We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bungalows and nice staff - BUT.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach
Ranked #60 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The bungalows look very nice and are (relatively) clean. They are set in a wonderful garden. The price for the bungalows is competitive. The mattress of the B650 bungalows is almost like a brick and between 6 and 8AM everyone is woken up by their delivery truck that has its engine idling next to the no. 15-16-17 bungalows and drives past most of the other bungalows. Also the staff are working from 8AM-ish and are not very quiet (I guess it is not a 5star resort where customers sleep comes first...). They just had another litter of dogs and with some barking going on (mostly during the day), dog lovers must be happy here....
You cannot book on their website as their seems to be a conflict with the designer.... and the only way to contact them is to go through booking.com and in the e-mail confirmation you get there is a working phone number (+6677445075).
The free Wifi works fine in the restaurant and from most bungalows you might also be able to pick up Wifi from Longtail or Dolphin next door as their signals are stronger.
The restaurant is not as pretty as the garden and the bungalows. The food is far below average. This is why the restaurant is often empty as one of the best, nicely priced, and prettiest restaurants is next door at Longtail.
The sea is shallow and the beach is very wide at low tide.
A 10min walk along the beach brings you to the “town”, a quiet wide road with a few bars, restaurants and shops, including a 7-11. The “next door” Noi beach can be reached over a steep hill (walking +-40min one way) or you could rent a motorbike for the day B250 (at the entrance to the village (left side) there is a real estate guy who is very honest, his bikes are new with good helmets and he charges low prices for repairs if you have any damage). Be careful when driving as the roads to the beaches (Bottle beach!) are VERY gritty and although I am a very competent driver we abandoned going to this beach after 2 other drivers came back up the road with scratched arms. With 2 people on the bike it was almost impossible to not slip. Maybe when it has rained a little it is better...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 211 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Unfriendly and unhelpful management, bad experience pre booking and while on the property. Also as mentioned by other reviewers most of the bungalows do not look as advertised and are not very clean. There is better available out there for the price range in a better location. I do recommend staying in this area of island though.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triplegemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent location and great place to stay. We stayed at one of the larger bungalows which are spacious, clean and very comfortable for two people. Very good bathroom/shower. Nice spacious deck. Would recommend this one over the smaller bungalows which we checked too and were rather stuffy and a little too primitive for us. Staff is very friendly. Excellent food and nice laid-back atmosphere restaurant/common space. Located at the end of Yai beach. The wide beach is beautiful, white sand. The whole of Yai beach is rather quiet and laid-back. No luxurious resorts here. Mostly smaller, low-budget bungalows and a few smaller resorts. Really charming. A few beach bars here and there which feel local, not touristic. We were told that most of the land at this beach is owned by locals who don't want to sell to the resort development companies. Yai village just behind the beach is charming.

Room Tip: Opt for one of the larger bungalows.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacinta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very nice place to stay... nice beach... very nice staff (as like as all Thai people)... The Staff is FANTASTIC!!!! Lovley food... good price!!!! So, the PERFECT PLACE to stay in Holiday... p.s.: OAK the manager and his Staff are the best!!!! See you soon guys!!!! CIAO da Matteo the BIG BOSS! (from Italy)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatteoFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights. Feel in love with the beach and had a most memorable stay. Accommodation had all we needed, but no thrills. All very basic yet reasonably well maintained. Mossie net had holes, but that was the only fault. Staff were fine when approached, but not a warm atmosphere. Restaurant next door amazing food... Worth a visit. Resort restaurant good too, but perhaps over shadows by such good food next door. Handy local shop by accommodation, with lovely smiley staff. Not a cheap place to eat or drink, but the setting is so so beautiful it was worth every penny. Definitely would re visit the bay, and if rates were good would certainly not rule out the same accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheffielderpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here, plenty of choice where to eat and a little town with shops and cheaper restaurants with happy hour cocktails for £2.
Beach BBQ with great freshly caught fish, staff are all lovely and very helpful with free wifi snorkels to use and boat trips to bottle beach for £12 per person! Probably not a good spot to hire mopeds as roads are still being built so a bit dangerous!
Would stay here again !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rozeymai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked a bungalow here for a cheap price knowing it would be basic but our bungalow was dirty, unkept and has several holes and openings to the outside. It had clearly not been cleaned before we arrived. I had asked to upgrade at the front desk but she told me nothing else was available although we saw several open ones. They put us all the way up by the road and the construction. Had a porch but there were no chairs, table or hammock. Bathroom was disgusting. We decided to loss the money and went to nice beach resort instead- a little more expensive but well worth it. Long tail also looked ok for budget much cuter and cleaner looking. Food is good at long tail also. Staff was not that helpful and they don't dont seem to do much at all to kel this place up. I would give it zero stars if possible!

Room Tip: If u do stay here get one close to the beach they look a lot nicer.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kris9718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#49 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Limelight Village
Limelight Village
#35 of 380 in Ko Pha Ngan
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nice Beach Resort
Nice Beach Resort
#86 of 380 in Ko Pha Ngan
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Four Resort
The Four Resort
#103 of 135 in Ko Pha Ngan
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach

Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach | 2 Moo 5, Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $320 - $2,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Thai huts located on famed Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach. Traditional Southern Accommodation with great prices and unbeatable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Baan Panburi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing