovely people.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connor69ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Having arrived at the resort i was initally staying in a Garden Hut i world advise against this unless your happy sleeping with dead flies, air con that looks as if it hasnt been cleaned for 10 years , windows that are taped to the wall and generally not very nice!. The Garden Cottages are much nicer and cleaner. However expect wildlife noises there are alot of dogs around. The Pool is nice and clean and a stunning beach there is a great massage place just a short walk from the resort called Long Bay Massage. The service is excellent and some of the best seafood i have tasted. There is a nice place just a short walk past the massage place called Hadd Yao resort which also serves excellent food and fantastic service just ask for Charlie!. I The Long Bay resort is nice however i would look around at different places first if you are willing to blow your budget. Long Bay Resort is great if you want cheap accommodation, cheap and great food and a very relaxing time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.4 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.8 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#29 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#28 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#72 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#63 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbay Resort

Property: Longbay Resort
Address: Moo 8 58 5 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Longbay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longbay resort is peacefully located directly on the beach at Haad Yao beach, on the northwest of Koh Phangan just about 30 minutes to Haad Rin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Longbay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longbay Hotel Koh Phangan
Long Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing