We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“On the beach - lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thongtapan Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thongtapan Resort to your Saves list
Thongtapan Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“On the beach - lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Amazing location. The bungalows are in the trees and you can hear the sea you are that close - it's right on the beach.

Previous reviewers have complained about the breakfast - not sure if they were at the same place! For 90B you have a huge choice - bacon, eggs, fruit, muesli, cereal. We ate there every morning and it was delicious. And the staff were lovely too.

We had a fan room as we are on budget and it was perfect. The windows have mosquito nets on them so we had the windows open all the time for fresh air. It was rarely too warm.

The hotel can arrange a taxi for 200B pp from the ferry terminal if you arrive during the day. This is much cheaper than getting one yourself, unless there are quite a few of you.

Great place - highly recommended

Room Tip: if you are on a budget, a fan room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debstheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    73
    21
    15
    15
See reviews for
32
106
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room not clean, mosquito and other stains on the walls, the bed sheets were not changed from the previous guest. Staff of the hotel seems unhappy / not polite. I could not recommend you this place. The beach there is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ran11972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
410 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This beach is beautiful and we believe it’s the best beach overall on Koh Phangan for a holiday due to the beautiful white silky sand, 24x7 swimmable sea, many restaurants that serve fantastic food, and you can still get a budget bungalow on this prime piece of beach. We visited and stayed at Thongtapan early August and again in early September – out of our 6 weeks on Koh Phangan we spent 2 of them at Noi and did not want to leave. Our favourite accommodation was Thongtapan (we also stayed in Buri Rasa and Phuwadee) due to the environment these bungalows were nestled amongst. They were set up the sloping hill within the trees and as you walked down to the beach it opened up into the best part of Noi beach. The bungalows were basic, clean, AC, fan, serviced daily, small deck, table, chairs, and only let down by a bathroom that needed an overhaul. They also had the most comfy deck chairs. High season we paid NZ$46 and low season NZ$37. Breakfast was average but we really enjoyed their food, the pad thai and special fried rice were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The resort itself is OK but on Thong Nai Pan beach you will not get any better for this kind of money. For all the things lacking in the room itself the beach makes up for it, The resort is OK (we had a much better stay at the Lamai Wanta for the same amount of money), the bungalow was spacious and clean but basic, the restaurant is quite good possibly the best on the beach but there is little competition, staff was not very helpful and polite but again the beach and the position of the resort on the beach makes up for all the shortcomings. Still it is the best deal on the beach. Had to aks the staff to make the room each time, they donot do it every day as expected from a 3 star hote.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kostam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked through asia rooms and got a great deal and stayed a week. Bungalow new and was clean, hot water but the water pressure wasnt great so shower not the best. A great spot and price for this part of the island, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverleyCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just spent 5 days in this beautiful location and will definitely go back. Thongtapan is definitely by far the cheapest accommodation on the resort and also happens to have the best bar on the island with Coco the five star bar man and a great restaurant. Mint, the owner is lovely and very helpful and the nearby village is a great place to also go for food. Mint, if you read this can you tell Coco I can't find him on fb!

Jo & Rob

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Saffy1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The staff was friendly and very helpful.
The bungalows are clean, nice and cheap( up at the hill are cheaper/ no sea view).
The beach is amazing and very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geiahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#32 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#51 of 91 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
#68 of 91 in Ko Phangan
3.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
1.0 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#30 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
6.3 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#29 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongtapan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongtapan Resort

Property: Thongtapan Resort
Address: 22 Moo 5 | Thong Nai Pan Noi beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phangan
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongtapan Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Thongtapan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongtapan Hotel Koh Phangan
Thongtapan Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing