We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded island resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
Ranked #74 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The little island resort turned out to be transformed in to busy, money making machine. Years ago it was the beautiful, unknown, of the track island resort. Now in these days the big catamaran ferries off load daily masses of day tourist. It became a bustling, overcrowded beach island. Gone are the days of a peaceful, relaxing, family style run beach resort. The water is still clear and the beaches are still clean, but if you look for a spot to get away from the everyday stress to relax, then this is the wrong island resort.

Room Tip: Select a bungalow on the upper part of the smaller island
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel_Althaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 244 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were so excited to stay here at the end of our 3 week honeymoon around Thailand and looking forward to luxury but were very disappointed. As we had paid a lot of money- for the view and beach bungalow- I thought the service would be good and we would be looked after I thought wrong. The place was packed with tourists all day until 5 - we were ignored by bar staff - no one was friendly and welcoming, they were rude.
After a day in the sun we got ready for dinner and went to restaurant at 8pm only to be rushed so quickly to order and eat so all of the lazy staff who sat around all the time could go home at 9.
We couldn't relax at dinner and we are really tolerant and both laid back but have never received such bad service- it seems they make there money from tourists that visit everyday and don't care about the guests who stay on island.
Beautiful place worth seeing but we would of preferred to stay on koh tao another night.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Snoopyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I came here 4 times between 2004 and 2007. After a 7 year hiatus, I brought my fiancee, hoping to show her this "special place" that had drawn me back again and again. Sadly, after this visit, I may have to say: never again.

Nangyuan has descended into a very bad place: it is completely overrun with day visitors, the facilities are poorly maintained, and the staff is what I would call "aggressively incompetent". "Poor management" would be the putting it rather too kindly: in my opinion, they seem to have an active antipathy for the place. On earlier visits I was told about some sort of dispute among the family that owns the place - might be rumor, or it might explain why someone would want to run the place into the ground (because that is what they appear to be doing).

Everything stated in other (similarly negative) reviews herein is accurate, so I won't repeat.

I will add one further complaint - and this is perhaps not specific to nor under the direct control of Nangyuan: the boat services are not well coordinated with the flight times and they are, in the opinion of someone who's spent a good deal of time on the water, dangerously overcrowded (we had people sitting in the aisles & stairways). From Singapore - barely 2 hrs flying time from Koh Samui - it is more or less impossible to get to Nangyuan in under 10 hours. There are many great places on earth - places SO much better than the place that Nangyuan has become - which I can fly to in far fewer than 10 hrs.

If you're still reading, below is a list I jotted into the iPhone during our visit:

- staff openly arguing with each other, don't ever seem happy to be serving you or anyone else. Staff will just walk away from you as you are in mid-sentence
- land of smiles? Hardly!
- overrun with day-trippers
- none of the in-room security boxes work. Have to keep valuables at front desk. (right!)
- a treasure of a site. Should be managed by someone who knows how and/or cares
- at times it seems you are dealing with staff who are either trying to play dumb or who have legitimate mental challenges
- no priority given to those staying at the resort vs day trippers
- no diet coke! Afghanistan has diet coke but Nangyuan doesn't
- ran out of fresh coconut by 11am!
- extremely poor English
- flies everywhere
- told us to check out between 830-9am for a 930am boat. Boat arrived at 845am. Luckily, we checked out at 830...

I"m saddened to have to write such a negative review. Perhaps I'm hoping it will send a wakeup call to the management, but I doubt they're listening. Meanwhile, I guess the best thing to be done, for now, is to follow the advice of another reviewer and stop visiting Nangyuan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ironrooster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Staff at the restaurant is rude and not helpful at all. It's the only place to eat on the island. At around 10 in the morning the first (mostly Chinese) tourists arrive on the island. The place is really flooded with tourists coming for a snorkling day trip. No where to sit, no where to swim. Hundreds of people board the island. They leave around 5 pm, at that time the island is all yours. But still, i would't recommend staying at this resort. You feel trapped!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Annette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is our second stay on the island. First time was just over 2 years back. Sadly it has regressed badly in that time. The food quality was okay last time, but really bad this time. Staff just sit around and have no formal skills in service or food preparation. Some are just kids who have absolutely no idea. Bungalows are still okay but in need of some serious maintenance. The big NEGATIVE is the litter. The day visitors are now more than ever before and although they pay an entry fee which one would assume should be used for cleaning the beaches daily the litter is everywhere and having a huge impact on the marine life. Plastic bags, bottles, tins, life vests, shoes to name just some of the crap is everywhere to be seen on the beach and on the reef. I did not see one dustbin on the beach or nearby, so although visitors should also be more responsible they don't have much option either! There is even this dude who collects money to use beach chairs and he misses nobody, believe me, but yet he couldn't care less about picking up the crap at the end of each day. Obviously day visitors is what keeps the place rolling. Sadly in a few more years the place will be another piece of paradise lost if the owners/management don't catch a quick wake up call and clean the place up or reduce day visitors to manageable numbers.
Koh Tao may be a better option overall these days.

Room Tip: D6 is a good location for a family of 4 but day visitors practically sit on your doorstep all day lo...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Terrible is the word to use & soooo overpriced! We paid nearly £550 for 4 nights and left after 2 - without a refund! The rooms were average but the hotel bar/food was even worse. They never had anything on the menu including drinks, the whole 2 days we spent there there was no drinks apart from water & coke (this limiting the cocktail menus etc) same with the beer choices, they had one type off the whole list. The food was ok (for what they had), but over priced & the service was slow.
I must say the veiws are amazing from the veiw point, but only if you go up for sunset - by this time the hundreds of tourists vising have gone so you can actually see the beach. In my opioning i would stay in Koh Tao and take a day trip over, bearing in mind the tide does not go out until about 1/2 - so i wouldnt even bother going before then.
Snorkling was good though as you can see a lot - this was the only good thing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danielleabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Just a bunch of lazy Thais trying to get as much money as they can from this lovely pice of destroyed paradise.
Come for as little as you can , and leave.
The people on the "resort" or huts is deplorable. The F block doesn't have a crossing only on low tide there is a small pice of dead coral to walk through.
As soon as we got here they said they have an opportunity to change to another room for double the price!!
When we said no. They told us we have to wait up to 6pm to access.
Bottom line to all readers: the island was gorgeous. It should cost 500uss per night but it costs 50u and you get what you paid for: the worse everything.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
1.4 mi away
Ao Muong Resort
Ao Muong Resort
#36 of 49 in Koh Tao
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#27 of 49 in Koh Tao
358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,514 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thipwimarn Resort
Thipwimarn Resort
#44 of 49 in Koh Tao
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nangyuan Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nangyuan Island Dive Resort

Address: 46 Moo 1, Tumbon Koh Tao, Ko Pha Ngan 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $59 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nangyuan Island Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Nangyuan Island Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nangyuan Island Dive Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing