We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great beach location. Very basic old huts.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leela Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leela Beach Resort
Ranked #79 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Glasgow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great beach location. Very basic old huts.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Lovely location near the Cocohuts hotel resort. Leela's bungerlows are on the beach which is ideal. However it seems like they were built in the '70's and haven't been refurbished since. I'm sure they're cleaned regularly. We shared our 'bathroom' (a 70's toilet & broken shower) with a giant cockroach who could easily wander in through the holes in the wall.
Saying that we slept ok and it's a lovely spot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    15
    11
    25
See reviews for
3
17
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is pretty good, I generally like to stay in 4-5 star properties and this wasn't bad.

It has no hot water, who cares you're in Thailand and have the beach!

The food is pretty good!
Staff are good and the Bungalows are comfortable.

They have a range of canines that protect the property and are safe and friendly.

The view is good and overall I agree this is value for money and would be back

Room Tip: Get a beach bungalow!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riss_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

dont expect a 5 star booking this place, I wont give them 1 start; however, is not about the starts is about the people staying in this place.
I had a great time, I felt safe.
the room was clean when I checked in, I got my own padlock, so the cleaning crew didnt have access to clean every day (I booked for 3 nites)
My bungalow was 30 feet from the water, the view was amazing. and very quiet.
To go to town was a 10-15 walk. coming back from town...bring a flash light with you if late at nite.
I recommend if you go, get there early when still light outside; cause to find it, it took me 2 hrs..and it's not on the road, its literally on the beach. First you go thru a resort, onto the beach and the walk about 200 meters to find it... Sweet!!!

Room Tip: bring your own padlock. and take a room close to the "restaurant"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I love this Place and have not found anywhere in the world that matches this setting. Great beach and not to far to walk in to the party. I just love it here and will always go back every time I'm allowed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Me and my friend (2 Aussie girls stayed at Leela beach bungalow) my room is small cottage with fan close to the beach it not so bad for 300 ฿ we made friends with everyone that stayed there we became a little koh phangan family (ended up traveling rest of thailand with a few) it's 15 min walk on the beach go to Cocohut resort and walk up to Had Rin town . Very chilled atmosphere the owners let us put food and drink on tab, food was great and cheap! Free Internet. Great value for money!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Leela beach bungalow has a good choice of bungalows, we stayed in a family bungalow on the beach front with our 5 yr old daughter. The bungalows are nice but a bit of a walk from the restaurant/reception area. Especially if you arrive on the beach midday with heavy bags.
Take your bags to the far left corner of the beach to check in (or leave your bags there and check out the bungalows).
There was a nice mix of backpackers, couples and families in MPR and lots o daytrippers come and go during the day. The food is very good restaurant but of breakfast and during the day snacks MPR is fine and they have the friendliest staff in the bay. Yes it is slow most of the time, order go get forgotten sometimes but they do care and are always friendly. (which is something special in the touristy south of Thailand)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willaim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

It may have changed owners since we stayed there - we heard that it had already been bought but the people running it were just trying to make some money out of it before the new owners took over. But if it's the same then avoid it. Alarm-bells started ringing when the guy running it asked us to pay for three nights upfront, but we were tired so we agreed to pay for one night and see how it went. He assured us there was no problem with cockroaches, but we got back to our room (one of the more expensive breezeblock aircon ones on the beach) to find the bathroom crawling with them. The guy acted shocked (unconvincingly) when we told him about it and checked out the following morning. We stayed in Lighthouse - just round the headland along a wooden walkway from Leela beach - which we would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravindra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phangan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#24 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buri Beach Resort
Buri Beach Resort
#15 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#44 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Neptune's Villa
Neptune's Villa
#37 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Resort
Sea Breeze Resort
#60 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leela Beach Resort

Property: Leela Beach Resort
Address: 130 21 M.6 Tamboon Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leela Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Leela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leela Beach Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan
Leela Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing