We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candle Hut Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candle Hut Resort
Ranked #65 of 128 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

They gave us a tiny discount because it was off season. We looked at a bungalow on the beach, and were told they would hold it for us for 24 hours. When we got back the next day, that room was gone, and we had to take the one right next to the bar if we wanted to be right on the water. They told us the music from the bar would be off by 10pm, but it played until all hours more than once. We complained almost every day, and they always said they would fix it and didn't. The bar was DESERTED almost all the time, and we were the only guests there who didn't have small children, so we never figured out the point of blaring loud obnoxious music all night.

The room was tiny, the carpet was filthy, the door didn't seal up very well against mosquitoes (and no mosquito nets), the sheets and towels were stained, and they only changed our sheets once in our entire 7 day stay. When we checked out, they told us they could provide taxi service, but even though checkout time is noon, they told us we couldn't have a taxi until 3pm, so we had to arrange our own in the end.

The staff was friendly, and we did have an amazing view of the beach. During the day it was a nice, relaxing place, with lots of hammocks and beach chairs (and a pool, for what it's worth, but it was teeny, and right on the ocean, so what's the point?), but we would not have stayed the full 7 days if we hadn't prepaid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    30
    18
    20
    14
See reviews for
36
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Place consists of older wooden huts along with hastily-built(as testified by locals) brick bungalows. Attention to detail was almost nil, e.g. no mirror in bathroom to shave,no reading lights by beds, no shade at all on hot concrete patios. most uncomfortable wood chairs ever sat in. Filled mostly with families,lots of little kids,which made it hard to explain why the nearly empty bar/restaurant was playing "doof-doof" music loud enough to stop us sleeping in our closed-uo hut a 100 metres away at 10.30 p.m!

Politely asked manager if he could turn it down & was given this exact reply..." you should check out in the morning!

We promptly did & explored further along the beach & found Central Cottages. Very laid-back, catering to different budgets,nothing was any trouble for the staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zimbo513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

the internet sight is promissing-but it was the most extreme case of difference between the sight and reality: we paid in advance for 4 nights. arrived and really disapointed- the grass is yellow, the sea from sea view villa is far , the roofs of other villas are in bad shape and its ugly. the sheets are full of stains and there was a blood stain on the mosquito cover!!!
the air-con was half broken and the pool is small ugly and the deck around needs urgant maintenenss.the only good thing i can say is that we told tham about how we feel and they gave us back our money so we could go to a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked for 9 nights and stayed only one. First appearances can be deceiving as was definately the case here. Stayed in newest, most expensive bungalows that looked Ok but after checking in noticed they lacked some very basic necessary facilities. No attention to detail inside and out along with the grounds which were very untidy and dirty. We did not use the pool but noticed that all the decking around the pool was in a very sad state of repair and quite dangerous in parts with splintered timber and broken decking. Restaurant is the worst and most expensive on the entire beach. ( We tried them all) Food very ordinary and overpriced. Very loud music 'til all hours of the night. Given the majority of guests were non- english speaking families with very young children it was difficult to understand why. No party crowds here. When we asked why they had to play the music so loud, the manager was ARROGANT, RUDE AND OBNOXIOUS and basically said if we didn't like it we should check out. So we did without hesitation the next morning and checked into Central Cottages further down the beach.( We stayed 8 nights here)
BE WARNED..DO NOT STAY at CANDLE HUT there are much better places further along this beautiful beach offering better facilities, fabulous ambiance and restaurants together with very friendly staff for less money.

Room Tip: Don't bother with Candle Hut much better rooms/accomodation further down the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brencj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Situated on Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach - very quiet and calm place. Almost nobody on the beach. Enjoyable white sand and pure water. We stayed at wooden bungalow - everything was fine, except the audibility. Near our bungalow was a creek - and all the night we heard it. But it is sounds off nature and it can be advantage for somebody. Bungalow has a big room with Tv and air-con, clean bathroom with hot water and little terrace with hammock. Our friends lived in Sea View Villa - it was more comfortable and luxury.

Room Tip: if there is a possibility take a Sea View Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eswenska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We walked up and down at Yai beach and liked the villas at Candle Hut the best, despite the fact that they were the most expensive on the beach. The manager negotiated with us and gave us a decent price, so we decided to stay for four nights. When we checked out, the manager was not there and instead it was his aunt. She absolutely refused to honor the price we had negotiated. She insisted we pay 200 bhat more a night!! At that rate, we could have stayed at Havana -- the nicest place on Yai. Do not trust the management here! They are dishonest and will rip you off! Such a shame because our stay was pleasant but it left such a bad taste in our mouth. Will never go back!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gkipnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

lovely resort with beutiful nice vilas and bungalows on tong nai pan beach.
I was looking for this chill out atmosphere all over koh phangan and only on this beach we have found both quite and beuitiful beach along with chill out music on the pool bar.
the bar resturant is very good and has its own pool to cool your self between courses,
the maintenance of the place is a bit lacking but the staff is excellent.

Room Tip: we had the family rooms which are not yet on the website. it has a seperate room for kids - very con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#49 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nice Beach Resort
Nice Beach Resort
#98 of 351 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thai Terrace
Thai Terrace
#141 of 351 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dolphin Bungalows
Dolphin Bungalows
#38 of 351 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candle Hut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Hut Resort

Property: Candle Hut Resort
Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai (South Beach), Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Candle Hut Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing