We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for short stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Orchid Resort
Ranked #85 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed (only one night) in a fan bungalow (400 B). The bungalow and the bathroom are mostly clean.
The owner (a woman) was very friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant was ok and the taxi service to Thong Sala was cheap (150 B per person) for such a long drive.
The beach in front of the bungalows wasn't so beautiful but you have the view right to the small island Koh Ma which is about 200m away.
Take a massage at the beach!This is cheap, very relaxing and you have a view right to Koh Ma.
For short stays Royal Orchid is a good place to stay, but for longer stays there are more beautiful places on Koh Phangan!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gecko1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was definitely the worst (!) hotel we had in Thailand!

We booked via internet and got a confirmation, but when we arrived, the staff claimed not to have received a booking. When I showed them the written booking, they declined to give us a room for the confirmed sum. They didn't want to serve the ( included) breakfast and wanted 1/3 more money for the room ( without breakfast). This would be 1200 Baht for an ugly and small room without breakfast! When we insisted, they tried to trick us into giving us a much smaller room without a/c.

The room was shabby, uncomfortable and rather dirty. The towels had holes, and ants were crawling in the shower. Dogs barked the whole night, and the furniture war broken (eg. terrace chairs). Definitely not worth the money.

The staff was very unfriendly - no sign of the famous thai smile. The next afternoon, we gave them money for one night (minus breakfast) and left.

If you want to stay near the Ko Ma island, the Island View Cabana beach bungalows are a better choice, and less pricy. As we were very disappointed, we left that beach instead and went to Haad Salad.

NEVER AGAIN!!! STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

In the low season you can have a room for 600 bath with A/C. The bed is clean and they have hot water! The beach near the resort is full of boats , so you just walk a little bit and there is a beautiful beach. In the night, the sunset is amazing .......You have to eat the food of the resort or of the neighbors resort . The staff is cool and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Beautiful location right on the beach Mae haad. The rooms were very basic with cold water showers and they were not that clean. We had lots of " visitors" including a lizard, roaches and spiders in the room, but it was bed bug free! The price seemed steep for what you got compared to other places nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moderatetraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Mae Had is one of my favourite beaches in Thailand. We have just came back from a short weekend in Koh Phangan and I already plan to book our next stay!! But I promised myself I will write this. As much as I dislike being negative and despite my endless love of all Thai, Oh my God! The stuff is sooooo rude. So so unpleasant! We did not stay here in the end. This is second time we came across such hostile attitude in the same place. Last year we went there for lunch from a nearby bay and, without going into details, they have managed to put me in a bad mood and it takes a lot to do that! I do not think they are thai in there. Maybe they are burmeese or cambodians (who are payed very badly but then again, I spoke to the manager...) Anyhoo, to sum up- stunning bay, lovely snorkel, dont stay here or dine and you will be very very happy! ( we stayed in a sweet resort next door, beach bungalo 1000bt but not sure if its more in high season, lovely food, not much english spoken but we were very happy.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ksnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Dirty beach, boats in front of the bungalow making a lot of noise especially very early in the morning and water dirty so.
Very unprofessional and unpleasant staff.

When I booked they forgot to tell me that if I choose fan room it means no hot water.

They do not care at all about the room ( awful) and the beach.

It could be such a nice place but because of their lack of care it was a nightmare.

They just try to get as much money as they can doing as little as possible.

Do not go there!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerEU27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

If you want to stay here because of the full moon party, then don't! The resort offers a taxiservice (which is very expensive (400baht pp), but thats on the whole island) anyway we took the same taxi back and it cost us 2 hours to get back (only 15km), because we had to wait for more people. We were already waiting with 8 people, but the driver wanted more people or we had to pay him more. So you are warned!
The staff is okay though! I heard some negative reviews about one guy, but they were all okay!
The rooms are not much, but you pay not a lot.
Royal Orchid is a good place if you want to chill, relax and enjoy peace and not pay a lot of money!
Last advice: bring a mosquitonet or spray!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mahlegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#34 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
285 reviews
5.2 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
5.2 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Wild & Wandering Backpacker Hostel & Bar
5.2 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Resort

Address: Maehaad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $16 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Orchid Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing