We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation”
Review of Mangrove Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mangrove Villa
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Beautiful walkway to our villa, it is a beautiful kept place. Staff are friendly and speak english.
Our villa was in front of the beautiful clean kept pool which changes colour. I felt relaxed and at home, the balcony is nice, the bed is nice and clean, air con has a 5 star rating and kept the room nice and cool but don't keep this on too long as you can get sick with any air con in thailand. surroundings of the breakfast area is lovely and they serve a good english breakfast. A nice peaceful place to stay especially if you have just come back from the Full Moon party.

Room Tip: Choose the room opposite the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights and all 5 of us were completely in love this beautiful villa. It has only few villas, therefore completely quite and secluded giving much privacy for couples looking for relaxation. Villa is new, modern, clean, beautifully landscaped and well maintained. Rooms are spacious enough for 2 pax. Bathroom is clean with good hot shower. Bed is very comfy. Each villa comes with individual balcony. Breakfast is in small hut and they serve only American and Continental Breakfast which was pretty good. There is small little swimming pool opposite breakfast hut. At the back of the villas is small river with lots of mangrove plants. Hotel is about 10 mins walk from Thongsala Town / market.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evasyren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay if you want to be close to the pier when you reach Phangan. We stayed at Mangrove Villa 4 nights with friends and were satisfied. It's modern, clean and well maintained by the owner and his staff.
The villas are spacious, the bed confortable and the bathroom clean. Outside the villas there is plenty of plants and flowers which is superb. There is even a cute swimming pool for relaxing with sunbeds.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jazmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

we stayed there 7 nights and were very happy with our choice. we can only agree with previous positive guest comments. nice, brand new and fully equipped appartments at a good location and very friendly staff.

the only disappointment was trouble with the motorbike company we were suggested from the mangrove villa's reception. they charged us an extra 500.- baht at the end (the rent for 72h was 600.- baht) for a small scratch which he pointed out, which did not come to our attention when we rented the bike, because it was so small. it was clear that he just ripped us off because we did really take care about the bike and had no accident at all. so be aware, always take pictures from every little scratch and please AVOID the "KHUNPEN" motorbike rental company.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful couple of days here. Very good hotel, wonderful staff and great location for us. We rented a motorbike with the hotel and explored the entire island. The hotel is new. Great rooms, very nice bad and bathroom. The pool is being built and is expected to finish at the beginning of November. The location is good and quiet even though it's in Thongsala town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramsy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

me and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights passing through. The apartments are very new and modern and the bed is very comfortable. The location is also good as you are in walking distance to the town. the only negative i would say is about the breakfast which was extremely poor, all we got was 2 slices of toast, a coffee and a glass of orange juice. better off going somewhere else for the breakfast but overall i would recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surasak K, Owner at Mangrove Villa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. We value all your feedback and comments. We apologise that the breakfast served was too basic and take this into consideration. We have changed our menu now to offer more variety and the breakfast to be a choice of Full English or a healthy option of fresh fruit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for three nights. The resort is new and the rooms are fine, well equipped with multi-channel TV, fridge and good sized bathroom with plenty of hot water. The beds are very comfortable. There is a cafe nearby for breakfast. My only reservation is that it is expensive for what it is. At 1500THB per night in the Low Season, this is a high figure for Koh Phangan. In saying this I would still recommend it as it is very clean, the staff friendly and is within a few minutes walk to Thong Sala. Also, considering it's nearness to town it was pleasantly quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#64 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reefers Bungalow
Reefers Bungalow
#149 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
The 1 Boutique Hotel
The 1 Boutique Hotel
#44 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sucasa Dorm
Sucasa Dorm
#212 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
6 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
#17 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indy Home Cafe
Indy Home Cafe
#33 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Villa

Property: Mangrove Villa
Address: 133 Moo 1 | Thongsala, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 362 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mangrove Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangrove Villa is a new, comfortable and stylishly furnished resort, consisting of 10 rooms and a river side cafe. It is centrally located just outside of the main port town of Thongsala making it the perfect base from which to explore the island. Only a 5 minute walk will bring you to the beach, shopping, restaurants, bars and markets. The room themselves are surrounded by beautiful garden area and are quiet and secluded alongside the river.All rooms include aircon, fridge, safe and satellite TV. The private bathroom includes hot water bath tub and shower. Large balconies with table and seating provide the perfect place to pass away the day with a book or the evenings with a drink. Long stay discounts are also available and microwaves, kettles and cutlery can be made available. All rooms have an outside worktop and sink area useful for preparing food and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangrove Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing