We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$18
eDreams$17
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
126
108
36
21
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
126
108
36
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sitting on the balcony beach thailand accommodation geckos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 312 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a fan room, it was a little chalet. No real complaints. They provide towels, shower gel, shampoo and you even get a hot shower. The bed wasn't the usual hard Thai bed. Air con would cost another 6000 BT so I don't think it's worth it in that case. Our room cost about 30 Euro per night and was about 1 minute walk to the beach.

It was run by two UK travelers when we were there, who were very decent and lovely. There aren't that many non-5 star places on Thong Nai Pan Noi so glad we found it. Their restaurant has really nice breakfasts too, right on the beach in the welcome shade.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garvangallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Nice location, very nice staf, but it is totally unsafe, specially for kids. Was there two weeks ago, my 6 years old son got super badly electrify from electric wire that were not buried, he just put his hand on it while he wanted to sit down on a little bench in the restaurant area. We spent two days in hospital! He can't write for at least a month and will need surgery in a couple of weeks. This is insane!

Date of stay: December 2012
5  Thank Bloubloub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint D, Owner at Thongtapan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Bloubloub,
We apologies once again about the accident. We are sad to hear that your son require an additional surgery, after the complete diagnose on Koh Samui before your family left here.
As advised earlier, that we are in a progress of upgrading our electrical work, we are now pleased to advise that it has begun.
We wish your son a speedy recovery.

Our sincerest apology
All Thongapan Resort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this lovely, peaceful budget resort by accident as none of the flaky places on Haad Thien would take bookings for lower-cost rooms. The family-owned resort features a range of bungalows, ours for 1200 baht per night (around £24). It was clean, well kept with a cute bathroom with hot water. The bungalows are located at the end of this peaceful, sandy beach which is geared towards couples and families or single travellers looking for a quieter resort. They are set slightly uphill in a beautifully presented jungle garden. The beach front boasts a cheap and cheerful restaurant (local and western food for £2-3 a main) and a fun little cocktail bar. There is also an on-site massage hut and diving school. There are only a handful of resorts on the beach, two of which are 4 or 5* - but you can also eat and drink there if you want to mix it up, for only slightly more money. The beach itself is super quiet.
The staff are really nice and helpful - front of house is a sweet English couple Darren and Deborah, and a jolly Thai-Kiwi girl whose family own it. The restaurant and bar staff are really fun and speak at least some English.
Basically we had a great time on little money. We are now staying at a different beach for even less (£12) but while decent it's not nearly as nice. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great place to stay at Koh Phangan - provided tgat you're after a calm, beautiful place and a clean, but no-frills plays.
We stayed in one of the bungalows the furthest away fromthe beach. Would imagine the experience would be even better in one of the beach-view rooms.

The restaurant is in a simply stunning setting on the most fantastic beach. Tgere is nothing much to tge food, and the service is slow and unattentive (as well as unperceptive as to whether you are in a talking-sharing-mood or not), but it is warm and heart-felt, and not pushy in an annoying way. Provided that you have a good book and a lot of time, it diesn't really matter. (If you're travelling with small kids, however, it is better to order sooner rather than later).

Would happily go back if were travelling on a somewhat restricted budget.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adfresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

All 4 English speaking staff were nice enough ( altho bearded kiwi dude needs taught some hospitality skills as he usually was to be found moping about the place aimlessly avoiding eye contact and generally being weird) . The whole place feels like it was designed by a blindfolded fool . please explain why the reception has been built back 100 m from the restaurant bar and therefore guests have to walk over there as that's the only place wifi is available ? If I'm having a beer at night At the bar i wouldn't mind being able to access wifi? Duh?
Barbecue heavily overpriced. Massages that are meant to last an hour last around 35 mins
Don't ask reception staff any questions about boat time tables or info on travel etc as they don't have a scooby doo what's going on outside of how to get to the airport on Saumi using only one tour company that i suspect they are in business with . bar staff were cool . food was dumbed down tourist scran . whole beach has gone to the dogs with rubbish all up and down it ( altho to there due this resort cleaned the beach daily in front , a pity the horror house hell home 5 star place next door didn't follow suit) Overpriced greedy Thais and boring wagamamma type westerners that don't even smile hello made me glad to leave altho having to pay 200 baht one way each person to the pier is just another money spinner ( free transfers guys would be appreciated when spending a fortune at your resort anyway )

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank televisiontropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint D, Owner at Thongtapan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback.
We always appreciate constructive feedback, but sadly we do not consider this review to be one of them.

All our staffs take pride in their jobs assisting travellers from all over the globe in the best way they can. And no one is perfect. Though as an employer, we make sure there is a valid reason before anyone is to be address as “they need to be taught”. And we do not believe that any point in this review is one of them.

The reviewer obviously recognised, and at the same time forgot, that the beach needed to be regularly cleaned, yet our staff was commented as moping aimlessly. As a result, we are uncertain what point the reviewer is trying to make. Additionally, the photo which the review claimed was our resort was incorrect; it is public road and is not our property. We believe this photo will assist with cleaning up, should it be sent to the local council. The same point we have been raising for years.

We rate our resort as a 2 star resort, not 5. The obvious reasons are; the price of room difference and limited access to facilities i.e. WIFI access point. The resort was built well before wi-fi or Internet even existed. And our reception is positioned at the entrance of the resort so we can welcome guests arriving and this is our meeting point where our wi-fi is available 24 hours a day.

BBQ prices are displayed right by the food. If the reviewer felt that it was overpriced, then there is no obligation to have your meal here. Our menu is 95% authentic Thai food and everyone can enjoy something from it, so we are confused by your comment that the food is ‘dumbed down tourist scran’. The owners eat at the restaurant from the menu so it is not dumbed down tourist scran. If the reviewer asked, any of our dishes can be tailored to your palate i.e. more or less spicy.

Massages - there is a clock at the massage hut so everyone knows how long your massage was. If a customer was to arrive late for their appointment, then the massage time would be cut short to allow for the people who booked after to have their allocated time. Ultimately, if the reviewer felt that the massage was cut short, it would have been more dignified to either speak with the lady doing the massage or raise the issue with the staff in reception. We would have then been able to rectify the problem.

Ferries – from our point of view, we work with the most reliable company, who take into account the safety of passengers, capacity and on time policy. We apologise for not be able to assist you with other ferries, if you organised your ticket at the last minute and our supplier was fully booked.

Transfer to The pier – at 200 baht per person is the cheapest option between Thong Nai Pan and Thongsala. The advised price in most guide books for the island put the transfer at a minimum of 300 baht. Once again, there is no obligation to take the transfer should you able to find it cheaper elsewhere.
As per the westerners here who do not smile, we unfortunately do not have a control over that, may be they were not getting one in order to return the favour

In summary your review is full of complaints about our resort, but at no point whilst the reviewer was here did they raise any complaints with the staff so that they could resolve them at the time.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews