We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great little hideaway for those on a budget.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach
Ranked #56 of 91 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little hideaway for those on a budget.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Sweet little place on a wonderful uncrowded beach. Very low key and cheap. Would recommend.
Restaurant not so good, but the beach cottages are great. Snorkling, diving and fishing operators 100meters away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorVroeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    69
    37
    21
    17
See reviews for
24
115
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a really relaxing stay at Baan Panburi. The beach was beautiful and not too busy and the bungalows were well located at the end of the beach. We were impressed with the service on arrival as we received a welcome drink and were helped with our luggage to our room. However, the service was inconsistent throughout the stay e.g when our room hadn't been cleaned after the first day we asked for it to be done on the second day but the staff forgot-to be fair they did correct this quickly and went to clean it there and then. To this end the staff were really polite and friendly. The general cleanliness of the bungalows and the restaurant wasn't great though, the air con was noisy and didn't work brilliantly and there were a few other maintenance issues e.g a cracked plug hole in the shower. There was also only one plug socket and it would have been good to see some mosquito coils or citronella candles in the wakways and communal areas to fend the insects off a bit and fewer plant pots full of stagnant water to encourage them. We stayed in a garden bungalow so there were quite a few creatures around-the beach front bungalows looked a bit better located,
On the plus side the food at the restaurant in the evening was fantastic-the soft shell crab yellow curry was amazing and they had the best BBQ on the whole beach.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becs116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights, and had the bungalow with aircondition. The rooms are clean, bathroom very simple, but the rooms are nice, however there were blood spots on the mosquito net.
Nevertheless we had a fantastic stay. You leave your house and immediately are on the beach! It is quiet cheap and staff is really friendly. There is a red, friendly dog with the name Buddy, that became our friend. He liked to go with us to the ocean. You can't snorkle there but the water is like a bathtub and you feel the tides. So for swimming you need to go further into the sea.

The beach is very nice. You have plenty of restaurants to choose from but it is very relaxing and calm!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingbird25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand, Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We loved our stay at the Baan Panburi, it was a great location and great price. As a family of six my husband and 4 children ages 4,5,6 and 11 we booked two beach front rooms. Both of these huts had a double bed and a day bed. We were happy to have one parent in each of the huts over night with the children we didn't feel it was safe enough to leave the children alone in a hut by themselves. But it may have been ok you never know. We made it work.

There was no TV or minbar fridge. We didn't miss having the TV as the kids seemed to spend most of the time playing on the beach or with Ting the resort manager. He was great, the kids went with Ting exploring the beach while we watched on from our deck chairs. The resort staff were very friendly and they we very accommadating in cooking plain food for our children. The kids favourite meal which sounds very boring was steamed rice and plain fried chicken. The staff loved our kids and they often kicked the football around with them outside our huts they would do our girls hair in braids. We also got free transfers to the other beach in the back of the work ute which the kids loved.

We missed having a minibar fridge as we couldn't keep any drinks we brought from the supermarket cold. In saying that the drinks from the resort were cheap enough. Just to give you an idea of cost of food and drinks: Large bottles of water were 40bht, A Chicken sandwich was 90bht, BLTs 110bht, Hamburger 120bth, hot chips 90bht, Garlich bread 80bth. The thai food 130bht for something like chicken green curry on rice. Happy hr from 5 til 6:30 Large beer 80bht small beers 50bht cocktails 110bht.

One of my highlights was no housework or laundry. We just gave a large bag of laundry in the morning and I think it was something like 40bht per kg the clothes were washed and nicely folded. The accomodation was basic but we did have the luxury of airconditioning not just a fan, for a family of six it was cheap and cheerful we paid 2000bht for the two huts a night no extra cost for children using the day beds. They didn't have bed linen for the day beds when we asked they just gave us an oversized towel to use as a blanket. Which was ok as it didn't get cold. The kids had to get use to the idea of not putting the toilet paper into the toilet. Next door at the dolphin is a great place to get coffee and listen to some relaxing music.

Overall we enjoyed our time there and happy to recommend the place if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay, that is clean and has friendly staff. Great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathNZ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

what a lovely place be with your awesome friends. The staffs are super friendly, so helpful and kind. the bungalo we rented was closed to the beach and the room was very nice and very quiet. Very romantic for a couple! Good reasonable price! Will visit you again, Baan Panburi!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuminaBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergen nh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great place
Great lovely people
Great food
Great service
Great beach
Great hut
Great quality
Great ambiance
Near to some little shops
Peace and quiet
No party people but relaxt loving people
The owner is incredable nice
Love it, definatly go back there

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evlessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Extremely cheap, however you certainly get what you pay for. Stayed in a basic room. Toilet and shower was deplorable. We felt dirtier after our shower than before.

We stayed for four nights and had already arranged a transfer to the hotel with their own transport. We spent the next 30 - 40 minutes rolling around the back of a pick up truck along with cases of beer and the hotels daily shopping. If you are familiar with the Island then you will know that most of this journey is on dirt track roads. We were filthy by the time we arrived at the hotel.

The staff were very dismissive. Arriving at the restaurant, we were ignored until approaching them at the desk. If they weren't ignoring us then they were pre occupied with children.

The food was just ok, not very authentic as they describe on their website. I got mayo as dip for a thai starter. One of only 4 Thai starters on the menu.

Canoes are provided however they were leaking and only one paddle for two canoes.

If you come here for the food then I would not only avoid this hotel but avoid this whole resort. If you have already booked, the only thing worth doing is easing the pain by spending your nights in YAI bar. Lovely staff and owner and great fire show.

Thong Nai Pan itself is extremely expensive. If you are visiting the island for the first time I would suggest you stay in the south.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phangan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#50 of 91 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#32 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#15 of 91 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
1.0 mi away
Thongtapan Resort
Thongtapan Resort
#30 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#31 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach

Property: Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach
Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach | 2 Moo 5, Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Thai huts located on famed Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach. Traditional Southern Accommodation with great prices and unbeatable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Baan Panburi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing