We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you read Tripadvisor before booking, then you are lucky, book another place !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
Ranked #66 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“If you read Tripadvisor before booking, then you are lucky, book another place !”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

What an experience we had !
Here is the situation guys : there is a very small island north of ko tao with a little and nice sandy beach. Hundreds of snorkelers come everyday, roughly from 10am to 4pm. It is them, these tourists that generate massive profits. They only come once and are treated badly by staff.
Food. The hygiene is worse than bad ... we saw incredible things like staff drinking from the bottle before serving or washing their little dog in the sink !!
If you stay in the island, you will enjoy peacefull moments after 4pm. The nature offers a beautiful sight. Now a massive BUT : the standard of rooms are really bad. Everything is broken and dirty. Unbelievable. Not a disappointment. It was a shock to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HariSeldon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    56
    49
    49
    48
See reviews for
41
102
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful Island with great beach, with an wonderful sunset, diving staff very professional and helpful, hotel staff friendly, but careless, and the service are poor. Regarding the restaurant the buffet is poor but the a la carte menu is good.

The bungalow was nice and clean with stunning view over the island.

Just have in mind that this is an Eco Resort so there's no luxury. Only the basics.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugovale23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We got the cheapest bungalow which was 2000 baht per night. Luckily we could only get one night as it was booked out, as we would have wanted to leave early if we'd booked any more than one night. The view from the bungalow was stunning. The island is beautiful, and the snorkelling is absolutely fantastic. The bungalow had airconditioning, but was very small, had a very hard bed (only slightly softer than a plank of wood), no hot water, and the toilet did not have a modern flush (you have to use a container to pour water into it to flush it). The bathroom also smelt like urine, which was unpleasant. We didn't mind about the bungalow being rustic though, the main issue was the food. There is only one place to eat (the resort) and the food is awful and overpriced. When we greeted the staff in Thai they often just stared at us and wouldn't reply. We had to go and find our own menus and then find someone who would serve us every time. I ordered the lemon squid for dinner and it cost me 400 baht, and I didn't even eat it because it was so tough and horrible. It was only a small pile of squid in the corner of the plate - the rest of the plate was covered with a bad salad and french fries. A small water costs 30 baht, though you do get two free bottles with your room. On the other hand, the staff at the reception were very nice and helpful, and one of them carried our very heavy bag a long way for us. If you're going to book here, please keep in mind that there is a free ferry from Koh Tao to the island. We didn't know that and paid 700 baht for a water taxi to get there. I would recommend just coming to Nangyuan for a day trip. You can still see some stunning views from a short walk to the top of one of the hills, and enjoy the beach for the day, then go back in the afternoon. Don't forget your snorkel! The one disadvantage to this though is that you won't escape the daytripper crowds. If you stay the night at the resort the beach is basically empty between 5pm and 10am.

Room Tip: We had room A6 which has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taranoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

What is it:
- an extraordinary beach. Three beachfronts. Excellent possibilities to swim not just lie in the water looking dumb.
- good for snorkelling and diving
- relaxation once the daytime tourist has left the island.
- rather poor service as there is only one restaurant available

We had beach house D9, one of the once closest to the beach. The standard was good and our cleaning lady did a great job. There is nothing happening on this island once the boats are gone and that's great. Just relax and eat very good food in the restaurant if you're okay with relaxed service.

I might go back. Who knows.





Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I spend one night at Nangyuan island, i think they had to have good service , more professional, becuse they have opened the resort for a long time. Then i will make a conclusion as below


Cons
1.The waiter serviced was not good.
2.Incorrect calculated the bill.
3.Food very expensive.
4.the package to snockel, no staff to take care tourist or took us to the important thing in that area.


Pros
1.Good view
2.Privated after 4 pm.
3.only 2 officers have serviced mind.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParNapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We were prepared for daytimes to be packed with day trippers and the rooms themselves were basic but ok considering the location.

What spoiled our visit totally was the rude, unhelpful and unfriendly staff. Food was poor and overpriced. Staying overnight we felt like we were just an inconvenience for the staff who clearly were finished for the day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benji881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

(+)the Island is beautiful. Snorkelling is a must and it is one of the best place i have ever seen!
(+)the 2 receptionist were very great and helpfull!

(-)The room was crap! walls were broken and the door on the balcony doesn't close well so red ants could enter. First time I used my mosquito net! The Bed was EXTREMELY hard. i woke twice in the night because my back was hurting.
(-)The food! It was poisonous. We ordered 1 Green curry chicken and 1 Red curry prawn. The Green tasted fish and the red tasted knacki orange sausage that are served at breakfast. You know why?? because they don't wash their frying pan! Plus, I asked the waiter to try this fish-chicken green curry: "sir it is the taste of the green curry in thailand, this is how it is!". (I have been eating gren curry for 3 weeks...)
The morning after I was ill...

You should spend ONE night at this hotel because you could see this beautiful island without anybody! But no more than one night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
0.5 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#26 of 49 in Koh Tao
335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ao Muong Resort
Ao Muong Resort
#36 of 49 in Koh Tao
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thipwimarn Resort
Thipwimarn Resort
#43 of 49 in Koh Tao
217 reviews
3.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,438 reviews
2.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nangyuan Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nangyuan Island Dive Resort

Property: Nangyuan Island Dive Resort
Address: 46 Moo 1, Tumbon Koh Tao, Ko Pha Ngan 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nangyuan Island Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nangyuan Island Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nangyuan Island Dive Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing