We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
68
80
38
17
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
80
38
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden bungalowlovely beachdiving schooldeeper waterkoh phanganstayed here for nightsbig poola great place to staywalk along the beachbars and restaurantslow seasonfull moon partyhutaccommodationjojoislandsunset
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 224 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I are backpacking and we stayed at Long Bay for a couple of nights to treat ouselves to something a bit nicer than our usual basic accomodation. Our bungalow was nice enough for the price and had fresh towels everyday and a nice buffet breakfast included so we could fill ourselves up on that in the morning!

BUT when we checked out we told the receptionist that we were going to Koh Tao and asked her if she knew how much the taxi to the ferry port was. To our suprise she said the boat was full and something about a big festival on Koh Tao so all the accomodation there would be full too - funny you'd think we'd of heard about it...
We knew there was another ferry at 2pm so we asked about it and she said it would be full but she'd phone and check for us anyway. She was talking in Thai on the phone so we couldn't understand her but when she put the phone she said sorry that boat is full as well and then said why not stay another night here?! I had a gut instinct that she was lying so we asked for a taxi to the port. She then tried to direct us to a hotel near the port so we said no thanks we'd sort ourselves out. The taxi dropped us off at the port - we walked straight to the ticket office and bought 2 tickets for Koh Tao for the 2pm boat! When we left the boat was far from full!

Furious that she'd been so smiley and yet lied to us so easily and I wonder if she's done the same to others and it's worked!

I wouldn't say don't stay here but don't try and organise anything through the reception as they aren't honest in the slightest!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank rachh121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longbayresort_58, Frontdesk at Longbay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

Hello..There..
We would love to say thank you for your review even it was a bad side but all it will push us to do better job in a future but in the same time we are very sorry to hear too.That about your problem..I think it was a misunderstaning about information that you had.
First If you were to koh tao by that period you have seen a busy time there which we inform you that we would like you to have plan a or b if something will happens.
Second The boat company that we booking for all guest here is Lomprayah which have only 8.30 and 13.00 to go to koh Tao that what we tried to book for you and it was full so we inform you to try by yourself at the pier for another company called seatran express which have only 8.30 and 14.00 to go to koh Tao [ that you got it by walk ]
The last we never try to convince a guest to do anything by a commercial trick .Only we just try to do our best to serve you all And we hope you will come back next time and we will do it better
Thank you
Longbay Frontdesk / KC -Air

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and ran !!! No complaints about the basic bungalows or the resort but the resort manager on duty who seemed really nice in the beginning turned out to be a complete fruitcake after 3 days. Do NOT rent scooter via the reception.

Have things very clear with the reception staff as they will screw you and tell you all sorts of rules that will cost you money.
The day we left the resort the new manager started who seemed a complete weirdo. He looked off his head stoned and he was just too loud. We overheard him saying that he had personal problems. We were not surprised.

Breakfastarea is very unwelcoming. Very limited choice. If you order food from the menu during the day it takes ages before they have the bill. Took up to 10 minutes several times and there were no other guest and it was a bill for 2 drinks and a salad. Everything just seemed very complicated and it really wasn't. Maybe it's a good idea to reduce the number of (15?) gardeners working there every day for a few extra bar/restaurant staff.

Too bad about this resort. It looks nice, the beach is great, the dogs are loving, but the complete mismanagement just ruins it.

If you already have a booking, stay there, but enjoy breakfast/meals and great staff at the end of the bay at Happy Restaurant and Bungalows (next to the large Bayview Resort and walk across the wooden bridge)... The Happy place has very basic bungalows with a 5 star view, fantastic food and lovely people.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connor69ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Having arrived at the resort i was initally staying in a Garden Hut i world advise against this unless your happy sleeping with dead flies, air con that looks as if it hasnt been cleaned for 10 years , windows that are taped to the wall and generally not very nice!. The Garden Cottages are much nicer and cleaner. However expect wildlife noises there are alot of dogs around. The Pool is nice and clean and a stunning beach there is a great massage place just a short walk from the resort called Long Bay Massage. The service is excellent and some of the best seafood i have tasted. There is a nice place just a short walk past the massage place called Hadd Yao resort which also serves excellent food and fantastic service just ask for Charlie!. I The Long Bay resort is nice however i would look around at different places first if you are willing to blow your budget. Long Bay Resort is great if you want cheap accommodation, cheap and great food and a very relaxing time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We spent 4 nights in the large Beach Villa, beautifully located right on the beach with a fine porch overlooking the bay and the lovely beach. The garden is nice and well kept and the pool is large and the pool area spacious. The staff in the reception is friendly but is not able to give you much information on tours and sigthseeings. Breakfast is rather simple and was much better at other resorts we visited. Restaurant staff is not very skilled, does not speak/understand much English and reminded us of the confused Spanish waiter Manuel in Fawlty Towers. You get much better food for the same money at the nearby Haad Yao Bayview Resort. All in all a nice resort with fair value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottrup_friis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

First feeling can be medium or not good at all but let things going on and wait a few hours after your travel to appreciate the place. A short but very nice, clean and quiet beach with 32° clear water, white sand and coconuts ! Nice staff and people. Large room with normal comodities. Extraordinary food !!! Never eaten so good on travelling !!! Good place also for diving : local, Koh Tao, Sail Rock or Marine Park... A little beat expensive for the country but everything can be negociated and it is really worth to go; west and north west part of Koh Phangan are very nice and quiet place. All other comodities around as phone, interner high speed... if you need but not disturbing. Enjoy...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocoandco75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews