We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sunset is incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Orchid Resort
Ranked #84 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed June 23, 2012

In the low season you can have a room for 600 bath with A/C. The bed is clean and they have hot water! The beach near the resort is full of boats , so you just walk a little bit and there is a beautiful beach. In the night, the sunset is amazing .......You have to eat the food of the resort or of the neighbors resort . The staff is cool and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanie_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

Beautiful location right on the beach Mae haad. The rooms were very basic with cold water showers and they were not that clean. We had lots of " visitors" including a lizard, roaches and spiders in the room, but it was bed bug free! The price seemed steep for what you got compared to other places nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moderatetraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Mae Had is one of my favourite beaches in Thailand. We have just came back from a short weekend in Koh Phangan and I already plan to book our next stay!! But I promised myself I will write this. As much as I dislike being negative and despite my endless love of all Thai, Oh my God! The stuff is sooooo rude. So so unpleasant! We did not stay here in the end. This is second time we came across such hostile attitude in the same place. Last year we went there for lunch from a nearby bay and, without going into details, they have managed to put me in a bad mood and it takes a lot to do that! I do not think they are thai in there. Maybe they are burmeese or cambodians (who are payed very badly but then again, I spoke to the manager...) Anyhoo, to sum up- stunning bay, lovely snorkel, dont stay here or dine and you will be very very happy! ( we stayed in a sweet resort next door, beach bungalo 1000bt but not sure if its more in high season, lovely food, not much english spoken but we were very happy.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ksnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Dirty beach, boats in front of the bungalow making a lot of noise especially very early in the morning and water dirty so.
Very unprofessional and unpleasant staff.

When I booked they forgot to tell me that if I choose fan room it means no hot water.

They do not care at all about the room ( awful) and the beach.

It could be such a nice place but because of their lack of care it was a nightmare.

They just try to get as much money as they can doing as little as possible.

Do not go there!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerEU27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

If you want to stay here because of the full moon party, then don't! The resort offers a taxiservice (which is very expensive (400baht pp), but thats on the whole island) anyway we took the same taxi back and it cost us 2 hours to get back (only 15km), because we had to wait for more people. We were already waiting with 8 people, but the driver wanted more people or we had to pay him more. So you are warned!
The staff is okay though! I heard some negative reviews about one guy, but they were all okay!
The rooms are not much, but you pay not a lot.
Royal Orchid is a good place if you want to chill, relax and enjoy peace and not pay a lot of money!
Last advice: bring a mosquitonet or spray!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mahlegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed at Royal Orchid for 8 nights in September 2010, the room was priced at 300 Bht a night for bungalow with fan (no air con, that's for tourists!), in small ensuite room with cold shower (you really don't need heat!).
Considering that we stayed for 8 nights, it would have been customary for them to give us a little discount, but our request was met by lies about "asking the manager", even though we knew that some other people in the resort were getting a discount for long stays. We hired an automatic scooter/motorbike from them that drank petrol like it was going out of fashion (6 liters for one day is ridiculous - Koh Pan Ngan isn't that big!!). When we asked them about the high petrol consumption, we were told that the bikes take 1 litre for 10 km!!! Come on, if you've ever ridden a bike before, you know that's ridiculous! As a comparison, we hired a bike from Nawin's up the road, and used less than 2 liters for double the distance. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to work out that there's something wrong with those bikes!

Anyway, we ate at the restaurant once. Food was okaaaaay, but the coconut curries didn't contain any coconut milk! They looked like Tom Yam! A little strange, and was more expensive than the other restaurants on the beach.

That said, the location is amazing! Mae Haad has the best snorkling - go around the side of Koh Maa you won't be disappointed! But rent your snorkle from one of the shops down the road as it's waaaaaay cheaper! - and the sunset view is out of this world! If you are happy with 'basic', and look for your friendly faces elsewhere, you'll be happy with Royal Orchid. Most of the staff are lovely, but the main reception guy (the chubby one) needs a lesson in human nature! Shame he spoit this review for everyone else!

As we said, we stayed here for 8 amazing days. The accommodation is good for backpackers expecting no frills (although AC is available for extra cost), the views and beach are amazing, but look elsewhere for smiles and tastier cheap eats!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samsticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at Orchid Resort in April 2010. We had booked a bungalow with AC for 3 persons and they were quite good with comfortable beds, the pressure in the shower was also very good and the cleanliness was good enough. The lunch was not good and the staff nochalant, so we took dinner at another restaurant. When we got home at night had AC leaked and extra bed was completely soaked. We had to sleep in all three double bed. I pointed out this morning and said we wanted the money back for the extra bed and AC, because it could not be used. We did not get your money back and the staff was on the verge of unpleasant. The sunset was beautiful and adorable all sounds from the jungle. Too bad no staff dedicated bit more for the place has potential. We went on to Koh Tao where we lived in a cheaper and better bungalow, but we missed the sunset.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anette_Aland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.5 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.1 mi away
Maehaad Bay Resort
Maehaad Bay Resort
#34 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
287 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#41 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Haad Yao Resort
Haad Yao Resort
#71 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
89 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
Jungle Hut Bungalow and Hotel
#56 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Resort

Address: Maehaad Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Orchid Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing