We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beach Village Backpackers
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in Koh Phangan for black moon party Sept 4th. It was getting late after a long day travelling from phi phi and we were relieved to hear a familiar London accent when booking in. We got a double room when arriving but the owner soon changed it to a twin for us and we got a bungalow close to the great pool and beach!! Eating at the bar wasn't our thing as I'm gluten free and no carbs but many a backpacker would welcome the choice of pizza, Thai, pasta and breakfasts. We came in quiet season so place wasn't jumping but you can't hold that against the owners. We hired a moped from another agent not realising the site have them and as luck would have it we couldn't get ours started, one of the owners happily took a look at it for us though it wasn't their own bike. All staff friendly and happy to help. Funny freindly dogs running around the place and one slept on our balcony every night. Checking out we lost our deposit slip but no problem we still got our money back no questions. To top off a great stay the son (who is pretty cute by the way!!) gave us a taxi to the pier in their own veichle as no taxi around. Great place to stay, great staff, and location is 5minutes from the town and pier. Thanks guys we will be back when we return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellbyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for The Beach Village Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 322 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

I booked through hostel world for over the FM party.
I secured my booking only to find out "prices were not up to date " so i had to pay extra through paypal directly to Beach Village which i did and was invoiced for. Stuart then said my prices were still wrong and he cancelled my booking. End of story . No replies . No refund . No reply to hostel world either.

Another thing wrong was the misrepresentation through his advertising claiming Rhythm and Sands was being held here. This is not true.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
Thank Crum88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack W, Owner at The Beach Village Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hi there,
We're sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. The miscommunication that you received was due to a large scale management change which has now been completed. We have also fixed issues with HostelWorld, who we believe you booked through and should have been amended.

If you need any further assistance in this matter please feel free to contact us and we will only be too happy to help.

Thanks

The Beach Village Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the best place to stay on the island! We stayed for 5nights over the full moon week and had such a great time! It is more like a holiday resort than a backpackers. It has an awesome swimming pool communal area over looking thebeach where everyone hangs out, it has such a relaxed vibe during the day and a party atmosphere night, so easy to socialise with other backpackers. The management are brilliant and organise for taxis to bring you to the full moon party and back whenever you want, so helpful. We stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm which was like a little villa with patio outside to relax. Cannot believe how good this place is for the price. I would recommend this place to all backpackers! Book it now!! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niccon1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Decent location, right on the beach, really nice clean pool. 20 man dorm was clean and what we expected. Spent 5 nights here across full moon and would recommend. Has a decent pool party on one of the nights. The owner looks like chris moyles and can arrange taxis for you wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent a week here across Full Moon and Thai New Year last year. What a place!! Awesome, knowledgeable & friendly staff, great swimming pool (clean!) and generally an awesome place to hang out at.

The rooms were clean, good value for money and the craziness of Haad Rin is just a short ride across the island. But why would you ever want to leave...?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpoole18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed during full moon for 5 nights, I was in the 26 mixed dorm which was so good, I thought it would be the complete opposite but I wouldn't have changed rooms, you meet so many people and it's such a laugh, even the lack of sleep! The food in the bar is really good and pretty decent value for money, get the Chili con carni or the Baguettes!!
location is perfect right on the beach, it's a bit far from haad rin but the hotel sort out taxis to and from full moon for a really good price so that isn't a problem! loads of changes are happening due to the new owners jack and Peter who honestly the nicest people you'll meet made us feel so welcomed!
all in all I had no problems and had the most amazing time there and would most definitely return!
hopefully see you next year jack and Peter, look forward to seeing the changes!! - Jamie

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieCox93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for the duration of the full moon party, In my opinion it is the place to be on the Island, Nice vibe around the place and away from the madness. The beach Village layout is amazing, A cool comfortable bar/restaurant/chillout area. The pool is right on the beach with a DJ booth and bar right beside it. The tunes are top quality and not the typical commercial stuff you hear at most places on the Island. The food menu has a wide range of options available with good prices to match, The western food is the quality you would expect from home unlike many many places In Thailand.
Hire a scooter while you are here its a great way to get around during the day, Go and discover the many beautiful beaches on the island and make sure you make it back to the resort for a few sundowners with like minded individuals. Take a 50-100 baht taxi with your new pals to the party of the night and I guarantee good times will be had! Thanks for an amazing time, Will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Bungalows by the pool look like the pick of the bunch! Next time I will book one of these for sure!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
At Beach Bed & Bar
At Beach Bed & Bar
#51 of 380 in Ko Pha Ngan
113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#14 of 380 in Ko Pha Ngan
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Garden Resort
Coco Garden Resort
#11 of 380 in Ko Pha Ngan
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
#20 of 380 in Ko Pha Ngan
171 reviews
3.7 mi away
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
#19 of 380 in Ko Pha Ngan
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blue Parrot Beach Resort
The Blue Parrot Beach Resort
#9 of 135 in Ko Pha Ngan
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Village Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Village Backpackers

Address: 100/5 Moo 1 | Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 380 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $12 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Beach Village Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Party or relax at our beautiful beach resort overlooking the picturesque Gulf of Thailand. The Beach Village is a backpacker friendly resort designed in a village style, spread along 200 meters of stunning Baan Tai beach. We offer a wide range of accommodation, ranging from bungalows with sea or pool views through to our spacious air-conditioned dorm rooms. We have everything that you need to have a great stay without leaving the resort; our restaurant serves a mix of both Western and Asian dishes, catering to those homesick or adventurous. You can enjoy a meal at our latest addition, the Grub Club. A huge success, our newest venture, situated on the beach, offers gourmet burgers, hotdogs and Fish ‘n’ Chips, all freshly cooked everyday. You can choose from a selection of cocktails or beers at our purpose built Tiki Bar next to our stunning beachfront pool. We also boast our very own nightclub, the Ku Club, a beachfront venue which has hosted DJ’s such as Netsky, Goldie and members of the Prodigy. We are located 5 minutes from the bustling port of Thong Sala, which as the main town of the island offers all the amenities you would expect. In the opposite direction we are just 15 minutes from Haad Rin, and the famous Full Moon beach. We are also only 100 meters from the First Western Hospital, opened in early 2015. Our multilingual reception staff are always willing to help, and can assist in booking tours, excursions and onwards travel. Please note this is not a quiet place to be during Full Moon! For more information please visit our website – Beach Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your The Beach Village Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing