We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic location”
Review of Star Hut Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Hut Bungalows
Ranked #78 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic location”
Reviewed January 6, 2008

This was a welcome change from busier beaches with no hawkers, just a great bay with soft sand and a chilled out atmosphere. The bungalow we stayed in was fine with a lovely view of the beach though we were not fully on the beach we still could see, hear and smell the sea! The bungalow had a mosquito net, bathroom with hot water, a lovely verandah - everything you could hope for on a chilled out getaway. We stayed here over Xmas so this was the perfect retreat after the Full Moon Party in Haad Rin - which we got to via longtail boat - don't bother hiring a bike or jeep to get here - the road is so bad its not worth the hassle, the remoteness due to the poor road is a good thing!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BooDiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Very basic... the bungalows are very close to one another and you hear the neighbours all the time... It also felt a bit boxy, dark and very (!!) warm- the fan was of little to no use! The row of bungalows looks right into your own and you have no privacy as a result.

The beach at Ao thong nai pan is great though, but we were happy to move to the Santhiya and get a lot more privacy.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank louisev1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

Stayed at Star Hut in October 2006. It's a great place to chill out. There is really not much to do except swim, sunbathe and read. So you probably don't want to spend a month here. There are plenty of books available in the office or at near by shops. (I sometimes find it hard to find books when on vacation in Asia.)Your biggest decisions will be...when to get up, which bathing suit to wear and what to eat.

I agree that the staff needs to try smiling once in a while. Pay for everything as you go. DO NOT charge anything to the room. We found "mathematical errors" happend every so often.

Truly a good value. The beach is nice, but could use a bit of a tidy. Don't be afraid of all the dogs. They are all really nice. They will just plop themselves right next to you if they think you have food. (Having 7 dogs suddenly surround you can be quite unnerving for some.)

Great food everywhere. Good value. There's a few different restaurants around, but Flip Flop was great. Don't expect good service. You will get your food when it is ready. Where do you have to be anyway, right?

There was a little construction while we were there. Nothing bothersome. It's most likely finished now.

Go there to relax and relax some more.

  • Liked — The deck and my hamock. ( Had to buy a hamock)
  • Disliked — Someone stole my sunglasses from my deck
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We ended up here because Panviman was full. We got a tiny and dark bungalow with air con for 1200 baht a night - on Koh Tao we paid the same price for a fantastic bungalow with TV, fridge and cupboards. The bathroom was full of cockrouches so we ended up leaving after the second night. This is by far the worst accomodation we've had. Locationwise it is fantastic, and the food here is really good. Staff is also very friendly. But I am sure you can find nice places on this beach. Warning: there is construction work going on everywhere on this beach, including Star Huts.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bungalow was awful.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Colognejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed at Star Huts in April 2007.

The location is amazing, set just off the best beach I have ever seen. The huts were comfortable and clean, and the bathroom was fine. The huts are spaced out well and all with their own veranda to sit on and enjoy the view. Thong Nai Pan Noi is a great place - very chilled out and relaxing, small, but with all the facilities that you need. If you are going to the Full Moon Party then the speedboat is good value and they run at several times.

Star Huts had a relaxed atmosphere and the food was pretty good too and good value. The staff were generally helpful but could do with learning how to smile.

I would really recommend this place and would love to go back myself. I recommend you book in advance as there were lots of disappointed people being turned away most days

  • Liked — The location and the chilled out vibe
  • Disliked — not much - staff not the happiest bunch
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Billyshambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2007

Had originally booked at another resort (Thongtapan) which turned out to be terrible. So we walked down to the other end of the beach to the friendly Star Hut. The huts are clean and cute, all have little porches from which you can see the beach and the sea. The staff is beyond nice and they can help you with transportation or booking other trips. We booked our taxi/ferry/bus/train trip back to bangkok with them and I'm so glad we did. They are really trustworthy; the owner is super nice and speaks english well. The restaurant is right on the beach; loved having breakfast there under the shady trees in the morning. I think our hut was a really good value as well.

The huts are next to each other but spaced really well, and staggered so that the porch of one hut is not directly next to the porch of another hut. (see pics) The rooms are basic but clean, have air conditioning and/or fan, mosquito nets, and hot water.

The Star Hut has 3 or 4 internet stations and are cheaper to use than the internet places in the town. They have a good laundry service that gets you the laundry back the same day. In view of the sea, under some shady palms, they have a relaxing massage area and (after trying all the places) are the best massage around.

Most importantly ... and I can't stress this enough ... they have no construction going on. Many of the other resorts on the beach have messy and ugly construction sites (not to mention loud), which they fail to mention when you're booking ... but NOT Star Hut. It is so peaceful and relaxing there ... I spent days just swinging in my porch's hammock, reading, and watching the waves ..... it's a nice beach community atmosphere. I miss it already!

I highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank Mia_dlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Bungalows
Dolphin Bungalows
#50 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#19 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hut Bungalows

Property: Star Hut Bungalows
Address: Ao Thong Nai Pan Noy (North Beach), Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Star Hut Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing