We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Horrible Resort”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was our second time in this Resort. The first time, 2 years ago wasn't that bad, or atleast we have no bad memories.

But this year it was just WTF !

-Bungalows are in a very bad shape
-There is dirt everywhere in the room and outside. Bottles, shoes, wooden planks, plastic planks and so on.
-In the evening the lightning is so bad its lucky you dont die on the way to some bungalows
-The service in the restaurant is the worst one i have seen in my life. The waiters simply dont give a [--], they rather read, chat and sit around than come an serve. Everytime you need a waiter its best to stand up and get him personally otherwise you can wait forever. Best is when you wave to an waiter to come over and he/she looks at you and ignores you.
-In the food are often mosquitos and ants

All this great stuff for a high price of the bungalows. Best book a room on Koh Tao and come each day over to the beach but NEVER NEVER go to this resort. You will regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pavel_R86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    57
    49
    49
    48
See reviews for
41
103
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The best time to visit is...5-10 years ago. Now absolutely ruined by the horrendous staff/mis-management and tourists- not exaggerating.

The island is absolutely beautiful and in fact we would recommend going because it is like nothing else at night. But be prepared for the poor accommodation that calls itself a resort. Expected something 'Eco' i.e. Basic but acceptable but got much less than that.

Rooms are basic at best. On the plus side the a/c was good (loud though) but that's it. Bed literally rock solid, no sheet / duvet. Bathroom grim - smelt of sewage, no toilet seat or flush, cold crap shower, felt dirty - we were prepared for basic but had not expected it to be so bad!!

Check out time is 7.30- 10 which is pretty annoying as there is nowhere to shower if after you check out you want to snorkel etc before the afternoon ferry. We had an early morning dive on our check out day and asked if we could check out at 10.30 or 11 so we could shower and it was simply "NO" zero explanation - treated so badly as guests- they honestly don't care and feels like you are a massive inconvenience. Luckily for us the dive school let us use their shower but no towels...not a great start to our upcoming 20 hour journey to Bangkok.

Staff are the worst part of our experience and were close to ruining it for us. They are outright rude to the point that it is shocking. Literally never saw a single one smile. We had an argument on our first night because they tried to overcharge us for our drinks (which are already a rip off). Food is rubbish & overpriced. Breakfast was a joke!! Dared to ask staff for more orange squash when it ran out an hour before breakfast ended and they said we were too late! Then asked for a teabag and they rolled their eyes at me - left us with such a sour taste before heading to bed!

Beach in the evening is deserted and lovely...by 10 the following morning it is FULL with tourists...there is no where to sit. We spent the afternoon on our balcony & snorkelled a bit...snorkelling is incredible. Best place we have ever snorkelled. Japanese gardens are stunning. If you swim out far enough the hundreds of Chinese tourists in life jackets crowding the reef are no more and it really is truly beautiful and quiet!

We also dived with the easy divers dive shop on the island. Mixed reviews there. Would advise don't do a fundive...it wasn't fun. It was actually a bad experience for us as newly certified divers. There were 7 people in the group so we effectively followed in a train behind the disinterested dive master. He swam too fast so it was all a rush & hard work. Didn't point a single thing out and felt like he was bored and wanted it to be over. He also had a bad attitude & made us feel unwelcome. The next day we did an adventure dive off the boat at the shipwreck an had an entirely different experience. Really enthusiastic instructor who was keen to show us things and take pictures of us- briliant dive!

Would overall say don't let all the bad reviews put you off as we do think it's worth a 2 night stay to experience the tranquility at night. But just be prepared...it is what you make it, don't expect anything, especially not a smile from any of the rude staff...and if you can fill your day with things that don't involve being crushed on the beach with hundreds of people then it's worth it.

Island is magical...we would return solely for that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisol123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

What an experience we had !
Here is the situation guys : there is a very small island north of ko tao with a little and nice sandy beach. Hundreds of snorkelers come everyday, roughly from 10am to 4pm. It is them, these tourists that generate massive profits. They only come once and are treated badly by staff.
Food. The hygiene is worse than bad ... we saw incredible things like staff drinking from the bottle before serving or washing their little dog in the sink !!
If you stay in the island, you will enjoy peacefull moments after 4pm. The nature offers a beautiful sight. Now a massive BUT : the standard of rooms are really bad. Everything is broken and dirty. Unbelievable. Not a disappointment. It was a shock to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HariSeldon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful Island with great beach, with an wonderful sunset, diving staff very professional and helpful, hotel staff friendly, but careless, and the service are poor. Regarding the restaurant the buffet is poor but the a la carte menu is good.

The bungalow was nice and clean with stunning view over the island.

Just have in mind that this is an Eco Resort so there's no luxury. Only the basics.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugovale23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We got the cheapest bungalow which was 2000 baht per night. Luckily we could only get one night as it was booked out, as we would have wanted to leave early if we'd booked any more than one night. The view from the bungalow was stunning. The island is beautiful, and the snorkelling is absolutely fantastic. The bungalow had airconditioning, but was very small, had a very hard bed (only slightly softer than a plank of wood), no hot water, and the toilet did not have a modern flush (you have to use a container to pour water into it to flush it). The bathroom also smelt like urine, which was unpleasant. We didn't mind about the bungalow being rustic though, the main issue was the food. There is only one place to eat (the resort) and the food is awful and overpriced. When we greeted the staff in Thai they often just stared at us and wouldn't reply. We had to go and find our own menus and then find someone who would serve us every time. I ordered the lemon squid for dinner and it cost me 400 baht, and I didn't even eat it because it was so tough and horrible. It was only a small pile of squid in the corner of the plate - the rest of the plate was covered with a bad salad and french fries. A small water costs 30 baht, though you do get two free bottles with your room. On the other hand, the staff at the reception were very nice and helpful, and one of them carried our very heavy bag a long way for us. If you're going to book here, please keep in mind that there is a free ferry from Koh Tao to the island. We didn't know that and paid 700 baht for a water taxi to get there. I would recommend just coming to Nangyuan for a day trip. You can still see some stunning views from a short walk to the top of one of the hills, and enjoy the beach for the day, then go back in the afternoon. Don't forget your snorkel! The one disadvantage to this though is that you won't escape the daytripper crowds. If you stay the night at the resort the beach is basically empty between 5pm and 10am.

Room Tip: We had room A6 which has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taranoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

What is it:
- an extraordinary beach. Three beachfronts. Excellent possibilities to swim not just lie in the water looking dumb.
- good for snorkelling and diving
- relaxation once the daytime tourist has left the island.
- rather poor service as there is only one restaurant available

We had beach house D9, one of the once closest to the beach. The standard was good and our cleaning lady did a great job. There is nothing happening on this island once the boats are gone and that's great. Just relax and eat very good food in the restaurant if you're okay with relaxed service.

I might go back. Who knows.





Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I spend one night at Nangyuan island, i think they had to have good service , more professional, becuse they have opened the resort for a long time. Then i will make a conclusion as below


Cons
1.The waiter serviced was not good.
2.Incorrect calculated the bill.
3.Food very expensive.
4.the package to snockel, no staff to take care tourist or took us to the important thing in that area.


Pros
1.Good view
2.Privated after 4 pm.
3.only 2 officers have serviced mind.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParNapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
0.5 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#27 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ao Muong Resort
Ao Muong Resort
#36 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thipwimarn Resort
Thipwimarn Resort
#43 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nangyuan Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nangyuan Island Dive Resort

Property: Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
Address: 46 Moo 1, Tumbon Koh Tao, Ko Pha Ngan 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nangyuan Island Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nangyuan Island Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nangyuan Island Dive Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing