We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Echo Beach Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Palita Lodge(Ko Pha Ngan)
$208
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$297
$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longbay Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$131
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Hill Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$177
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$420
$386
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beck's Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Thongtapan Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Havana Beach Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$77
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
158
45
25
11
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
45
25
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tablefull moonair conpre partiesgreat common areatoilets showerskoh phangantea and coffeesocial hostelgreat atmosphereawesome placelounge areafelt like homecheap drinkslaid backhalf moon partya great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 252 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is extremely over priced, filthy and the staff are useless (because they are all high!)

The dorms are never cleaned, neither are the showers and toilets (some of which do not work!)

The bar serves warm, over prices drinks only, but the food is ok (limited options!)

The location is not great - it is not in haad rin.

We booked a ferry to leave the island through the staff at the hostel only to be told when we arrived at the pier that there was no booking! No one answered the phone when we tried to call so we ended up having to pay again - so basically they got more money off us! On top of the extortionate price we had to pay due to the minimum night stay over NYE!

The owner and staff do not seem to care about anything!

The only good thing about the hostel is the wifi which is only accessible in the bar area and some of the people that stay there were nice and sociable, others were clearly on drugs too.

I would advise against staying at this hostel as there is much better accommodation, closer to the centre, which is loads cheaper!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Echo Beach Backpackers is a nice little hostel that emanates a relaxed atmosphere. The bar area has a funky design, the Pad Thai here is lovely (had around 3 a day) and the rooms are your standard dorm quality (nice beds).

However, the locker situation outside our room was more like a giant game of Tetris than quality designed storage space. EVERY morning the lockers would be somewhere else, either lying down, upside down etc etc. This was due to the toilets being constantly broke. (The lockers were used to block the door off to those who didn't care about using a broken toilet).

Nice hostel with a good sized beach out the back however, please please please invest in some working toilets

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Lewis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Echo Beach mid December for three days during the full moon party. Here are the honest pro's and con's:

PRO's
- you will meet a lot of people
- the accommodation is cheap

CON's
- as you enter, everyone's slops are on the floor, and unlike any other place we have been to: the stench hits you!
- they messed up our booking despite booking and paying 6 months in advance (they asked for us to pay in advance). The result was no aircon, no private room.
- there are so many people staying there... probably close to a hundred. With this comes all the other comfort and hygene issues.
- Only 2-3 working showers and toilets.
- you cannot swim in the sea in front of the backpackers. It is extremely dirty.
- the place wasnt cleaned at all (as far as i am aware)
- then the minor stuff: you make your own bed; the bar is overpriced; the owner is unfriendly.

Needless to say, we checked in somewhere elsewhere two days later.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Delamaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in November 2013. I did not plan it but was staying at bop hut in ko samui and went diving from ko phangam and it was much cheaper and easier staying on ko phangam. I enjoyed my stay here. Inexpensive, clean with really nice staff, it takes a lot to beat. Good English bar nearby along with the church, Sunday party boat , good massage place and a 7/11 all within 10 minutes walk. Situated on the beach with hammocks and a good bar.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelotottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Echo beach is a great place to meet other travellers. We made some great pals when we were there for oct full moon party.
Though it's not in hat Rin it is near the jungle party. They also put on cheep taxis for everyone. Help with any travel plans and there's a free breakfast.
Rooms are like any other shared dorms I've stayed in clean comfortable and filled with great people.

Would definitely recommend this place to any backpackers. Especially of your travelling solo cause the common area and nights organised by the hostel makes it so so easy to make friends.
A group of us are meeting up in oz in the new year and we can't wait.
Book here and I hope you enjoy your stay
X

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Chrissi_loutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews