We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst of Thong Nai Pan Yai” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach
Ranked #56 of 91 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the worst of Thong Nai Pan Yai”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

only one thing,we booked there for 4 nights and we only stayed one.we had the number 2 hut and it was the worst bungalow and the dirtiest in our stay in thailand.dont go there.we finaly stayed in a better bungalow at the othe side of the beach with the same price with breakfast,and with better and cleaner beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miltospou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    69
    37
    21
    17
See reviews for
24
115
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

After a few days on the west side of Koh Phangan I went on a day trip to Thong Nai Pan and fell in love with Yai beach and decided to move there for the rest of my stay on the island. I was expecting to pay a lot more for accommodation on that side of Koh Phangan but a friend recommended Baan Panburi village. Wow! Beautiful garden, clean bungalows and the best service I had on this island. All that for a very reasonable price. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Yes, this is one of the best values on the beach. Yes it is right on the beach -- we had one of the closest bungalows to the beach. And it was nice to sit on the porch watching the shore and the kids. But, if you are traveling with a family, you may want to look elsewhere. The bungalows are very small, mosquitoes abound away from the beach, and the bungalows near the beach are quite noisy at night because the restaurant is right there. The restaurant itself is barely adequate. Service is nothing special, and dogs roam the premises and have a habit of making a deposit in from of your cabin (this happened to us twice in 7 days). We found the mattresses dirty and the smell a little dank. Other cabins had worse smell problems. The bathroom is open to the air for some reason, meaning that you shower while dodging mosquitoes. While our hot water did work, other people staying there told us they had no hot water.


Bottomline: My advice is that if you do not care about quality, cleanliness, and comfort, but you do want to save a lot of money, then this is the place for you. Otherwise, pay a little more for something nicer.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, try to get as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epic_Winter_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phangan hotels

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can see from the reviews that some people are expecting the top of the range hotel on the beach!
We went there for 7 nights and it was fabulous! Obviously we had THE best hut which is the closest on the beach and yes, it is facing the restaurant/ reception and next to the massage table..... erm....! Yeah! Brilliant! We have made the effort to learn a bit of Thai, a bit of respect for our hosts and we had a great service! They were all very hospitable and friendly!
I could unfortunately sense that they had been desappointed before by other guests, and the tone would be very different with other people staying in the resort expecting everything!
Relax!
However, I have to say that having some holiday flats, here in the UK I can definitively understand how hard it is to keep the linen tip top white and maybe a few staines but clean! so no worries!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Una-Beaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at Baan Panburi for a week and enjoyed it! I would highly recommend getting the Sea View Hut, with AC, Fan, the entire package, basically the best hut you could get on the property. We were lucky enough to get the hut S1, which it only entirely beach facing sea view hut on the property. You can still see the beach from the other Sea View huts, but if I'm paying the same price I'd rather get an unobstructed view. Overall the service is outstanding and the rooms are cleaned daily, so don't worry about tracking sand inside.

Yai beach is also one of the quieter beaches so staying at one end of the beach we did not hear any noises past 10pm. The property doesn't have a pool or a fitness center, but you're on the beach! It's a 1/2 mile stretch which makes for perfect morning run...who needs a treadmill!

Room Tip: Get the S1 hut if staying in Sea View rooms....it's the closest to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siddu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of a 3 week trip around Thailand.
First impressions weren't great, our room was right beside the cleaners room, with rubbish and bin bags right by the entrance to our decking. We asked if it was possible to move rooms, but they were fully booked. The next morning we found a member of staff planting trees to hide the cleaners room and provide a bit of a boundary. We felt terrible for complaining, but the service was second to none.
Location was right on the beach, cheap beer in the bar. Plenty of nice places to eat. We ate in the village each night. The best restaurants were definitely the smaller family run establishments.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Very nice place to stay... nice beach... very nice staff (as like as all Thai people)... The Staff is FANTASTIC!!!! Lovley food... good price!!!! So, the PERFECT PLACE to stay in Holiday...
p.s.: OAK is the best!!!!
See you soon guys!!!! Next year I come back with about 10 people...
Regards,
Matteo the BIG BOSS!
(from Italy)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#50 of 91 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#32 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#15 of 91 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
1.0 mi away
Thongtapan Resort
Thongtapan Resort
#30 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#31 of 91 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach

Property: Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach
Address: Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach | 2 Moo 5, Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural Thai huts located on famed Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach. Traditional Southern Accommodation with great prices and unbeatable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Panburi Village At Yai Beach Hotel Koh Phangan
Baan Panburi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing