We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if you're noise resistant”
Review of Le Divine Comedie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Divine Comedie
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice if you're noise resistant”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

First of all, the service is absolutely outstanding.. Any problem you may have, the owner will try to find a solution for you. We found the bed to be too hard for us and 15' later houskeeping came with padding which did the trick. The owner even offered that she would go buy thicker ones if it should not be enough. The rooms are very spacious, you even get a little private terrasse with a hammock on the roof of the bungalow. Some drawbacks of the way it is built is that the toilet and shower is basically open (just around a corner). Also the shower did not look as new as the rest anymore (brown stains). The pool is super nice BUT unfortunatly the music was always too loud and often slightly annoying, especially when the same album (or even the same song) was repeated over and over... I wish they would just buy an ipod and use genius.... The food is good (especially liked the breakfast) and the staff is really nice and well trained. All good but THEN comes the matter of sleep. The resort is very family friendly, however it is right next to the Ban Sabaii afterparty spot and also some other party location. So there are quite a few days where you'll be spammed with very loud psy trance which is especially lovely for sleeping (dont get me wrong, i love trance but after 16h of it...) - mix it with the annoying pool music - i was going crazy. So even though the hotel is quite nice, i will not come back here, even though i now have a much bigger appreciation for silence.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydiabaenziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    85
    30
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
380
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

pro:
- big nice pool
- very service-oriented owners and staff
- nice atmosphere and decent people (mostly family, couples), definitely nothing for partygoers
- room size
- really nice coffee
- free offering of sambucca/limoncello and fruits after each meal

con:
- location (beach left and right is really poor, no cafes/restaurant or fireshow on the beach), also quite unattractive town in baan tai - basically the hotel is the nicest and only thing nice in the area and is kind of isolated there
- there's an after-party spot 50 meters next to the hotel which played music all night (after each big party like full moon) making it hard to sleep for many hotel guests
- beds rather hard
- music played at the pool was a bit too loud and music choice sometimes odd
- 200 usd/night in high-season is overpriced given the lack of a nice eco-system (beach, cafes, restaurant) in walking distance - I could have had this on Koh Samed for half the price with a nice beach, restaurants, discos and less noise

overall: nice experience but lack of ecosystem makes you feel trapped and not want to pay that much again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank vir2l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 girls (age 15 & 6) that stayed for 9 days in December 2013. I can understand why Le Divine has been given so many nice reviews.
Location: Baan Tai, 15 min drive from Haad Rin harbor or 10 min from Tsong Sala. Good restaurants, a couple of convenient stores, pharmacies & massage places in 5-10 min walking distance.
Room(s): We stayed in family room (15 & 16 with connecting doors). Perfect when you have kids that are big enough to sleep ‘alone’. The rooms are cozy with a minimalistic decoration, just as we like it. The beds are a bit too hard for our taste, but that, I guess, is a matter of opinion. These rooms are at the start of the hotel away from pool, beach & bar/restaurant.
Bar/Restaurant: OK breakfast which is cooked when ordered, i.e. no Buffet. 4 choices which is sufficient for most guests. For lunch & dinner the a la carte selection is small, but adequate. Clearly this is aimed to be the first evening guest eat, before they start to be more risky and leave the hotel area . Good Thai dishes combined with sandwich (great for kids) & pasta section. Pricing ok as hotels generally are a bit more expensive than restaurants nearby.
Beach/Pool area: Pool integrated with the bar offered great fun for our 6 year as she could order her fruit juices while staying in the pool. Pool big enough to offer entertainment day long. Enough sunbeds to accommodate the guest. The beach is ok, but not the best. This goes for most of Koh Phangan by the way. Guest seems to enjoy using the pool instead.
Staff: In general very polite, service minded and friendly. Especially the 2 French owners are in a league for themselves. Helpful, friendly & doing their very best to make your stay as smooth as possible. Most important of all they never ‘try too hard’, i.e. it never becomes annoying. One improvement area though (and the reason for only 4 stars). The English level of the bar/restaurant personnel is not adequate and needs improvement. In some cases we never got what we ordered and in other, we got the wrong food/drink.
As said in the beginning, this was a very good experience and if/when we come back to Koh Phangan we will for sure consider Le Divine Comedie (if there are available rooms ). Thanks guys for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JStromfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at one of the 3 person family villas for 4 nights during the full moon party period. Extremely nice Resort - relaxing atmosphere, great pool and bar area, comfortable and architectural interesting rooms with private rooftop terrasse (and hammock). Good service, very friendly staff (as well as the owners), and very clean. Absolutely recommendable! I will be back for sure. Working as a flight attendant I have seen many places - you should check this one out!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This lovely hotel was the best one during our 3.5 weeks stay in Thailand. The pool area which almost floats directly into the ocean is amazing and a beautiful surrounding for sundowners. Additionally the bar and food is very good and the lovely staff complete the perfect stay. We decided to spontaneously extend our stay at the hotel for a couple of days - best decision during our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My partner and I initial booked two nights but loved this little chunk of paradise so much we stayed 6 nights. After spending 4 months on the road staying in various accommodation from top to bottom this wonderful hotel was by far the best of them all. Loved having a sun downer at the pool bar or on our private roof top terrace. The breakfast was amazing everything fresh and homemade. The staff were well trained and very kind. So much effort has gone into making this place a real treasure I'm still missing it!!!
The décor is hip, chic and fun we loved the whole atmosphere from the onset. Loved the attention to detail.
Great pool, gorgeous view of the sunset in the evening, decent beach.
Several good restaurants near by a great spot to call home when on koh phangan.
A huge Thank you to the owners and their staff for making our time on the island so memorable.

Room Tip: splurge and book the deluxe rooms or suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This place is very atypical but so lovely and funky in the best of ways. Loved our stay there and will be back as soon as humanly possible. Koh Phangan is a great place to hang out and decompress from the modern world and this resort really does it justice.

Loved the room, which was very clean and comfortable. Service was very kind and relaxed without being too laid back. You needed something you got it. No questions asked.

Restaurant served great food in the morning, during lunch and dinner and it really wasn't necessary go anywhere else.

CU next time !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBGirlOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.7 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
615 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
5.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,414 reviews
6.3 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Divine Comedie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Divine Comedie

Property: Le Divine Comedie
Address: 14/8 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Divine Comedie is a one-of-a-kind, truly handmade Boutique Hotel and a perfect choice for guests looking for personality and inspiration into the world of travel. With dedication to original design, each room is equipped with the comfort of modern equipment and has its own colors and character, sturdy platform beds, polished concrete floors and curved shapes offering an urban feel and unique appeal. Should guests want to leave the intimacy of their room or the privacy of their terrace, they can meet in the social heart of the hotel and languorously laze in the infinity pool overlooking Koh Samui island with a cocktail in hand or enjoy international and Thai dishes from the restaurant, made with fresh and local produce. Located off the beaten tracks but only a few kilometers from Thong Sala and Haad Rin, perfect for dipping your toes into parties or local life. Le Divine Comedie is the ideal hideaway for family vacation, couples and groups of friends alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Le Divine Comedie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing